We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Shattuck Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

clean and elegant hotel. Good location in downtown Berkeley. The hotel also had a spacious restaurant with a good bar area. We had breakfast at the restaurant, and enjoyed good service.

We were in town for a football game, and the hotel is 2 blocks from the Berkeley campus.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    243
    62
    35
    17
See reviews for
163
172
92
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

poorly trained desk clerk, disrespectful and rude. I asked the young desk clerk a simple request to suggest to management to provide another cable news channel to the hotel's service, since the current selection was minimal. After just paying over $300 for a one night stay, the clerk responded to me in a very rude and mocking manner in front of several other guests who were also checking out. I have had extensive training in customer relations and I am a business consultant. The Hotel's manager and or owners would do well to train their employees in simple and basic courses in customer relations--ie. say thank-you and show apreciation after a customer pays his bill. They would do well to keep their personal political views to trhemselves. This clerk obviously does not understand where his paycheck comes from. I would advise all University of California alumni and all others to avoid the Shattuck Hotel. There are many other hotels in the area who I'm sure would appreciate and be grateful for their business.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Marty B,

Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for the way one of our team members made you feel at departure. It certainly is not our intention to mock or embarrass our guests and based on many guest responses with Trip Advisor is atypical. Nevertheless, it should not occur and we will address the issue now that it has been brought to our attention. As for the channel selections they come in packages and we are currently in negotiations with our content provider to expand or switch our offerings. We hope to have this complete by end of the year. We hope that you will give us another try provide you the experience we are better known for.

Kindest regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I love this place. Everytime I visit Berkeley, I stay here. The staff is outstanding, and they always welcome you back. They will do whatever is possible to make your stay the most enjoyable. The rooms are well equipped with everything to include electronic connections. I had a Keurig coffee maker in the room. The flat screen TV has every type of connector, so you're able to connect your portable device to the TV if have the cables with you. The Bathroom in the room is nice, but there's very little counter space to put your toiletries. The closet is big, and the bed is comfortable. The entire hotel is very clean. The Gym is kind of small, but it has free Weights and three Cardio Machines. The Location of this hotel is the best if you want to be able to walk everywhere, jump on the bus, or on the BART. If you take the BART from either, Oakland or San Francisco airport, the Downtown Berkeley stop drops you off right across the street from the hotel, so there's no need to rent a car. Every time I visit Berkeley, I always stay at the Shattuck Plaza.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was my third stay at the Hotel Shattuck and is my favorite place to stay in Berkeley. Great location and BART is just down the street. The lobby bar is very nice with a good selection of ice cold beer on tap. Stayed here for a meeting and the food was really good. Rooms are very comfortable and clean. Service was excellent. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Request a room away from streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We just finished a four day stay at the Shattuck. The hotel is central to everything in Berkeley and a nice alternative to staying in SF for a long weekend. This is the kind of hotel that is perfect for those who have been to the city before and do not need a lot of pampering and assistance. The staff is very low key and the door is not always opened when you enter/exit. It feels more like an apartment building in which you have rented a room for your stay. No one fusses over you here but sometimes that's OK. Everyone is pleasant but not always thinking about how to help you.
The garage is across the street convenient and not terribly expensive. We stayed on the top floor and had a small glimpse of the Golden Gate from our window. It was quiet and very clean. The bed was comfortable. The vanity in the bathroom is non-existent and the bathroom door and closet door open into each other causing a major pain to close one and open the other especially since you have to store your toiletries in the closet because of the vanity situation. The closet is super big and it is possible to open your suitcase and leave it on the luggage rack in there- out of the way. The restaurant is good.
Berkeley is in a time warp; a good deal of it feels like it is stuck in 1969. There are homeless people everywhere and the smell of urine is ubiquitous. Yet the homes are beautiful and upscale. As a NYer I am not shocked by homelessness but it seems to big a really big problem here. If this would make you uncomfortable, I would not recommend staying in Berkeley.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I absolutely love this quaint, charming, boutique hotel. The rooms are spacious and modern, amenities are great, and the staff is wonderful. We hosted our company event there and the staff went above and beyond to accommodate our requests, additions and changes. Every single person, from the front desk to the catering empoyees, as well as the Event Manager, were very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely utilize this venue for future events!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carlsbad CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My spouse, youngest son and I stayed here 2 nights over the homecoming and parents weekend at Cal. We have a freshman studying at UCB.

We flew into Oakland and took the BART to downtown Berkeley. From there it was just a block's walk to the hotel. The west entrance to UC Berkeley is 2 to 3 blocks east from the hotel.

Although we barely saw the place, because we were only there when it was time to get some shut eye, the hotel was very nice. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet given the amount of traffic down below on Shattuck. The staff was courteous, professional and friendly.

A couple markdowns...The sink in the bathroom lacks any sufficient counter space to place your hygiene items. People talking in the hallways are not at all muffled when inside the room. Also the hotels in the area, including this one, appear to substantially increase their rates on home football weekends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shattuck Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.