We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel, great location, but not 4 star IMO” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Save Saved
You added Hotel Shattuck Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
dirtdivanm
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cute hotel, great location, but not 4 star IMO”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

First off, I chose this hotel from the reviews here at Tripadvisor. I would actually give this hotel a 3 1/2 star, but I do not agree with the 4 star ratings it has been receiving. I think this is a cute hotel, nicely appointed, however, the room I was in, was not a 4 star room. Since I didn't eat at the hotel or use any of the other amenities, I can not review those.

I will start with what I liked; we were in room 252, deluxe king room.

Pros: The location of this hotel is it's strength in my opinion. It really is across the street from the BART station and good choices of eateries within close walking distance, all of which was the reason I chose to stay here. The college is also just up the road. The room was nicely appointed, comfortable bed, pillows and bed linens, and clean.

This is a very small boutique hotel. This was not an issue for me, but there is no real reception area and it did fill up quickly while we checked in and there was no room to just wait in the area to be assisted. Elevators were pretty small and took a while.

Cons: We booked at the last minute so I got the rack rate of $195 plus tax for the deluxe king room #252.
--My biggest complaint is, that our room was on the second floor, view of large HVAC units and I felt the vibration of the unit during the night, it actually woke me. I have attached pictures. The room is also extremely small. Since it was just my husband & I, and we were only staying a few nights, we could live with it and I didn't want to bother with changing rooms. I feel that this hotel needs to offer these rooms at a discounted rate, as obstructed view, NOT at the $195/night. This is overpriced for this size and type of room.

--The room did not have any complimentary water or any for purchase either. This for me is a big deal for me, I am a water drinker and if I can get that at a Hilton Garden Inn, I expect it from a hotel rated 4 stars. No mini bar either, not a big deal for me, but others may think so.

--There is also no in room safe, which surprised me. There was only one end table, so I had to put my water on the floor or on the tiny table where the coffee machine was.

--The bathroom did not have a vanity area, which made it a challenge to keep our toiletries in the bathroom. Again, not that big of a deal for us since there for a short stay, but if a prolonged stay it would get annoying.

--The coffee maker was a nice touch, however, our cups were not restocked, so I was unable to use it the next morning when checking out early with a long drive to airport.

Overall, I did think the hotel offered nice touches, and that is why I would give it the extra half star. The staff was tied up when we went downstairs after arriving to ask for a suggestion for a drink and light snack, however, the bellman was very helpful and offered a suggestion just across the street. The checkout was also quick, no line since we were leaving early and the young lady called a cab quickly for our departure.

I would recommend the hotel, but highly urge you to get a higher floor room, although, at a higher price tag. I strongly suggest to the management to review their pricing for these lower floor rooms.

Room Tip: Higher floor for sure, get up above the second floor to avoid seeing & feeling HVAC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    220
    52
    32
    15
See reviews for
143
156
85
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was our second visit, both times were just for one night while attending a local concert.

Pros: The location is perfect for anything in Berkeley. The rooms are not huge, but certainly fine for one night. We had a room for two with a king sized bed that was very comfortable with nice linens. The amenities were really nice. The Keurig coffee system is appreciated as are the bathroom toiletries and the robe (1) and all the up-to-date outlets for electronics. The staff are all very nice and the hotel is very clean. We also like the fact that you can open the windows and adjust the room temperature. The parking is right across the street ($10.00 for overnight) and very convenient.

Cons: There isn't any place to put your toiletries in the bathroom. I suggested in my comments to the hotel, that they add a shelf because there is plenty of room. It would be really helpful especially since the rooms are on the small side. Personally, I like a mini fridge and there isn't one, but it's not a deal breaker, just a notation.

All, in all, I am glad this hotel is here and will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel made up in hospitality and charm from employees what it lacked in not having valet parking. We had a superior king room and it was GREAT! 5th floor. The gym was not crowded so I was able to get my 45 min run in daily.

Mike and Kingsly at front desk area were sooo helpful. Kingsly suggest a place, an Italian bakery in AM that had amazing coffee and savory breakfast pizza. Mike actually came with us to Bart to show us how to buy tickets to get around and to help us with an iPhone app for iBart. They were GREAT.

This hotel was well managed as the employees had personality with Hospitality their priority. Other hotels should take notice....we will stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

THe hotel is a nicely refurbished building, with nice decor and a good location for visiting both Berkley and San Francisco ( located just opposite the BART station ).

It's an excellent alternative to the overpriced hotels in San Francisco. We got even upgraded to a suite.
Hotel bar is excellent, with interesting coctails and decent prices.

Rooms are a bit smaller then the usual standard you find in the US, but it's very much close to European standard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My stay at Hotel Shattuck was simple one of the best I've had in a long while; attention to detail, courteous service and an amazing staff, good bar and nightlife and you are in the center of everything. The food, especially at the bistro was delicious (complements to the chef) and the staff from the Manager, Marcus to the amazing front desk folks and that incredible young man who checked us in, it was a relaxing and fabulous journey. Kudos! Kudos! kudos! I'll be back!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room and one with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the executive (full bed with desk) room on a Friday night, and there was plenty of room for us and our luggage. The front desk didn't seem to mind that two people were staying, even though the website would only let me register one guest. They also offered to hold my luggage when I checked out.
The one surprise was that they authorized my credit card for $100 extra for incidentals, which was corrected upon checkout. The location was perfect (near BART and campus). The parking garage across the street was fine.The walls were thin, but out room didn't face the street, so all we heard was people walking down the hall. The bathroom was very nice, and the water pressure in the shower was good. We didn't have a chance to go to the bar or restaurant, but they looked nice. My husband had previously visited the bar and liked it. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hockley, essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had originally booked to stay for 5 nights in another Berkeley "hotel" about a mile up Telegraph Avenue..However, that was not a nice place, so we stayed for 1 night,( which was too much). We were very fortunate to be able to book into the Shattuck for the remaining 4 nights. The lady on the desk showed us the room and we found the rates very reasonable.
The room was fab. with a power point for every conceivable type of electronic equipment. The beds, duvets and pillows were gorgeous and the room exceptionally clean. You could tell straight away that the cleaning staff took pride in their work.. The rest of the Staff were nice and friendly, without being over the top.The food was of good quality and it was nice to see the bar and restaurant busy, but friendly.
Another fantastic bonus was that this hotel is literally a minute away from the Bart.
This hotel rightly deserves to be number 1 in Berkeley and we hope it stays that way.If you are staying in Berkeley you cannot go wrong by staying here.

Room Tip: They do have some rooms at top of hotel with good views. Understandly they cost a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear chrisHockely_Essex,

We are sincerely appreciative to learn that you had such a positive experience with us. Our team strives to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests and we are always delighted to know when we have had a positive impact. Thank you for choosing us for your visit and for dining in our restaurant FIVE. FIVE focuses on the five senses and it sounds like our friendly staff and culinary team presented a fulfilling dining experience. We will continue to work hard to earn #1 in Berkeley on Trip Advisor and if for any reason we miss an expectation, we will strive to resolve it before departure.

Best regards,

Greg

Greg Mauldin | General Manager
Hotel Shattuck Plaza | FIVE, a Modern American Bistro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shattuck Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.