We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Shattuck Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Mount Vernon, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed one night while visiting the university campus. The hotel is amazing. Loved the decor and the attention to detail in the design. The room was a little snug but had every amenity you could desire in an upscale boutique hotel. The access to your floor was controlled by key card so we felt safe and secure. The front desk personnel were very helpful and attentive. We felt very welcomed. Parking is less than a half a block away in a non hotel controlled parking garage. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    234
    55
    35
    17
See reviews for
156
167
88
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Flossmoor, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed here two nights for a family wedding in Piedmont. This seemed a better spot than the Claremont Hotel, as we wanted to walk around Berkeley and have a trip into the City for dim sum the morning of the wedding.

The hotel has obviously been done over recently as the lobby and bar are sparkling. The room was a bit small, but perfectly functional. The biggest drawback was that our windows looked straight into a mass of HVAC equipment. It was cool that weekend, so it wasn't noisy, but I imagine it could have been, That was room 250, IIRC.

There was a shiny new Keurig in the room, but getting supplies replenished was a nuisance. The maid service doesn't seem to have refills, so both days we had to call the desk to get new pods. This seems like a pretty easy detail to take care of, but I've noticed other reviewers with the same complaint.

The location is great for a wander through the Cal campus and the surrounding business areas. The BART station across the street made our dim sum excursion extra easy, too.

Parking was a bit of a nuisance at first, as the garage across the street has no formal deal with the Shattuck. Street parking is free all day Sunday and before 9 AM weekdays, though. We only paid for our first few hours in the garage and were able to find street spots close by. Weekdays are probably a bigger hassle.

I would stay here again, I would just ask to face Shattuck rather than machinery.

Room Tip: Ask for something that doesn't face the HVAC units
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I recently spent a weekend in the area sailing, and found that Hotel Shattuck was very nice compared to the whole of Berkeley. The rooms were very clean, and had plenty of room. There were three of us staying and so we needed to get a pull-out bed in our room as well. The first room we were given was way to small, and so we asked them and they helped us to a larger room and were so helpfull about it. The only thing I would say is that parking was very expensive. They have you park at a parking garage across from the hotel and don't provide anywhere for their guests.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I've stayed at the Hotel Shattuck Plaza three times since my son started at Cal. The service is excellent, the restaurant and bar are nice (food's pretty expensive), the rooms are clean and comfortable and you can't beat the location. Ask for an "inside" room if you really want it quiet - the street sounds can get pretty loud at times. I also would recommend better storage in the bathrooms - not a lot of space to set toilet kit, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willits, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a wonderful Hotel with an excellent staff. We highly recommend the Hotel Shattuck Plaza without a single downside. Every staff person and every amenity offerred was top shelf. Location was very convenient. We stayed here and took BART to see Les Miz at the Orpheum. Could not have been more convenient!

Room Tip: Open the window a little as the A/C doesn't seem to bring in any fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Shattuck doesn't have to be this good. It's really the only decent lodging within walking distance from UCB. Front desk was very pleasant and efficient. Added a third person at the last minute and staff was very gracious about adding a roll away. When housekeeping brought the bed they said they thought the room was too small so they bumped us to a bigger room with no hassles nor cost (roll away was $25 a night, bigger room no cost).

Room was practically newly redecorated. Felt like a Pottery Barn- colors, textiles, mirrors, bathroom (right down to the white marble over brown wood vanity). In no way was this a bad thing. Bed was super comfortable with down comforter and down pillows. The lobby is funky with a peace sign tile design at the entry. Kind of fun.

BART is right out the door. We didn't find parking too unreasonable. Definitely competitive for the area. The front desk did warn us that if we were in and out a bunch then the price would be pretty high. We parked at 11 PM and drove out at 11 AM and it was $15. Not bad.

Lots of walkable food options. And UCB couldn't be closer. Didn't eat in the hotel or use the workout facilities so no opinions on that stuff. Nice job Shattuck! Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Awesome hotel in the midst of Berkeley. There is a parking garage across the street but you will have to pay for it, you do not get complimentary parking or valet parking.

As soon as you enter the hotel, you see a beautiful red chandelier and the decor is made up of very vibrant and striking colors. Too bad the bar music and noise spills over to the very tiny front desk so that you may be afraid that it is going to be an awfully noisy experience. I wish there was some kind of divide between the bar and the front desk so block the noise.
The staff is very friendly and nice and helpful.
The room was lovely. The velvet curtains were interesting and very soft. There was a nice big mirror in the entrance hall so that you can check yourself before heading out the door.
The bathroom had lovely sixties-style wallpaper (light blue with round designs), the sink was modern and round, very cute! The only problem is that there was no place to store your toiletries in the bathroom. You could have jammed a few around the sink but then, everything would have gotten wet.
The soap has a hole in the middle to be "green". I would have liked two bars of soap since it is so very small.
The room had a very nice, comfortable bed, although a bit too much on the softer side for me. The top cover sheet was white and striped, very nice. And the blanket inside was white and waffle, very nice as well.
There were two tv's in the room that you could control with one remote, so, for a surfing addict like me, it was heaven to keep on surfing on both tv's.
The nighttables were French cottage country white, very lovely.
The pillows on the bed were brown with blue circle, to keep with the sixties's style, very nice. And there was a long neck pillow as well.
The closet had two big white doors that you could open at once and there you have all your clothes and a little dresser inside. Liked it!
In-room breakfast service was lovely. The presentation of the yogurt parfait, the apple, the little croissant and the tea was so very nice. The ONLY problem was that breakfast is not served at the restaurant until 6:30am and in-room until 7am during the week. That was way too late for me as I needed to leave by 6am so I had to re-arrange some plans.
All in all, I want to move into this hotel, very nice experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Berkeley
#1 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#2 Best Value Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shattuck Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.