We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, very comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Save Saved
You added Hotel Shattuck Plaza to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
westchester
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Very nice, very comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed at the Shattuck Plaza for six days in March, 2012. The good stuff: beautiful decoration, excellent service and help at the front desk, great location - I took BART back and forth to SF easily - and the restaurant was certainly fine.

The notsogood stuff: spotty WIFI access, a room service lunch that was not up to par. The bathroom "door" was odd...and gave very little privacy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    232
    54
    33
    16
See reviews for
155
164
87
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Westmount, Canada
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

The hotel was clean, and quite fresh in carpets/look. It was also conveniently located to UCal, and the BART. However, the rooms were small (like the old days in NY City), and the fitness center was minimal. The restaurant, "Five", was very good for breakfast, and quite busy in the evening (each night, but I did not eat there) so I assume it was popular. Service was friendly and nice. - Overall, nice, but not great or anything special.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay/ San Fran. Quite nice to see -- You will need to be on top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

but also easy into SF, 1/2 block to BART, much better bargain than comparable properties in Union Square. Very friendly helpful staff. Rooms are smallish, this is an older building (but fully updated). Bathroom door has translucent window, disconcerting to watch your significant other use the room.

Room Tip: Shattuck St is always noisy, try for room inside/upper floors/side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

I stayed at this hotel about a year ago, I was quite surprised. Excellent service and friendly staff, grab and go breakfast was a great feature (coffee was excellent). I loved the unique aspects of this hotel it very much exemplifies and captures Berkeley's unique feeling. I loved the marble baths and the marble peace sign designed into the marble floor when you come into the hotel. Anyway I highly recommend this place!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for the positive review. Based on similar feedback, we are adding coffee makers to all of our Cityscape rooms now and our plaza view rooms next. We will continue to explore the viability of offering them in all of our other rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Comfortable, nicely furnished rooms and baths near to U Cal and BART. Service was great, as were all the amenities.

Room Tip: I had a basic room, which had a good sized bath, but no in-room coffee. However, Starbucks is aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Spent an evening last week at the Shattuck on the recommendation of a luxury hotel in SF -- so I was expecting 4* accommodations and service. The Shattuck fell short, but here are the reasons (you might find them just dandy):
a) When making the reservation (with the front desk 2 days in advance) my inquiry regarding parking and valet charges produced the response: "there's no charge for this with the rate you've booked." --- turns out there was no valet or parking at all, and we were sent across the street for $19/day.
b) Front desk staff (manager plus 3) was very disorganized, distracted, and seemed to be practicing more stand-up comedy or reality-TV than customer service.
c) Our request for a nice, quiet room left us in an ADA room overlooking Shattuck on Friday night (very noisy) --- we did not require any ADA accomodation.
Regarding (b) and (c) --- at 1pm it took four folks and 40min to check our bags and refer us to return after 3pm for a better room (only doubles were available at 1pm, and we booked a king). Manager assured us a much more comfortable and quiet room would be held for us when we returned. When we returned, we were given the wrong bags with our claim checks and the front desk person changed the reserved room to the 5th floor ADA room overlooking the street noise with the explanation that it would be more spacious (never mentioning the nature or location of the room). During the night on two occasions pranksters pressed the "open the door" button setting of bright flashing lights and a loud siren --- with that, and the street noise, it wasn't such a comfortable room, even for the 5th floor (street noise was very disruptive as late as midnight).

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before agreeing to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
We certainly regret that this guest did not have a stay that we are generally known for. I am most disappointed that we were not able to resolve their concerns during the stay, which is when we always like the opportunity to reconcile a missed expectation. All the same, information such as this is helpful for us to learn where we are doing well and where we can improve. I trust that we will have another opportunity with this guest to prove that we are than a charming Berkeley hotel as noted in many other reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

In early February we stayed at Hotel Shattuck again. It was our second visit and it was another good experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#1 Romantic Hotel in Berkeley
#2 Best Value Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shattuck Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.