We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, Funky, Comfortable, Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Shattuck Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersGold level
Livermore, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fun, Funky, Comfortable, Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel due to it's proximity to BART and University Avenue. We weren't disappointed. After parking at a public lot across the street, we were greeted by a giant peace symbol in the marble foyer....very appropriate for Berkeley and it brought a smile to our faces. Check-in was efficient and personable. Our room on the 4th floor was some distance from the elevator but the bright, cheery hallways lined with photos of local landmarks made the walk to the room a fun adventure. The room was spacious and comfortable. Dinner at Five restaurant was delicious and not badly priced for the quality. We've stayed at that "other" fancy hotel in Berkeley and much preferred this one. We wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    243
    62
    35
    17
See reviews for
163
173
92
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

The Shattuck is in a perfect location, just steps from the downtown BART, the campus, the new Magnes Library. With very pleasant help and good breakfasts you could hardly want more. Our only complaint was that our bathroom was tiny, with towel racks too high to be reached and no full-length mirror anywhere in the room. However, for convenience, cleanliness, and attractive furnishings you couldn't do better.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandia, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Sort of quirky decor but great place to stay. Comfortable rooms, great beds and bedding, clean, and perfect location - what else can you ask for in a hotel? We were in a room which was the farthest from the elevator but it was quiet (except for some work being done on neighboring restaurant). Breakfast was good. We'll come back.

Room Tip: Some rooms you have to walk and walk to get to - but they are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Yuk. Not a great stop for business.

The complimentary internet gave me 12 hours for free. Then it quit working at 8.20 in the morning and wouldn't let me sign back on.

The phone was broken. Probably just the battery was dead, but I still couldn't talk with anyone about the fact that the internet didn't work. The desk chair was broken and wobbly.

At 7AM, they started tarring the roof of the adjoining building. Basically like having a garbage truck parked outside my window.

If this is the best hotel Berkeley has to offer, Berkeley needs some more hotels.

Room Tip: Best way to choose a good room is to choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg M, General Manager at Hotel Shattuck Plaza, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
We sincerely regret that this guest left not satisfied with their stay as it is not our intent to inconvenience a guest in anyway. We have reviewed their stay and implemented additional checks where applicable to minimize any recurrences. It is only through guest feedback where we learn what are doing right and where we can improve. It is our sincere hope that this guest will give us an opportunity to show them the hospitality experience we are better known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holte, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

OK hotel with a dine restaurant and nice personnel.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Shattuck one night only for business. The front desk person was excellent and the process was very smooth for check-in. I received an excellent room with great bed and a very nice bathroom and unique ammenities. Our function at the hotel was well handled and food was excellent.

Also like to call out that the bellman were extremely helpfu.

drawback - parking is across the street and very expensive.

Location is excellent..

Room Tip: ask for inside room - king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The rooms are comfortable and clean, but nothing special. No on-site parking or valet, which was very inconvenient. The night we were there, the restaurant had to stop taking customers because the kitchen could not keep with up with demand, although there were many open tables.

The location is good for walking around Berkeley.

Room Tip: Try to get as high a level room as possible because the street noise is loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Shattuck Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shattuck Plaza

Address: 2086 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Shattuck Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Shattuck Plaza reopened in June 2009 as the jewel of downtown Berkeley, California. After a multimillion dollar renovation which combined the building’s historic charm with modern technologies and amenities, this landmark, boutique hotel provides an upscale haven for business or leisure travelers. Located two blocks from the UC Berkeley campus and next to the Berkeley BART station, the hotel is perfectly positioned for guests visiting the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Shattuck Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shattuck Plaza Hotel
Shattuck Plaza Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shattuck Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.