We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good luck getting any sleep here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Berkeley

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 University Avenue, Berkeley, CA 94710   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
Reno, Nevada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good luck getting any sleep here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The floor above our room (and many others) was very creaky. Unfortunately we had a pacer in the room above us who walked around (and creaked) late at night and early in the morning, waking us up. This is not an easily solved problem so my advice is to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: I don't know how you find a room where the floors don't squeak in this hotel--maybe there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    29
    27
    28
    33
See reviews for
47
27
15
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here a while back while we were touring around SF. It's not in SF so the prices are much more affordable. The rooms were a good size, and we had a fridge, so we bought food and had dinner in the room one night when we were tired. Parking is easy. It was a little noisy with kids running around on the floor above us, but it wasnt unbearable. Would definitely stay here again based on the location and the value.

Room Tip: Higher floor...less stomping on your head. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My not so high vote for la Quinta in Berkeley is due to the terrible breakfast they serve. It's true that breakfast is not all in an hotel but when you spend 129$ a night, bedsides having a comfortable bed, that you get at La Quinta, you also would like to wake up with a good breakfast. No fruit, terrible coffee, a few buttery croissant and the usual square bread. At the Lobby I was told that the breakfast was better a few years back. If you would like a suggestion dear La Quinta owners I believe that you should increase the quality of your breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in tha back of the hotel, University avenue could be quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I am posting here because h**tels.com won't post my review. I stayed here this weekend with my sis, thinking it would be a short walk from the North Berkeley BART station. I was wrong. I admit, I probably should have analyzed googlemaps more (Note: city blocks in Berkeley are huge), because after we were walking 40 minutes on University Ave, I was like, "OMG where are we" and I kept telling her it couldn't be much further. We did end up finding it about 5 minutes later, after stopping inside a Subway to make sure we were still going the right way. Problem is, we were really tired by the time we finally got to the hotel because we'd already spent all day walking, with our backpacks, sightseeing in Downtown Berkeley. So if you plan to do something similar (not bring a car and walk everywhere like we did) it might not be worth it to be so far from BART. On the plus side though, it was super nice and clean once we got there and the staff was very helpful. And it is close to the Amtrak station and the 4th Street shopping area. We'll just have to stay somewhere a little more central next time.

Room Tip: Maybe book directly through the hotel? We used a third-party website and we were facing the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Let me start by saying the staff was attentive and professional. Check in and check out was fine.
The room was a dump. Cracker crumbs in the corners, wet carpet in front of the bathroom door (oh Lord I didn't even want to guess) the room was smelly....like mold. The view was of some type of oil recycling truck. The first time I ever emailed a motel and voiced my displeasure. They then barraged me with offers to stay again, no discount. REALLY???? WHY WOULD I??
Oh and breakfast. The lady next to me stared at the slop and asked "what the heck is this"?? I really couldn't answer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stay in this Berkeley La Quinta Inn once a month for business and my experience has been better to best once every time I visited. Manager Jack has turned this place around. Staffs are very helpful, breakfast been always good, I like the self made warm waffle. Very close to highway 80 makes my travel easy too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Berkeley

Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Berkeley Hotel
La Quinta Inn Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Berkeley
Berkeley La Quinta
Address: 920 University Avenue, Berkeley, CA 94710
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Berkeley 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berkeley's Best Priced -Limited Service HotelAmenities: FREE Breakfast and Wifi, “Seasonal “Heated Pool, Fitness Center, Business Center and Complimentary Parking, - Are All Inclusive In Room Rate. We have On-Site Guest Laundry and Same Day Dry Cleaning Available.Event Space for Rent- Continental Ballroom (4000 SQ Ft) - Berkeley Room (836 SQ Ft) and our Campus Room (392 SQ FT) for Small Functions. We are 1 Mile from Berkeley Marina, 2.5 miles from UC Berkeley Campus, Walking distance to 4th Street shops and restaurants and 13.7 miles from San Francisco's Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Berkeley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Berkeley to your Saves list