We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Berkeley

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Berkeley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   920 University Avenue, Berkeley, CA 94710   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrible breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My not so high vote for la Quinta in Berkeley is due to the terrible breakfast they serve. It's true that breakfast is not all in an hotel but when you spend 129$ a night, bedsides having a comfortable bed, that you get at La Quinta, you also would like to wake up with a good breakfast. No fruit, terrible coffee, a few buttery croissant and the usual square bread. At the Lobby I was told that the breakfast was better a few years back. If you would like a suggestion dear La Quinta owners I believe that you should increase the quality of your breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in tha back of the hotel, University avenue could be quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    35
    38
    34
    35
See reviews for
57
32
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I am posting here because h**tels.com won't post my review. I stayed here this weekend with my sis, thinking it would be a short walk from the North Berkeley BART station. I was wrong. I admit, I probably should have analyzed googlemaps more (Note: city blocks in Berkeley are huge), because after we were walking 40 minutes on University Ave, I was like, "OMG where are we" and I kept telling her it couldn't be much further. We did end up finding it about 5 minutes later, after stopping inside a Subway to make sure we were still going the right way. Problem is, we were really tired by the time we finally got to the hotel because we'd already spent all day walking, with our backpacks, sightseeing in Downtown Berkeley. So if you plan to do something similar (not bring a car and walk everywhere like we did) it might not be worth it to be so far from BART. On the plus side though, it was super nice and clean once we got there and the staff was very helpful. And it is close to the Amtrak station and the 4th Street shopping area. We'll just have to stay somewhere a little more central next time.

Room Tip: Maybe book directly through the hotel? We used a third-party website and we were facing the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Let me start by saying the staff was attentive and professional. Check in and check out was fine.
The room was a dump. Cracker crumbs in the corners, wet carpet in front of the bathroom door (oh Lord I didn't even want to guess) the room was smelly....like mold. The view was of some type of oil recycling truck. The first time I ever emailed a motel and voiced my displeasure. They then barraged me with offers to stay again, no discount. REALLY???? WHY WOULD I??
Oh and breakfast. The lady next to me stared at the slop and asked "what the heck is this"?? I really couldn't answer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stay in this Berkeley La Quinta Inn once a month for business and my experience has been better to best once every time I visited. Manager Jack has turned this place around. Staffs are very helpful, breakfast been always good, I like the self made warm waffle. Very close to highway 80 makes my travel easy too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I stay in La Quinta Inns quite a bit because of dogs. No matter where you stay the service and rooms are always the same. I was traveling by train and the hotels near Amtrak were booked. This was a good alternative and a short drive from the Amtrak station. The parking is plentiful and secure. The breakfast buffet was tasty and offers round bacon for muffin sandwiches.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Berkeley

Address: 920 University Avenue, Berkeley, CA 94710
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Berkeley 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berkeley's Best Priced -Limited Service HotelAmenities: FREE Breakfast and Wifi, “Seasonal “Heated Pool, Fitness Center, Business Center and Complimentary Parking, - Are All Inclusive In Room Rate. We have On-Site Guest Laundry and Same Day Dry Cleaning Available.Event Space for Rent- Continental Ballroom (4000 SQ Ft) - Berkeley Room (836 SQ Ft) and our Campus Room (392 SQ FT) for Small Functions. We are 1 Mile from Berkeley Marina, 2.5 miles from UC Berkeley Campus, Walking distance to 4th Street shops and restaurants and 13.7 miles from San Francisco's Fisherman's Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Hotel Berkeley
La Quinta Berkeley
Berkeley La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Berkeley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.