We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, not that bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Marina Blvd., Berkeley, CA 94710   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #4 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
padres444
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not great, not that bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed here one night. Checked in at 7pm and left at 7am the next morning.

-Can't believe they charge as much as they do for WiFi. Almost laughable.
-Ordered room service pizza. It was terrible.
-As others have mentioned, the place/grounds need some updating. This hotel could have some serious potential if some money was put into it.
-Free parking. Honestly, surprised they don't nickel and dime guests on this aspect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear padres444~

Thank you for taking your time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your short stay with us.

I sincerely apologize that your In Room Dining experience did not meet your expectations. I have shared your feedback with our Chef so that we may remove or improve our pizza offerings. We currenly charge for internet access in our guest rooms; however you are correct - we do not charge for parking as all other hotels in our area do.

We hope you will allow another opportunity in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back as our guest.
All the best -
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    217
    303
    163
    58
    26
See reviews for
247
154
41
233
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times in the last six months. While this hotel has been there a long time, it is well-maintained with quiet, comfortable rooms. The furnishings were updated and in good condition. Our room had a vaulted ceiling which added to the feeling of spaciousness. The hotel is located at the Berkeley Marina and surrounded on the land sides by couple of parks. So, it is quiet and offers nice open spaces for running, walking, etc. The location is great, with quick access to the city of Berkeley and the UC Berkeley Campus. There are several restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to stay outside of San Francisco when we discovered how pricey the parking was going to be...on top of the hotel cost each night. I'd only been to Berkeley once before, when I was doing the college rounds, and didn't have particularly fond memories of the time there. This hotel, however, pleasantly surprised both of us.

The location was RIGHT on the marina, so the name's rather accurate. We got some beautiful shots at sunset, and had a room that opened right onto the manicured lawn, with walking paths along the water and to a nearby park. Lovely.

The room was large (I think we stayed in a king marina view room), and very clean. The linens were spotless, and the room felt very fresh. The bed was a little less comfortable than what I'm used to at similar grade hotels, but not untenable. We ordered breakfast one morning and were pleased, as well as room service one evening, and were pleased, particularly by the service--the man who delivered the food was extraordinarily kind and helpful.

The hotel was mostly quiet, and had a nice indoor pool/jacuzzi (an amenity in the SF area with the unreliable weather). We were also pleased to discover that the hotel was only about a 15 minute drive to downtown SF. Keep in mind you will have to pay the toll on the bay bridge if you cross by car, but that's still LOTS cheaper than parking in the city!

Overall, if my travel plans lead me back to the bay area, I'd say it's a likely bet that I'll find myself at this hotel again.

Room Tip: The marina view is worth the extra few bucks--though we kind of wished we'd asked for a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We've stayed here several times when visiting the Berkeley area, and found it to be a clean, quiet hotel with exceptional, friendly service. The kind of place that isn't overbearing, but is a cut above what you might expect. The rooms are on the small side, but nicely laid out and the furnishings are comfortable. Parking is easy in an area where parking is generally hard to find and expensive when you do find it. Not so here. We usually park right outside our room in a large, well lit lot.

It's the staff I really like, however. Everyone we encountered was wonderful. Everyone was smiling. Everyone was helpful.

And, in the traditional Hilton manner, they remembered to offer us warm cookies as we checked in!

I like this place. The East Bay area of San Francisco is generally crowded and rather hectic, but that just isn't the case here. This hotel has a slow, leisurely feel to it, and a wonderful view of the Bay. It really couldn't be any more relaxing a stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We recently stayed here the night before a business appointment in SF and found it exceeded all of our expectations. The front desk clerk was personable, helpful, and friendly. The room was clean, quiet and roomy. The indoor pool was sparkling and relaxing. The breakfast buffet the next morning provided plenty of choices and an outstanding view. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The location at the marina is very nice and the reception desk very helpful and courteous. They had their famous HOT chocolate chip cookies as a welcome snack at the reception desk. I found the price with Booking.com was better than the direct hotel charge. We ordered room service and everything came quickly and was very tasty. The only suggestions would be that they need to badly remodel the halls (carpet) and update the rooms with a more attractive style.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

+ Overall pretty clean, staff was courteous, shuttle driver Peter was extremely helpful.

- If you're booking for the price and looking to sightsee in San Francisco, you're better off booking a hotel in SF. The shuttle from the hotel to the Bart is pretty reliable as long as you sign up in advance, but the Bart is approx. 14 round trip per day and takes at least 30 minutes to get to the Embarcadero (1st stop by Fisherman's Wharf). Then, when you get back to the Bart, good luck in catching that shuttle back to the Doubletree. I had to call the hotel desk multiple times to receive an estimated time of 30-40 minutes wait for pick up...and one night the shuttle didn't even show, my phone died, and we ended up taking a taxi back for 15 dollars.

-When you compare this hotel with others that offer an included breakfast, this hotel might seem initially cheaper...however, the "healthy start" buffet at 13 dollars/ person which includes cereal, milk, breads, and none of the hot foods such as eggs, bacon, pancakes will make this hotel just as expensive as the others you might overlook for their higher price tags. 26 dollars per person for breakfast per day? Ridiculous! But they have captive consumers - there are no refridgerators in the rooms.

Overall, if you don't mind being charged an arm and a leg for breakfast and don't need to go into San Francisco, this hotel might be the place for you. Next time, I plan to book in the city at a place that includes breakfast and is more convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Address: 200 Marina Blvd., Berkeley, CA 94710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Bay Area, San Francisco skyline and Golden Gate Bridge usher guests into our elegant lobby. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites include private balconies or patios, and are available with Berkeley Hills, Courtyard, or Marina views. Our 378 guest rooms include all the comforts of home, including high-speed Internet access and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. Guests are also offered fine hotel amenities, which include an indoor family pool and spa, indoor lap pool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and sauna. Enjoy the finest in California cuisine at our waterfront restaurant, Bay Grille, or relax with your favorite beverage at sunset in the Bay Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Berkeley Marina Hotel Berkeley
Doubletree Berkeley
Berkeley Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.