We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location for your Berkeley stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Marina Blvd., Berkeley, CA 94710   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
New Years Eve Offer
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful location for your Berkeley stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I have stayed at the Doubletree Hotel several times and I like it for several reasons. Firstly, the management is VERY friendly and helpful. The location is beautiful, so if you are like me and like to run outside in the morning, it's perfect.. right alongside the marina.

The indoor pool looked lovely and inviting, although I didn't have time to enjoy it. The setting around the pool is also very nice if you have children you want to supervise.

I didn't have a car so really appreciated the flexible and complimentary shuttle service into the city.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the lobby, choose the first building (there are four). I found the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    373
    214
    81
    38
See reviews for
297
206
49
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Ore.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Spent the weekend here and really enjoyed it! Staff very gracious and let us check in early and check out late. That matters to me. Hot chocolate chip cookie and H2O upon arrival. Spacious room with a balcony. Decent fitness center with a pool for adults only. Separate family pool near lobby. Nice walk along the marina. Lounge and restaurant offer views of the bay and San Francisco skyline. I spilled my martini and the bartender was very nice about it and replaced it. Room service was great - hot pepperoni pizza. Definitely going back.

Room Tip: Hotel offers four buildings. Four is the furthest and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Building 3 slants inward toward building 4. I used a level and in some places the slope is 2 degrees. Very noticeable as you feel like you are walking downhill as soon as you walk into the room (facing the courtyard of course).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was a guest at this hotel between October 24-29. Warm cookie at the arrival was a nice touch. This hotel is located at the best spot, secluded from the trafic noise, next to the city's marina. There is a small peninsula which is a walking distance from the hotel. The breakfast offered variety of choices, including fresh omlette with your choice of vegetables. Although the hotel was full one was still able to enjoy quiet time. The rooms are clean and well kept. I cannot imagine a nicer place to stay visiting Berkeley. I look forward to staing again in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed on the main floor of this hotel and woke up at 2am to find a man in my room. He had somehow broken in and managed to get away with my wallet, 2 bags, and my camera. As if this experience wasn't terrifying enough the hotel did absolutely nothing to follow up. I had two friends staying with me in the hotel room that night and we had to seek them out the next morning to clear the situation up. From beginning to end they completely mishandled the entire situation. When I come back to Berkeley I will avoid staying here at all costs - I would warn you to do the same.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip that I was making to SF. I thought to stay across the water to check out the UC Campus. I ended not going to the campus at all. The marina is beautiful with all the boat, a park at the right side of the hotel.

The room was spacious and clean. It had a balcony and I sat there with my coffee in the morning. Luis at the bar was very friendly and I enjoy having my dinner there.

I cannot wait to be back!!

Room Tip: Ask to be placed in the first floor, then you have this park like view....check my pictures, I loved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Check in was great they were really nice and gave us warm cookies which my husband loved!
The room was very clean and vert well taken care of. The beds were a little soft for my liking but not to soft.
Just a note they do have down feather pillows and bed covers.

We had a nice stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Address: 200 Marina Blvd., Berkeley, CA 94710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 378
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Bay Area, San Francisco skyline and Golden Gate Bridge usher guests into our elegant lobby. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites include private balconies or patios, and are available with Berkeley Hills, Courtyard, or Marina views. Our 378 guest rooms include all the comforts of home, including high-speed Internet access and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. Guests are also offered fine hotel amenities, which include an indoor family pool and spa, indoor lap pool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and sauna. Enjoy the finest in California cuisine at our waterfront restaurant, Bay Grille, or relax with your favorite beverage at sunset in the Bay Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Berkeley Marina Hotel Berkeley
Doubletree Berkeley
Berkeley Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.