We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Marina Blvd., Berkeley, CA 94710   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #4 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ocean City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The property is a little funky to navigate. But by far everyone that works at this hotel is customer focus. Other hotels should send people there to see how it is done well. It is a tribute the the hotels leadership how gracious, friendly and responsive everyone is that works here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    288
    155
    55
    24
See reviews for
234
147
40
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Loved this place. Centrally located to San Francisco and to downtown Berkeley. Safe rooms that were well appointed. Nice breakfast each morning. We left our balcony door open and had a beautiful view of the Marina and enjoyed the lovely breeze. I look forward to returning one day soon.

Room Tip: I think the extra we paid to be on the Marina side and for breakfast was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a nice enough place to stay if you want to be on the water in the East Bay. The hotel is pleasant and provides everything you need. Good value for what you get. I do wish they had a shuttle to Oakland airport. They do offer a free ride to the Bart station. I guess that s good enough if you have the time for public transport.

They could use more help at the front desk as the poor girl at the front desk was fielding questions, checking in guests, acting as bellman and answering phone calls. She managed it with grace and skill but it just seems like a hotel as big as his needs more employees.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Was a really nice place from checking in to leaving everybody there was very friendly and helpful would stay there again the only thing i was disappointed was we asked for a golden gate bridge view but there was a huge tree in the way. But our room was nice and we did have great view of marina my advice is go for the breakfast and room stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

i was lost the entire time but I really liked this place. The buildings seemed like a maze to me but I am a tumbleweed, so others may not get so easily lost. Beautiful location across from a reserve and right on the marina. I was here for business and didnt have a lot of free time, but would come back just to explore. It's also very close to a cool shopping area called Bay or Christie Street. The staff were wonderful. I must have called the front desk 10 times and they were always very very nice. my view was of the parking lot and the marina off in the distance, but who cares? on business so was never in my room. dinner in the restaurant was excellent.

Room Tip: ask for the marina view on the ground floor. i'd get that next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmar, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had some last-minute excitement as we left the East Coast with our adult children for a long-anticipated family event in Berkeley; our hosts had forgotten to book our 3 rooms at the Doubletree Marina! Even though the hotel was nearly full, every member of the staff and management that we encountered was lovely and went above-and-beyond to resolve the issue with courtesy and kindness. Our airy, high-ceilinged room overlooked the marina, and the kids loved the hot tub. A special setting and a wonderful staff -- we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Don't miss the marina view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thanks Westerngirl_NJ for taking your time to post such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor!!
We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay at our hotel - we love the views!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
All the best -
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

everything was just great except... the bar..
everyone in the staff was more than great exept the bar personal me and my wife was going to take a drink the first night and when we arrived the bar staff told us that they was too less people who worked there so we have to clean the table by ouerself and when we ordered we dident get what we ordered cause the staff was too stressed i think and we think they where rude to us!!
so unfortunately it was the first and the last time we where there.. it really destroyed much of the enjoy of staying in this great Hotel.
mvh Trond Olsen

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
mvh Trond Olsen~
Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay.
As the General Manager, I sincerely apologize that your experience at our property wasn’t up to our usual high standards. We’ve addressed the problems you mentioned with customer service levels in our bar area.
Thank you for alerting us to this issue, and we hope you’ll give us another chance if you return to our area. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please feel free to call me at 510.665.7126.
All the best -
Stephanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina

Address: 200 Marina Blvd., Berkeley, CA 94710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Berkeley
#3 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views of the Bay Area, San Francisco skyline and Golden Gate Bridge usher guests into our elegant lobby. Our beautifully appointed guestrooms and suites include private balconies or patios, and are available with Berkeley Hills, Courtyard, or Marina views. Our 378 guest rooms include all the comforts of home, including high-speed Internet access and luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. Guests are also offered fine hotel amenities, which include an indoor family pool and spa, indoor lap pool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and sauna. Enjoy the finest in California cuisine at our waterfront restaurant, Bay Grille, or relax with your favorite beverage at sunset in the Bay Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Berkeley Marina Hotel Berkeley
Doubletree Berkeley
Berkeley Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.