We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First experience with Salvadoran food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Platano

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Platano
2042 University Ave., Berkeley, CA 94704
510-704-0325
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 619 Restaurants in Berkeley
Cuisines: Central American
Restaurant details
Fairfield
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“First experience with Salvadoran food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was our first experience with Salvadoran food--so I don't claim to be an expert. We liked the atmosphere of the restaurant. We asked for recommendations for a light dinner and ended up trying a number of pupusas and the plantains with beans and sour cream. Everything was delicious and made me curious to try more. The wait staff was friendly but quite slow. It was a busy Saturday night with several large parties at the restaurant also.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Salvadoran Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We had their Pupusas, and they were delicious. The service was good, and the prices were very fair. We definitely will go there again.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Salvadorian in Berkeley”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place is a nice spot for when you're craving ethnic (Salvadorian) food and don't want to drive to the city. The food is OK overpriced (my opinion), but it gets the job done.

The whole fish is my husband's favorite. I like the pupusas. Would patronize more often if the price was better.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This was the first place we ate when we arrived in Berkeley and it set the tone for our entire culinary experience in the city. The service was excellent and the pupusas were wonderful. The portions were sizable and everything tasted out of this world!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Pupusas are where its at!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

$2 pupusas makes this place a great bargain. Yummy and so cheap! Also the plantains with cream and beans are soo good. I think the service depends on how busy they are, but I like the laid back atmosphere.

I've been here a few times with different types of people and there was always something for everyone. It's just a good value and so filling that everyone always comes away happy. If I didn't enjoy the food so much then I may be bothered with the fact that they are kind of slow, but just come here when you have some time and can kick back and relax. Then you'll be fine!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platano also viewed

 

Been to Platano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Platano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.