We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an oasis of calm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Brick Path Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Brick Path Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Brick Path Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1805 Marin Ave, Berkeley, CA 94707   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Berkeley B&B and Inns
Laguna Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“an oasis of calm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

we stayed in this lovely b and b while dealing with a family illness. i can't imagine a better place to stay under these circumstances and look forward to returning during happier times. the master suite we stayed in was recently completely refurbished/remodeled. it was light and beautiful and very calming. as others have previously reported, the breakfast is wonderful with many choices to suit a variety of diets and tastes. it was a great way to start the day. the b and b is in a great walking area. not only is the commercial street solano ave a block or so away, there are some amazing parks with huge climbable boulders that were used when indians settled in the area that give amazing views across the bay. and as others have also reported, wendy is a perfect host and just a lovely woman.

Room Tip: there are only 3 rooms. hard to imagine you could go wrong with any of them. if you are staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
31
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington or Cambridge
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed four nights at this wonderful B&B that is such a beautiful and quiet retreat from our busy days in the city and outskirts of SF. Wendy brought us scrumptious breakfasts each morning that we were able to eat in our room at our own table. There is a small kitchenette to make your coffee/tea, a small fridge for wine/water and leftovers, and a microwave. The bathroom was huge and perfect for two with loads of counter space and two sinks. It was cool when we stayed, but there are little outside areas to relax with your maps/books and meals if the weather is good. Wendy was so accommodating, helping us with directions and printing out maps. This is a really nice area too. We walked to an area with plenty of good restaurants and a short beautiful drive away is Chez Panisse and many other wonderful places to eat and shop. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Opps -- accidentally clicked swmming pool and there is none. Could not get the rating to clear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We so loved our stay at Brick path. It seems that everyone who has stayed there says the same. It is lovely, clean, comfortable. Wendy prepares a fabulous breakfast. It is the nicest B&B we've ever stayed in. This is the place to stay!

Room Tip: The Master Suite has a great bathroom but I am sure all the rooms must be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock , Hertfordshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wide and I stayed at Wendy's lovely B and B in the master suite room for 4 very comfortable and enjoyable nights.
The room was spacious, bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was huge, it was handy to have a mini kitchen.
It was in a fantastic location in North Berkeley on a leafy tree lined suburban street about a 10 minute walk from Solano ave which had a great selection of restaurants etc...
It was a handy base to explore SF and the surrounding neighbourhoods.

Wendy could not do enough for us and she was a wealth of knowledge,down to earth and a pleasure to talk to - the breakfast she provided each morning was yummy and no request was a problem.

Ii I ever come back to the SF area I know the perfect B and B.

Wes & Jane

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberkochen, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Brick path B&B in July '12 and experienced Wendy as a very friendly and helpful- simply: perfect host and the B&B itself really as a "second home". We stayed in the "master suite" with a lot of space - as well the living/sleeping room and the bath room - and a small kitchen. The garden invites to sit between flowers and simply relax - just in the crowdy bay area. I never would have expected to find such a beautiful, quiet place within 40 min BART from central SF. Wendy prepared excellent breakfasts which we took in the garden - a beautiful experience. If I ever come back to the SF area I definitively will chose Brick Path for accomodation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Brick Path is an extraordinarily lovely and well-run B&B and its excellent reviews are well-deserved. We stayed for two nights in the Fireplace Room and enjoyed every minute. We are a bit cranky and not so easy to please but Wendy's attention to detail at every turn had us smiling the whole time. The room is furnished in a really elegant manner and the caring and excellent taste make it clear that Wendy loves what she does. I was especially impressed with the little things: need a hook for your robe (cozy and thick, awaiting you)...it's there right where needed. Need a light over the wet bar and coffee counter...you got it! The bed and bedding are sumptuous and the breakfast was delicious, rolled into our room at the exact moment promised and eaten by the fireplace in beautiful comfy leather chairs. Wendy even saw to it that the fruit bowl had different fruit on the second day. And Wendy herself is just the right amount of warm and welcoming without being in the least intrusive. Thanks, Wendy...we'll be back!

Room Tip: It was August and we had the fireplace room...seemed unnecessary when we booked but we wound up usin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Wendy is the perfect hostess! The room was lovely and tastefully decorated, clean, comfortable and private. Breakfast was made to order, and served in our room each morning. Wendy gave us great advice for local restaurants, as well as tips on travel to San Fransisco. The location is perfect for walking to Solano Ave. and even to Chez Panisse. This was the best B&B of all those we stayed in on our month-long excursion along the CA coast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Brick Path Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brick Path Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1805 Marin Ave, Berkeley, CA 94707
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immaculate and welcoming, Berkeley Brick Path Bed and Breakfast is located in North Berkeley, just around the corner from Solano Avenue, one of Berkeley's best neighborhood shopping areas, and approximately two miles from UC Berkeley. The Brick Path offers three attractive suites - The Master Bedroom, The Fireplace Room, and The Cottage - and beautiful yards and gardens. All rooms have modern private baths, separate guest entrances, high-speed wireless Internet, and exceptionally comfortable queen-size beds. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brick Path Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.