We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Panisse

Chez Panisse
1517 Shattuck Ave, Berkeley, CA 94709-1516
510-548-5072
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chez Panisse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 598 restaurants in Berkeley
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cedar Street
Transit: Downtown Berkeley BART station 7 blocks from Chez Panisse. AC Transit bus connection or taxi at BART station AC Transit bus connection or taxi at BART station
California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Prices are reasonable for what you get. It's the place I'd choose when I want to have elegant dining with a friend, just as long as we don't have too much to talk about -- it's a bit noisy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    349
    100
    53
    31
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Culinary mecca deserves all its accolades”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Wildly inventive use of farm-fresh ingredients in a relaxed yet precise atmosphere. Reservations highly recommended

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have gone to both the main restaurant an the cafe many years ago, and what a wonderful experience to return and see that little has changed. Same simple but comfortable decor; warm greeting, and of course, fresh, excellently prepared food. This is not the place to go for fireworks - it's more about how to use high quality ingredients, how to eat healthy, and how to enjoy the bounty of the season. I was very pleased with the welcome and service - friendly and professional. The wine list is small but well selected. Our bill for 2 with 2 glasses of wine, 2 appetizers, 2 main courses, one dessert and one coffee came to about $135 - a very good deal given the high quality of the entire experience. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, AR
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This place is outstanding for foodies. Just a wonderful delicious little slice of yumminess. It's situated in a great part of Berkeley, we walked from several blocks away. The food is OUTSTANDING. Wonderful wonderful experience.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Monday 65-dollar menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I had a great meal there on last Monday. They serve prix fixe menu and the price starts from 65-dollars on Mondays, gradually goes up and hit $100 dollars on Friday and Saturday.

Service was good, the food was good, especially the panna cotta. The beef was a bit tough and uneven, however. Overall, we had a great meal there.

I'll be back to try their menu on other days of the week.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Panisse also viewed

 

Been to Chez Panisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Panisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.