We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different but still very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Panisse

Chez Panisse
1517 Shattuck Ave, Berkeley, CA 94709-1516
510-548-5072
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chez Panisse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 532 Restaurants in Berkeley
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Cedar Street
Transit: Downtown Berkeley BART station 7 blocks from Chez Panisse. AC Transit bus connection or taxi at BART station AC Transit bus connection or taxi at BART station
St Croix Virgin Islands
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Different but still very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

we had not eaten here for almost two years and felt fortunate to get lunch reservations for Saturday September 22 at 2:15. We had received 2 or 3 calls preceding our reservation to make sure that we, a party of 5, were intending to show up. we were on time but waited 20-30 minutes before a table opened. the greeter was apologetic and we did not mind.

the appetizer menu was much smaller than we had seen in our last several visits and were largely salads and a pizzetta. they were tasty but the portions were miniscule. Of the main courses, of which there were few, the rabbit was excellent, the Salmon, barely cooked at all, was perfect and the Halibut, while beautifully cooked, was uninteresting. Desserts were wonderful, the service was warm and expert and the help with wine selection was right on.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    119
    67
    35
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good...but not as great as my expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My husband and I had lunch in the upstairs cafe and were expecting to be blown away by the food. I thought it was good, but not nearly as amazing as most people suggest. The atmosphere was disappointing as well. The tables were very close together and the noise level was a bit high. I'm glad I went for the experience, but I'm not planning a return visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Loved the cafe, sad we didn't have time to try the restaurant too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Had an absolutely delicious meal at Chez Panisse Cafe. 3 courses & all were amazing. They were very helpful with choosing wine to match what we were eating.
Service, atmosphere & food were all fantastic

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“As Good as We Expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We'd been hearing about this restaurant for years, but it was never convenient to go over to Berkeley when we were in the Bay area until this trip. Our foodie children had just moved to Oakland from Brooklyn, so this was a good time for all of us to indulge ourselves. We opted for the upstairs cafe and were glad we did. The food was superb, service attentive, and the environment informal enough for our tastes. We now understand why this restaurant is the spiritual inspiration for a number of our favorite places back on the east coast. We'll definitely return again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Chez Panisse Café”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The café bistro is located one floor above the restaurant and is an excellent, more informal, alternative to the real deal. Service is good and food is excellent: nice, surprising combinations, not overly complicated and very well executed. Wine (and beer) list is great as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Panisse also viewed

 

Been to Chez Panisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Panisse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.