We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as a temporary solution or if you are staying just for a few days” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley YMCA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Berkeley YMCA to your Saves list
Berkeley YMCA
2001 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good as a temporary solution or if you are staying just for a few days”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I stayed at the Berkeley YMCA when I arrived in Berkeley as a temporary solution until I found a room to rent. It is an affordable place considering the high prices of housing in Berkeley. Moreover you can use the gym and pool facilities in the building (probably useful if you stay for some weeks). The rooms are private (not dorms), very simple but enough to rest and sleep with a table that you can use to write or use your computer. You can also use the kitchen and there's a computer room. The showers and restrooms are private but not in the room (there are several spread in the building).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    8
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I visited some friends in San Francisco and needed an affordable place to stay. I don't like the bay area because everything is so expensive. And to a german guy the amount of homeless and drug-addicted people is really shocking.
I did not want to pay 100 bucks per night, that' s why I chose the YMCA. The neighbourhood seems to be ok in the daylight, but when I returned at night, sometimes there were some young sketchy people lingering at the downtown bart station. Nothing happend to me and I guess the location is one of the safest in the bay area, but I felt sometimes uncomfortable.

The hotel itself is ok, the rooms are clean except the carpets. The shared bathrooms and showers are located in the hallway and were mostly clean. Only once I had to wait for a shower. I never used their pool or the gym. Many restaurants are located nearby, but all of them seem quite pricey. The hotel offers also a fully equipped kitchen, so you can cook yourself.
Sometimes it is hard to fall asleep in the night, because there are students who yell down the hallway at 1am and use the laundry in the middle of the night.

A ride by bart to downtown San Francisco takes about 20 minutes and is about $3.75 one way. My friends stayed in an upper class hotel in San Francisco and payed hundreds of dollars. When I once left them, next to the entrance one person was getting his next fix. So I think it is not worth spending much money for a hotel in the bay area.

If I have to return to the bay area I would stay at the YMCA again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The next best price I could find for a Berkeley Hotel was $100 more, so we went with the Y. It's too bad that sickness and time prevented us from making use of the great exercise facilities and pool because then the cost may really have been worth it. But, be prepared for mismatched furniture and bed coverings, bathrooms off the hallway, students, people in hard times, etc. The location is great for access to public transportation, downtown Berkeley, the campus, restaurants, etc. I'd been told the rooms were air conditioned, but ours was not and keeping the window open meant we could hear traffic and voices in the street. You get what you pay for, and what you get in Berkeley is expensive compared to the Midwest. The hotel manager was kind and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

close to bart, and everything important to me... frree day pass to the ymca..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I chose this hotel for its price and location to the BART. I was disappointed. The hallways are a maze and very hard to navigate. They charged my credit card three times instead of once. It was later resolved, but still a hassle. There were people living here longterm that were down on their luck. Bathrooms are shared and while there were no major problems here, they seemed to be always occupied, which was frustrating. My room was very basic w/ a single bed and desk. Room was incredibly hot and I had to open a window, which made me feel unsafe. Huge iron stain on the carpet and found a single hair in my bed and was grossed out. I checked out after one night b/c it wasn't worth saving the money. Overall, it will do if you are a real budget traveler who is used to staying in a hostel type place. But if you can afford it, I'd advise going elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland new zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed on a weekend in May 2011. The room was clean, airy, quiet (a weekend but a graduation one!) and not shabby as others noted earlier. There was only one of the old group of streetpersons in evidence. She was unobtrusive and quiet and seemed to have an arrangement to spend the night in a small common space. The only drawback was a lack of hot water in some of the showers, which the management seemed nonplussed about but the working one was fine and still not far from the bedrooms.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

The location - a short walk from the BART station and downtown Berkeley's restaurant row - was perfect. I had one of the private rooms with a twin bed which was shabby but clean and well secured - place had a very secure feel. Bed had a hard mattress which I prefer to one that is soft and caving in. The shared bathrooms were clean with ample hot water. The building does have some residents that look like street people but the only one encountered was helpful getting me up the elevator with his passkey. The rest of the guests mainly seem to be budget travelers -mostly Asian college kids but a few middle aged folk. Very friendly and helpful front desk which is manned all night.

Guests can get a free pass to the well-equipped YMCA fitness center and use of a full kitchen and several computers for internet. If you're in need of a clean, safe place to stay in Berkeley at rock bottom prices this would be the pick.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 807 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#7 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
0.4 mi away
Berkeley City Club
Berkeley City Club
#2 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#13 of 21 in Berkeley
3.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley YMCA

Address: 2001 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Berkeley YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Ymca Hotel Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley YMCA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.