We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable for Berkeley!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley YMCA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Berkeley YMCA to your Saves list
Berkeley YMCA
2001 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Affordable for Berkeley!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The next best price I could find for a Berkeley Hotel was $100 more, so we went with the Y. It's too bad that sickness and time prevented us from making use of the great exercise facilities and pool because then the cost may really have been worth it. But, be prepared for mismatched furniture and bed coverings, bathrooms off the hallway, students, people in hard times, etc. The location is great for access to public transportation, downtown Berkeley, the campus, restaurants, etc. I'd been told the rooms were air conditioned, but ours was not and keeping the window open meant we could hear traffic and voices in the street. You get what you pay for, and what you get in Berkeley is expensive compared to the Midwest. The hotel manager was kind and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
2
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

close to bart, and everything important to me... frree day pass to the ymca..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I chose this hotel for its price and location to the BART. I was disappointed. The hallways are a maze and very hard to navigate. They charged my credit card three times instead of once. It was later resolved, but still a hassle. There were people living here longterm that were down on their luck. Bathrooms are shared and while there were no major problems here, they seemed to be always occupied, which was frustrating. My room was very basic w/ a single bed and desk. Room was incredibly hot and I had to open a window, which made me feel unsafe. Huge iron stain on the carpet and found a single hair in my bed and was grossed out. I checked out after one night b/c it wasn't worth saving the money. Overall, it will do if you are a real budget traveler who is used to staying in a hostel type place. But if you can afford it, I'd advise going elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland new zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed on a weekend in May 2011. The room was clean, airy, quiet (a weekend but a graduation one!) and not shabby as others noted earlier. There was only one of the old group of streetpersons in evidence. She was unobtrusive and quiet and seemed to have an arrangement to spend the night in a small common space. The only drawback was a lack of hot water in some of the showers, which the management seemed nonplussed about but the working one was fine and still not far from the bedrooms.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

The location - a short walk from the BART station and downtown Berkeley's restaurant row - was perfect. I had one of the private rooms with a twin bed which was shabby but clean and well secured - place had a very secure feel. Bed had a hard mattress which I prefer to one that is soft and caving in. The shared bathrooms were clean with ample hot water. The building does have some residents that look like street people but the only one encountered was helpful getting me up the elevator with his passkey. The rest of the guests mainly seem to be budget travelers -mostly Asian college kids but a few middle aged folk. Very friendly and helpful front desk which is manned all night.

Guests can get a free pass to the well-equipped YMCA fitness center and use of a full kitchen and several computers for internet. If you're in need of a clean, safe place to stay in Berkeley at rock bottom prices this would be the pick.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

I needed a cheap option for a recent trip to Berkeley, and the YMCA turned out to be a perfect choice. It's spartan, but has reasonable amenities for hostel or dormitory type lodging. Just don't expect luxury or style, and you'll be fine.

Rooms are private, single or double. Individual, locking bathrooms (with hairdryers!) and showers are down the hall. There were about three of each on my floor, which seemed more than adequate, and they were cleaned regularly. Towels were provided in the room. The room also had a desk, mini-fridge and dresser/wardrobe. Furniture was worn, but serviceable. I couldn't get the wireless internet to work in the room, but there was a LAN connection, and I had a cable, so that worked fine. Alternatively, there were three internet computers in a common area off the dining room.

What I liked most about the Berkeley YMCA:
-Location: 1 block to BART and plenty of restaurant options nearby
-Free use of YMCA health club facilities (same bldg, separate entrance)
-Clean and spacious shared kitchen w/ coffee and hot water in the mornings

What I didn't like:
-Noise: Even though my room was near the end of a hallway, there was a whole lot of noise late at night (midnight - 3am). Groups of students travelling together seemed to be going in and out of the rooms, with doors slamming, and talking very loudly. No idea whether that's typical, but bring earplugs just in case.
-The mattress was not comfortable. At $55/night including tax, I dealt with it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blu858
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

If your objective is to save $ but not camp on the streets- this is a great option. Don't think holiday inn but nice flea bag and you'll be fine.
At times it felt like a homeless shelter as they did have at one times an assisted living program that they discontinued five years ago. Thing is- they can't kick anyone out. Rest assured all the trouble makers have long since been weeded out. Everyone still living there is completely harmless and even friendly/helpful.
The bathrooms/showers were hit or miss as far as cleanliness but just remind yourself- You are not paying $200 a night.

So those are the bad things. The good things:
Good strong coffee in the am.
Great location-Very convienient to BART, downtown berekley, shopping, restaurants, university.
I paid $45 a night!
free internet
Access to the Gym next door with a good indoor pool

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berkeley YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley YMCA

Address: 2001 Allston Way, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Berkeley YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Ymca Hotel Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley YMCA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.