We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Greek Theater” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greek Theater

Greek Theater
Off Gayley Road, Berkeley, CA 94704
510 642 9988
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 70 things to do in Berkeley
Attraction details
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Love the Greek Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Take a blanket, seat cushion, enjoy the people watching before the show. Great venue but can get a little frigid when the fog rolls in. Lovely on an October afternoon.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    12
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nothing Like It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

There's not a bad seat in the "house" when it comes to this rather small outdoor amphitheater, but pay for the reserved seating unless you pan to get there EARLY. Some parts of the grass seating have a tremendous slope to them and you'll find yourself fighting the downhill slide all night! Be sure to dress warmly, too .. that fog can be a killer!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Awe-inspiring atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Attended niece's graduation from the psychology program here. Exactly the way on would expect a high caliber to look: outside, intimate, greek classical backdrop, and easy to see and hear asthetics.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverbank, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Love it. My favorite concert venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have now seen Train and Green Day at this venue. It has been easy to get in and out of. Easy to hear and see. I have not had to stand in line to get food/drink since my guy does it for me, but it does not seem like he is gone forever. Regardless, sales are fairly near the sides of the stage so one could definitely hear and possible see while waiting. Assigned seating has people pretty tight. It is a bowl amphitheater made of cement. I would bring a pillow to sit on. I also prefer to sit a little higher rather than down in the pit. During general admission seating where people can choose wherever, I have seen many people take the lawn seats. Based on a map I saw there were more restrooms and food opportunities up there, but I cannot confirm. I can only guess that people with a choice still opted to be in the grass area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Awesome concert and venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Saw the Lumineers here. I've never been to the venue, and I really enjoyed it. General admission seating, so get there early for the best seats. We had really good seats, and the sound was fabulous.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Theater also viewed

 

Been to Greek Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greek Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.