We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meze in Berkeley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mediterranee

La Mediterranee
2936 College Ave, Berkeley, CA 94705-2204
510-540-7773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 598 restaurants in Berkeley
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Knoxville, TN
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great meze in Berkeley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This place was recommended at the B&B where I was staying. I had a fine meal of meze - dolmades, hummus, tabouli, kalamata olives, fresh warm pita bread- on a Saturday evening on the patio. They easily met my request that everything be vegan. I finished off the meal with an excellent cup of Turkish coffee. Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    20
    25
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very nice Mediterranean restaurant in Berkley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

My friend and I were promptly greeted by the hostess when we walked into the restaurant. We didn't have much time and we wanted to inquire about the hours. We decided we had enough time to try an appetizer and have a glass of wine so we opted seating at the bar. The staff was so accommodating when we explained we were to see a film at the cinema down the street shortly. We ordered our appetizer after a few suggestions, which were right on, I might add, and enjoyed our wine while we perused our surroundings. The app came out immediately. The ambiance is quite nice, low lighting, a little subdued but not so dark that you can't see one another. A good place for a date. They do have some outside seating, which also looked appealing. The SF location is a favorite spot of the friend I happened to be with, yet neither of us had been to this one. We would love to go back for lunch or dinner. It smelled absolutely divine!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious food and good service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The pomegranate chicken is super. All the food is delicious, down to the pita bread and hummus.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Good food at good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I love eating at La Meditarranee. Good portions, tasty food, good prices. They also have a small outdoor seating area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We eat at the sister restaurants in SF more often than the Berkeley branch. While the food is as good as in SF the atmosphere and crowds detract from the experience. Seems like it always needs a good cleaning.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mediterranee also viewed

 

Been to La Mediterranee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mediterranee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.