We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great bistro food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rouge

Cafe Rouge
1782 4th St, Berkeley, CA 94710-1711
510-525-1440
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 598 restaurants in Berkeley
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, French, Mediterranean, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Hearst St
Berkeley, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“great bistro food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

i always enjoy coming here. You can get well-prepared bistro food, French comfort food as well as a few more leaborate dishes or a great hamburger. The wait staff is professional and well informed about the menu. The dining room which includes a long bar where you can eat is charming and reminds me of Paris.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

67% Recommend
    17
    33
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“My second visit within 3 months, and don't mind visiting again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I have lunch there twice, and find the food is basic, not fancy and reasonable price. Must try is fresh oyster at 1 dollar a piece. If you want more variety, it is 2.5 dollar a piece. I also like the ribs, which is different from the traditional US ribs with huge portion and lots of sauce. The ribs there is perfectly done in the right portion, and the sauce is beautiful too. For dessert, recommend you to try the apple and pear crispy with vanilla ice cream. Don't expect great service, but it is OK. One more thing, this restaurant is attached to grocery shop so you can shop before or after your meal. If you just want to grap a sandwich, they can do it too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A French brasserie in Berkeley, quite enjoyable. Noce staff and freshly prepared food. I can still remember the "cassoulet" I had there 2 years ago - so great!
This June I was back there and the quality remained the same, a great burger with real fries and tasty beef plus a spoon ofvgarlic mayonaise. And for dessert homemade sherbet.
If you have important topics to dicuss over a business dinner this place could be a bit noisy.
Strongly recommended! And it does indeed have the same feeling as a French brasserie.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice place to eat but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I ordered the Chicken dish that was on the dinner menu and it was very good. This place can be pricey if you are on a budget and they do not accept AMEX so I had to use my debit card for meal instead! The service was good but the place is very loud.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always my back up plan.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I went looking for a special steak house in the east bay area. After my partner turned down my few choices I took him to the Cafe Rouge. Last time we went there was an disagreement about eh check between us. But I assured him that I would pay the check what ever he ordered. I made a reservation vie yelp and when we arrived we were seated promptly ahead of those who had no reservation (It's so nice to step to the head of the line) We ordered wine and when that was served we made our menu choices. He had a delicate bowl of corn chowder and delicious New York steak with fries, I had the white corn fritters and risotto later followed by a kale salad. All the food was well prepared and served promptly fresh or hot from the kitchen. After diner I wanted a absinth Asked if I wanted it neat I said no I wanted it with ice and water on the side with sugar. What I got was not the standard I am accustomed too. Other than that everything was delicious.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.