We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best pizza anywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cheeseboard Pizza

Cheeseboard Pizza
1504 Shattuck Ave, Berkeley, CA 94709-1517
(510) 549-3183
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 602 Restaurants in Berkeley
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch
Irvine, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“The best pizza anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

I had heard about this pizza and expected it to be good, but WOW! The pizza of the day (which I ordered) included mushrooms and arugula lightly tossed in a lemon dressing that we also had on our salad. The salad had walnuts and finely chopped asparagus. This was the best meal I had in Berkeley and that is saying something! I tried to duplicate the recipe when I returned home, but it just wasn't the same - (at all)! I will definitely return. When they say "Come for the culture, stay for the food", they must have Cheeseboard in mind.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    63
    14
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, Virginia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Yup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Big line but it goes fast. Nice pizza and a salad. nice music. It all works. I did not see any options on the pizza, I think everyone gets the pizza of the day but it was good. It is a great place to sit and watch people, discuss poetry and eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious, seasonal pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This place is all about the pizza. I have been here twice and both times the line has been insanely long. It does move quickly however. Plan to take out because getting a seat might be difficult. The great thing about the pizza is that the ingredients are seasonal and high quality. They also post their weekly menu online so you can pick your day to go. They only serve one type of pizza each day. That is totally okay because it is delicious. Please try this place.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Damn the arteries, full taste buds ahead”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

What is not to like about this place? The cheese, and pizza, are incredible. The cheese rolls are one of my favorites foods in the whole wide world. They will make you dance the conga in your pjs. High praise indeed. Their cookies....Hello? The shortbread is slammin', and the ginger cookies are just plain, damn sensational.....and I don't like ginger cookies. Bottom line: Go. You'll gain 5 lbs, but some things are worth it. Damn the arteries, full taste buds ahead

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Pizza. Period. No Arguement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Having attended UC Berkeley, Cheeseboard served as a staple of my college diet. This is not your average corporate pizza. Cheeseboard is a family-friendly, organic, coop operated and owned pizzeria. I have traveled all over the world, and this is still the best pizza I have ever had. The best part of coming home to the Bay is Cheeseboard.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheeseboard Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Cheeseboard Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cheeseboard Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.