We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am unhappy to stay at that motel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Knights Inn Berkeley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Knights Inn Berkeley to your Saves list
Knights Inn Berkeley
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   1512 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I am unhappy to stay at that motel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

First, they charged me $25 extra for my 15 years old child. They said to me, " this is America, only child under 12 is free." I asked to show me any
written documents, they showed me a paper that wasn't in English.

Second, the room is very small, I ordered 2 Queen size beds, but one was not a queen size and one side was leaning against the wall.

Last, the motel is on a busy and noisy street, we could hear truck pass by all night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    5
    7
    11
See reviews for
12
4
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Delightful Motel and management. Completely unique interior design with special touches: Hand-painted striped wall, beautiful draperies and bedspreads. Excellent granite shower and sink. toilet is in a crazy position. ''Lotions, shampoos and toilet paper is of excellent quality.suitable for five star hotel.

Management was delightful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This is an older motel in which the rooms have obviously been renovated very recently. My room was small, but tastefully decorated, comfortable and sparkling clean. There's plenty of parking and the location is perfect for visitors to both Berkeley and San Francisco. It's just a block and a half to BART and very accessible to Shattuck Ave. (downtown), Telegraph and the University. Staff was helpful. I'll certainly stay at the Capri again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here on my road trip. I thought the room was neat and clean. The free Wi-Fi was a bonus, worked perfectly!!! Staff were friendly too. I paid $95 and loved the room. I usually look at the room before i purchase and I did this with the other hotels on University Ave and this was the cleanest and nice by far. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Rooms in corner are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

This is your basic independently owned motor court type property. The furniture is very basic, but in decent condition, and the lighting is good. The plumbing works, the shower stall is large and newish, the towels are plush. The windows open. The purple and green motif is more stylish than average. The wireless works well, the fellow behind the counter is friendly. It's walking distance to BART, bus lines, the UCB campus, and many restaurants and shops, both high and low end. I'm a runner and quickly found my way to quiet residential streets; it's also a short drive to the Marina and Cesar Chavez Park. The refrigerator and microwave (plus coffeemaker) are a nice touch. If you don't expect charm and seek a decent value and family owned property but don't want to ask yourself, "Has it really come to this?", stay here.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor towards the back.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
266 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

For those of you who read my reviews, SLAM is the acronym for Stop Loud Annoying Noises and usually applies to hotels where the bedroom doors SLAM closed rather than with a gentle ‘click’.
This is a particular bête noir with me because I often travel across large time zones changes, so there is nothing worse than being shaken from your sleep at 5h00 in the morning by an early departure, thus ruining the very little sleep that you have managed to scavenge from the night.
In the case of this stay, the predictable 5h00 departure did not matter, because I had already been awake from 3h30 but noisy it was.
Being awake at 3h30 in the morning, gave me lots of time to tune into the hotels night noises, with late night or was it perhaps early morning baths being run, television noises and now at 6h00 showers firing away all around.
What gets Americans to rise so early on a Sunday morning?
The room itself was motel standard, clean but the décor was dated.
Importantly a comfortable double bed and adequate lighting.
The small bathroom sported a small, non functioning Jacuzzi which was 50% of the space! Perhaps the source of noctural noises in other rooms? An OK shower.
Free internet
Fair value, but too far out of Berkley downtown to be useful, but OK for a transit stop as was my situation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Stayed there for 3 nights. Clean room. Liked the washroom and shower. Comfortable bed. Quiet area. Nice neighbourhood. Nobody below or above, depending if you have a room at ground level or top level. Found owner very accomodating due to a booking mistake. I would go back there.

Room Tip: Top floor at back of lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#6 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 264 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 826 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#18 of 21 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#13 of 21 in Berkeley
3.0 of 5 stars 238 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Berkeley

Address: 1512 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Berkeley 1.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Knights Inn Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Capri Hotel Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Knights Inn Berkeley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.