We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old building with lots of street noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nash Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nash Hotel
Save
You added Nash Hotel to your Saves list
2045 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Old building with lots of street noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

The hotel is in an older building along a main street near the Berkeley campus. The hotel staff was friendly during check in and gave us a free bottle of water. The room and the furniture seemed pretty old and the door knob was broken on my room door (I could only lock the bolt lock). The bathrooms seemed like they had been remodeled more recently and we much nicer than the rest of the room. My biggest complaint is the lack of A / C and the fact that I had to keep the window open for airflow in the room. Since I was on the second floor overlooking the street that let in a lot of noise that woke me up several times. All in all this is an average hotel that it OK to stay in if you're more price conscience. Three stars.

Room Tip: I would advise against a room on the front of the building because you get lots of noise from the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    7
    3
    22
See reviews for
7
7
10
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cascais, Portugal
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Very clean, without luxury but with good and spacious rooms, located near the University and with easy access to everything: cafes, restaurants, super markets, shopping areas etc. Rooms have a microwave, fridge and electric kettle. The manager, Yvonne, is friendly and practical, giving useful information. For those going to Berkeley in short-term is a good solution. I really liked it.

Room Tip: Rooms with private bathroom and facing the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Not a hotel six, to be sure. Kind of interesting for all that. I rode the BART into the downtown Berkeley station and walked a little less than three blocks to the hotel. Managed to walk right by the entrance the first time but its pretty obvious once you realize where it is. After hours you ring a bell to get the door open and walk upstairs to the registration desk. Nice folks running the place, room (with a private bath) was a good size, bed was firm, good water pressure. Lots of restaurants in easy walking distance from the hotel. Pretty basic place but, clean, not plastic and with just a little bit of style to it.

Room Tip: get one with a separate bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idyllwild, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

This place is GREAT! Especially considering the location and the price! ... After booking two rooms at the hotel for the weekend - bringing the family to move my daughter into Berkeley - I was so scared near to death by the reviews (they paint the hotel as something out of a Wes Craven movie) that I almost cancelled. Turns out..... We LOVED the location and enjoyed the fresh carpeting, paint and appliances. The staff was helpful and the bathrooms were clean. The last review before this was last year... prior to a huge re-model. We had zero complaints or issues. Basic, yes... boutique not quite... But great little hotel and perfectly adequate, safe clean and enjoyable. Give 'em a chance... I bet you, too will be glad you did! (We are!)

Room Tip: Definitely go for the private bath... or prepare to make new friends!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I would go back. I had a 2 bed room w/ a bathroom - it worked just fine for the night - was walking distance from both the Greeks and the Freight and Salvage - Seemed clean, parking worked fine with the E Pass - Was funky for sure, not where I would want to vacation - but I was there to sleep and avoid a DUI or expensive taxi's - it more than served its purpose

Room Tip: Get a room with a Bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Bugs, cockroaches, rats!! This place is a SLUM! Weirdo residents wander the halls and yell at you for no reason. Some of them look like they're right off the street. Unfriendly, unhelpful staff. Guy at the front desk didn't even make eye contact during check-in and got very defensive when i asked for another room (bugs, rat, etc) and again when I complained that the wifi wasn't working. Very hostile environment. Definitely not a safe place for kids. And no parking. There are plenty of other motels on the same street, at comparable prices. Staying at this place might ruin your vacation!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLLEGEVILLE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Nash Hotel in Berkeley this past weekend. My initial impression was less than enthusiastic, although I was pleasantly surprised at the comfort of my room. I had a private bathroom (I would recommend that over shared bathroom) and although the appearance of the spaces was a bit shoddy, it was a good experience overall.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nash Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nash Hotel

Address: 2045 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nash Hotel, nestled in the heart of Berkeley, California, offers the charms and comforts you expect while away from home at a price that you can be happy about.Our mission is to pass down great value to our customers while providing quality accommodations with customer satisfaction being our number one priority. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, the Nash Hotel is here to help you make the most of your trip by giving you a pleasant and convenient home while you’re in town. Located within walking distance of restaurants, theaters, shopping, public transportation, etc. (just about anything!), this location surely cannot be beat. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nash Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.