We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very basic hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nash Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nash Hotel
Save
You added Nash Hotel to your Saves list
2045 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
COLLEGEVILLE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A very basic hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Nash Hotel in Berkeley this past weekend. My initial impression was less than enthusiastic, although I was pleasantly surprised at the comfort of my room. I had a private bathroom (I would recommend that over shared bathroom) and although the appearance of the spaces was a bit shoddy, it was a good experience overall.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    7
    3
    22
See reviews for
7
7
10
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed on the third floor. The shared bathrooms are locked- and I was given a key that didn't work. Once I finally got this remedied, I discovered that the toilet closest to me would not flush at all. However people kept using it and it was constantly overflowing with feces. The bathroom down the hall was locked from the inside. The toilet on the second floor would flush, but had feces smeared all over the seat and the outside of the bowl. When I complained to the front desk, I was told that they cleaned the bathrooms once per day - otherwise people need "to take their own responsibility." I pointed out that the toiket hadn't flushed in 3 days and he just shrugged his shoulders. I am completely disgusted with this place - DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The hotel is right next to the Downtown Berkeley BART stop, near many bus stops and is extremely affordable. This is not the place to stay if you want a 5-star hotel with many amenities. The owners were extremely nice. I liked that they had a small fridge and a microwave available in your room. The room was clean and a good size. There was no AC, but the room stayed cool if we left the windows open. We bought a parking permit to park in the E zone street parking and easily found parking near the hotel (though we stayed during the summer when Cal is not in session). The only issue we had was connecting to the internet, which was very frustrating. We tried connecting both via Wi-Fi and the direct cable connection but the connection was extremely unreliable. I travel a lot for my job and have taken my laptop to various hotels in the past month (both prior and since my stay at the Nash Hotel) and have never before had an issue connecting to the hotel's internet, so it was not my lap top. Overall, I would stay here again if I was traveling to the Berkeley area for fun.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Only reason i stayed there was because of price. I would suggest paying few extra bucks but not starting here
Rooms are in poor condition. You don'tfeel secure staying there. No house keeping. Improper management. Hallway stinks. And the list goes on.......

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The location of Nash Hotel is great because it is near UC Berkeley so I can visit my friends who attends there. The people are great. The rooms are inexpensive, and clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guangzhou
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I do not drive but I need to be able to go from location to location. Yes, this hotel is in walking distance to the U. C. Campus and all downtown attractions. Internet access is free and reliable to me. I can choose secured sites or regular sites provided by the hotel. BART is just around the conner. I can take BART from the Airport to the hotel. The hotel room is clean with some history for just $ 79.00. I recommend this one if you do not drive.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012 via mobile

I was in town for a day and needed somewhere today. I stumbled across this hotel and was pleasantly surprised. Overall I got the sleep I needed and the price was good. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nash Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nash Hotel

Address: 2045 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nash Hotel, nestled in the heart of Berkeley, California, offers the charms and comforts you expect while away from home at a price that you can be happy about.Our mission is to pass down great value to our customers while providing quality accommodations with customer satisfaction being our number one priority. Whether you are traveling for business or leisure, the Nash Hotel is here to help you make the most of your trip by giving you a pleasant and convenient home while you’re in town. Located within walking distance of restaurants, theaters, shopping, public transportation, etc. (just about anything!), this location surely cannot be beat. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nash Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.