We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Central Italian... Molise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luca Cucina Italiana

Luca Cucina Italiana
2057 San Pablo Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702
(510) 649-9718
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 598 restaurants in Berkeley
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“South Central Italian... Molise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Self order... No wait
Pleasant atmosphere
Bruschetta....
Eggplant parmigiana
Well prepared
Good value
We shall return!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    8
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
1 review
“My kind of place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

My kind of place. Excellent food at affordable prices. I am never disappointed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine, reasonably priced.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Luca serves excellent, authentic Italian food with great fresh ingredients. The food is delicious and the menu is rich and balanced. Prices are quite reasonable, and a good value for money.

They keep somewhat unusual hours, so you should phone ahead to make sure they're open.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Reyes Station
1 review
“This restaurant should try harder”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I like the room, the staff, the affordability. and am really rooting for this restaurant, but I would have been ashamed to serve the meal I had Sunday evening. The beet salad consisted of a pile of nice fresh arugula almost too big for the plate, topped with tiny amounts of feta cheese, beets, and walnuts. I'm sure I could have gotten more toppings, but the dressing was so mediocre that he salad was hopeless. Replace the crummy vinegar with a good balsamic or add some pomegranate concentrate, please!
The minestrone soup was thin and tasteless.
All in all, it seemed that the kitchen just didn't taste its own food.
I won't be back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good food simply prepared”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I have eaten there about 10 times. I had sweetbreads in cream sauce that were tender and delicious. I Have tried most of the menu and each dish is a wonderful taste of italian cuisine.
I really like the freshly stuffed conoli. The prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luca Cucina Italiana also viewed

 

Been to Luca Cucina Italiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luca Cucina Italiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.