We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night Disapointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Berkeley

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Berkeley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Berkeley
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1619 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    77
    38
    26
    20
See reviews for
65
39
48
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lamerdingen, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Although by style a budget hotel, the price range reflects the location within walking distance to BART-station (approx. 30 Minutes to Downtown San Francisco). Rooms ok, greeting by manager could be much more friendly. Renovated bath room.

Room Tip: Upper floor is always quieter but you have to carry your luggage upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiny1980, General Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for enjoying your stay with us and please come back soon. Hope you make it back soon I am happy you enjoyed the internet and the hot breakfast. Hope all is well and make sure to always stay with us any Super 8 in the world. Thanks

with much respect

management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, Ca
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had made advanced reservation for a room with two double beds for Sat, Sun & Mon. Total was suposed to be $355.04. We ended up having friends com to meet us there from 3 hrs. away and wanted a room so we called on fri. and reserved them a room for sat night also. The rate was raised to $160. We stopped by on Sat morning to check in and our plans had changed and we didn't need the room for Sun and Mon. The original rate was supposed to be around $120 for Sat and around $105 for Sun and Mon.
The manager was very rude with all of his comments or responses to questions as to why he raised our rate then to $160.
i will not give this place my business again. very poor customer service.
Loren Scott

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiny1980, Owner at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
I am happy you enjoyed your stay, but I am sorry you felt it was over priced! Supply and Demand it was a foot ball weekend sorry. YOu cant complain about the price if you enjoyed your stay. However please come back again we will give you 20% off.

with much respect,

management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed there in the month of October with my family. Our room was close by road with 3 beds on it. Amazingly, there was room inside room and it was huge. It has microwave, coffee in the room and nice decorated bathroom. When we arrived at motel, the manager Tony and front desk guy was amazingly helpful. They described the service we get there on our stay. Free internet, awesome continental breakfast with varieties of coffees. Once we had TV blacked out in our room but instantly we got it fixed by the manager. We got our rooms cleaned everyday by service maids, they were amazingly helpful as well. Motel location was great: close by bart, bus station, downtown, and UC Berkeley where our son is studying there right now. I recommend everybody to enjoy the stay in this motel. I'm going back for sure next time. Love it.

Room Tip: we stayed in the room close by road with 3 bed. It was quite and super awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiny1980, General Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for being a loyal super 8 member. Please come back again there fore we can give you great service. I am happy you enjoyed the great newly renovated rooms and I am happy you enjoyed the area as well. come back soon have a super day!

with much respect,

mangement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Berkeley

Address: 1619 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Berkeley 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Berkeley Hotel Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Berkeley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.