We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 2 Story Motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Berkeley

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Berkeley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Super 8 Berkeley
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1619 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
Write a Review

208 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    73
    31
    20
    16
See reviews for
55
36
44
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, Ca
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We had made advanced reservation for a room with two double beds for Sat, Sun & Mon. Total was suposed to be $355.04. We ended up having friends com to meet us there from 3 hrs. away and wanted a room so we called on fri. and reserved them a room for sat night also. The rate was raised to $160. We stopped by on Sat morning to check in and our plans had changed and we didn't need the room for Sun and Mon. The original rate was supposed to be around $120 for Sat and around $105 for Sun and Mon.
The manager was very rude with all of his comments or responses to questions as to why he raised our rate then to $160.
i will not give this place my business again. very poor customer service.
Loren Scott

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiny1980, Owner at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
I am happy you enjoyed your stay, but I am sorry you felt it was over priced! Supply and Demand it was a foot ball weekend sorry. YOu cant complain about the price if you enjoyed your stay. However please come back again we will give you 20% off.

with much respect,

management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed there in the month of October with my family. Our room was close by road with 3 beds on it. Amazingly, there was room inside room and it was huge. It has microwave, coffee in the room and nice decorated bathroom. When we arrived at motel, the manager Tony and front desk guy was amazingly helpful. They described the service we get there on our stay. Free internet, awesome continental breakfast with varieties of coffees. Once we had TV blacked out in our room but instantly we got it fixed by the manager. We got our rooms cleaned everyday by service maids, they were amazingly helpful as well. Motel location was great: close by bart, bus station, downtown, and UC Berkeley where our son is studying there right now. I recommend everybody to enjoy the stay in this motel. I'm going back for sure next time. Love it.

Room Tip: we stayed in the room close by road with 3 bed. It was quite and super awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiny1980, General Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you so much for being a loyal super 8 member. Please come back again there fore we can give you great service. I am happy you enjoyed the great newly renovated rooms and I am happy you enjoyed the area as well. come back soon have a super day!

with much respect,

mangement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

A pretty good motel, in walking distance from Shattuck Ave. in Berkeley. Room was quite clean, and had everything I needed. Not bad at all for 99 USD per night.

Sleep quality was OK, but was a bit unlucky with noisy neighbors in the room next door who partied through most of Saturday night. Kept me awake, but didn't bother to let the front desk know.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiny1980, Owner at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Im happy you enjoyed you stay on our heavenly beds. please come back soon and I am happy that everything was walking distance for you. the campus, bart, bus, food everything is 5 mintues walking and im happy everything worked out for you. have a bless day

with much respect,

management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We found this hotel quite adequate for our visit to the Berkeley area. We did not experience the noise as mentioned in previous reviews and we were on the first floor. The bed was extremely comfortable for our 3 night stay and the clean bathroom was nicely updated with a great shower. The breakfast was certainly not the best--toast, waffles, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, sweet roll, coffee and juice--pretty standard but at least a free breakfast. We went into San Francisco using the BART which was close to the hotel, and there are also a variety of restaurants within walking distance. For the price, this was a very acceptable hotel for the San Francisco area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiny1980, General Manager at Super 8 Berkeley, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
THank you for staying with us and and i am happy you found a gem in berkeley. please come back soon and enjoy our high speed internet and our hot breakfast again soon. have a super duper day.

with much respect

management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Berkeley

Also Known As:
Super 8 Berkeley Hotel
Super 8 Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Address: 1619 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94703
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Berkeley 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Berkeley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.