We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1461 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702 (Formerly Berkeley Travel Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Adelaide, South Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We booked here because my wife was attending a workshop at Berkeley. This placed offered all we needed: comfortable bed, refrigerator, free wifi, a microwave for heating tea water, a small but adequate bathroom, and hanging space for clothes. It was very well priced and was exceptionally clean. It was a 30 minute walk to downtown Berkeley, but a bus also drove down the road. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, and their small office was the inclusive breakfast area, where 3 tables were set up, and juice, yoghurt, pre-packed cereals, toast, pastries, coffee and tea were provided. All utensils were disposable to keep costs low, but the breakfast was more than adequate. Even though the motel faced the main street, we did not hear a thing. It more than suited our purpose.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiran T, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We are happy to hear that you found the Berkeley Rodeway Inn "very well priced", your bed comfortable, our complimentary breakfast "more than adequate", and the front desk staff "very friendly and helpful." Thank you for the wonderful review and for staying with us while in Berkeley. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    102
    45
    7
    7
See reviews for
56
48
43
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a good value motel in a very pricey San Francisco area.
- 10 minute distance on foot from North Berkeley BART station.
- about 20-30 minutes to downtown Berkeley if you walk.
- hygienic supplies were better than what may be expected at a rodeway inn.
- wifi was okay.
- breakfast was minimal, no hot food other than a toaster.
- asked for a razor and was turned away.
- i did not hear much street noise in the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiran T, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We are happy to hear you found the Berkeley Rodeway Inn a "good value", the toiletries "better than expected" and did not hear much street noise. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Bay Area in general is pricey for hotels, and Berkeley is no exception. We were visiting family in immediately adjacent Oakland for a 3-day weekend at the end of January 2013. My searches of affordable lodging was pretty bleak -- beware the extra charges for parking at most places, including valet-only parking at some. I was pleased to find Rodeway conveniently close and with free parking. Some of the reviews were dodgey, so we had some reservations prior to arriving. We needen't have worried. Although an old facility, it is very well maintained, allegedly remodeled about 5 years ago. It's a traditional 50's motel, one story, with all rooms arranged in a square "U" facing the parking courtyard. The parking spaces were generously sized, so no fears of door dings. The rooms use keycard access and all have a window that faces the courtyard. The window is screened and can be opened if you wish. A combo through-the-wall heater/AC unit resides below the window. Ours was an effective heater and reasonably quiet. Didn't try the AC as the temps were in the 50's. We had 3 adults in our party so we got a room with two beds. The rooms are adequate, but small, so the beds were doubles, not queens. The mattress was adequate, but nothing to write home about. I have to say, the amenities were better than many higher-end facilities we have stayed in, including the Hyatt Regency in S.F. For example, the 32" flat-screen actually was hooked up to a high-definition cable feed. The Hyatt offered only an analog feed, which put a lousy stretched picture on view. Rodeway's also offered five HBO channels in addition to a full lineup of local and cable programs. The WIFi is free and worked. No blazing speed, but certainly adequate to check emails or Google up a map or two. In addition to the 2 beds, there was a stuffed chair to sit in, and a good-sized desk. The toilet and tub are in a separate room, with the sink outside it in an anteroom. This space is shared by a good-sized refrigerator which is topped by a microwave. Lighting in the room was exceptionally good, with twin lights by the beds, another on the wall, another on the desk. Hot water was almost instantaneous and never flagged. However, the water pressure at the shower head was pretty meager. No jolting spray here, more like a soft rain shower. Still, it did the job. There's the usual assortment of soaps, shampoos, and conditioners. Either we had quiet neighbors or the walls are well-insulated, as things were quiet all night. The room was spotlessly clean. I tried to find some fault in the bathroom, as that is often dicey in budget accommodations, but couldn't find anything to criticize. They are doing a fine job in this regard. Complementary breakfast is offered each morning in the office. There are only 3 small 2-person tables, so you have to eat in shifts, standing up, or back in your room. That said, this didn't seem to be a problem for the guests. They offer five varieties of cold cereals, orange and cranberry juices, bread and Thomas Bros. english muffins for toasting, cellophane-wrapped pastries, waffles (frozen) in the fridge, and regular/decaf coffee. No fruits. We took advantage of this two mornings, and were quite pleased. We had a lively discussion with some other guests, who were multiple-repeat visitors and voiced the opinion that this was the best deal around. We stayed Fri-Sat-Sun, and paid, with taxes, $291 for the three nights. That's about half the price of what we found elsewhere when we were looking online. Given the great location and the ease of parking, we highly recommend the Rodeway Inn. Just don't expect anything fancy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiran T, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
It is a pleasure to hear you found the Berkeley Rodeway Inn amenities "better than higher-end" hotels, quite, great location, your room "spotlessly" clean and enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. Thank you for the wonderful review and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I was very satisfied with this Rodeway Inn and I'm picky when comes to where I stay. Good price, room had minor wear & tear, but clean, no funny smells, good wi-fi, liked that property was off street a bit, parking is in middle, rooms surround parking lot. Property is well maintained. Guy checking us in was nice and helpful. Area was nice, lots of different types of eateries and coffee shops, easy access to freeways to get into SF. Some local restaurants have been on Diner-Drive Ins-Dives, check out Rudys Cant Fail cafe in Emmeryville great food! BART is easy to use and close by.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
It is great to hear you were "very satisfied" with the Berkeley Rodeway Inn. Thank you for letting us know your room was clean, had good Wi-Fi, and the area "nice". We will be sure to pass your nice comment about the person that checked you in on to the front desk manager. Thank you for staying with us while visiting Berkeley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This motel is clean and the service is wonderful. Some of the furniture is older, and some in need of repair, but the staff is terrific and will help with any problem you have. There are steps involved to get the the tier of rooms, but they have installed a small wheel-chair elevator to solve any mobility problems. The free breakfast is cold cereal, health bars and coffee. All rooms face a center court, which, although it is the parking lot, is quite lovely. There is a small area with picnic tables and palm plantings with a fountain in the center of the lot. Flowers are in planters attached to the white-wood rails in front of the rooms. They plant roses, hibiscus and petunias. There are also palm plantings at various places as well as two palm and fountain area on either side of the entrance. Additionally, there is a terrific Thai restaurant right next door which delivers to the rooms. We have stayed here multiple times and always enjoyed the experience. The price is also right!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are happy to hear you found the Berkeley Rodeway Inn "clean", the service "wonderful", and our grounds "lovely". Thank you for staying with us again, and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

For the price, this place is a pretty strong contender - the rooms are very clean and neat, including the bathroom. Everything was in working order and appeared well-tended. One of the light bulbs was out and management fixed it quickly while I was out. There are a couple of downsides, as is to be expected for a $70 motel room. The heater clicks on and off constantly when it's on, which is a bit annoying/disruptive. The bed is a bit hard and the pillows are terrible, which again, I expect at this price point - I actually travel with a small one of my own. The Internet worked great in the afternoon when I arrived but terrible later at night - I don't know if that was just a one-time problem or if it was because everyone else was home too and it was just too much traffic.

The only thing that I would really warn about - and which is easy to work around if you know - is that the outlets in the rooms only have two prongs! Since almost all computers these days have plugs with three prongs, this is a bit of a problem - especially when traveling you want to be able to plug in at night! The front desk said they used to have an adaptor but could not find it when I called. So bring your own if you want to charge your laptop over night!

In sum, great value for the money and absolutely clean, neat, and safe, but if you need work on a computer and use the internet while at the hotel, come prepared for some challenges!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We appreciate you letting us know that the Berkeley Rodeway Inn was clean, neat and safe. Your concerns in regards to the outlets and internet have been forwarded to upper management. Thank you for staying with us while in Berkeley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Rodeway Inn is located on University Ave, about one mile west of UCB and one mile east of I-80. It is also 3 blocks south of the North Berkeley BART station, although one should be cautious and vigilant walking about this neighborhood at night. The motel is a late 1950's California-style 44-room single story urban motel which has had renovations six years ago. Rooms are small and have small refridgerators and microwaves, but no coffee makers. For multi-day stays, management is stingy with toiletry amenities. The layout of this establishment insulates if from street noises. A complementary limited continental breakfast is available, but the breakfast area has just three small tables and six chairs. A banner at the front proclaims that this property is a "2012 Gold Award" winner, but it isn't obvious what criteria was used to achieve this distinction. Significant AAA and AARP discounts are available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We are sorry to hear that you found management "stingy with toiletry amenities" for multi- day stays, and do wish you had let the front desk know so the problem could have been addressed. Your comments will be passed on to upper management. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and for staying at the Berkeley Rodeway Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1461 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702 (Formerly Berkeley Travel Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Berkeley
Rodeway Inn Berkeley
Berkeley Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.