We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rodeway Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1461 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702 (Formerly Berkeley Travel Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Rodeway Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We've stayed at this Inn several times in the past four years, and each time I am pleased with the well tended flowers and plantings in the parking area, but the rooms could use a little updating again. It is clean and tidy, but dated in the furnishings and bedding. The location is excellent for negotiating walks to the BART, UC-Berkeley, the Bay, etc. Nice people run the place, and patrons are considerate and quiet at night. THere's a great restaurant right down the block as an extra treat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for staying with us again. We are pleased to hear that you found the Berkeley Rodeway Inn to be in an "excellent location" as well as your room "clean and tidy". We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    109
    50
    11
    7
See reviews for
62
52
44
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel is a good place to stay - inexpensive, quiet, conveniently located. The rooms, although small, are comfortable and the bathrooms have been recently renovated. Don't care too much for the breakfast - limited, but there are plenty of restaurants nearby. The rooms are clean (I actually had 2 rooms for 2 different nights - a queen bed and a king bed).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We are happy to hear you found the Berkeley Rodeway Inn quiet and conveniently located. Thank you for letting us know your rooms were clean and comfortable. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We needed a clean room on University Avenue (Berkeley) with ample parking, easy check in, and that's what we got. We were able to check in early at 11:00 AM which helped since our flight arrived at SFO at 7:30 AM. The front desk clerk was efficient and friendly. The hotel provided us with a map of the Berkeley area which was useful for our son who was just starting grad school. They also provided us with a complimentary toothbrush which was a bonus because we were short one.

Although the hotel's sign indicated that the hotel had been completely renovated in 2007, the room was showing a few signs of slight wear and tear which is to be expected; however the overall condition was very good including the bathroom. Maid service was excellent and the complimentary continental breakfast was just ok for a fast danish or coffee to go.

Now the challenges...

1) Shower was extremely, extremely low flow. Seriously.
2) Rooms are raised up on a wooden floor and the walls are thin so you feel and hear your fellow guests when they pass by your room.
3) Rooms are smaller than the average hotel room so moving about can be an issue.

If you are looking for a no frills, reasonably priced, relatively quiet, and clean place to stay in Berkeley I would recommend this hotel. You can park your car right outside your room for easy load and unload, and the rooms are set back from University Avenue which is nice. Don't expect a 4 diamond experience and you'll be very satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
It is a pleasure to hear that the desk clerk was efficient and friendly, the condition of your room very good, and that you found the Berkeley Rodeway Inn reasonably priced during your stay with us. Thank you for writing a review and we hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I was looking for a reasonable place to stay while visiting San Francisco and this is definitely the place! I was looking at the reviews and this one stood out from the rest simply because the manager of this hotel responds to the posts here and tries to resolve any concerns which I thought was quite noble.

So I booked a three night stay here and everything was outstanding! The room was small but perfect for me as I was traveling on my own so didn't need plenty of space. The room was clean and included a microwave and coffee maker. The service was excellent and so was the buffet breakfast which included cereal, bread/toast, juice, coffee, pastries and even had french toast and waffles with syrup. I filled up every morning. It is a short walk (<15 mins) to the BART which makes getting to San Fran (and to/from the airport) really convenient.

There are also several restaurants conveniently close and are easily walkable. It is also a short walk to Berkeley campus which offers a nice tourist walk. There is a great little cafe just off campus (Bancroft Way and College Ave) called Caffe Strada which is a great place to sit and enjoy a home brew coffee on the patio and people watch.

Breakfast is served from 6:30 until 10:00 a.m. and best to get to the lobby early where it is served due to the limited seating. You can also bring back food to your room which several people did.

I found the area safe and clean but I am a guy who is 6'2". I would come back late at night and did not see anything suspicious.

Room Tip: I was given #142 which was clean and quiet being in the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We are happy to hear you found the Berkeley Rodeway Inn a reasonable place to stay while visiting San Francisco. Thank you for letting us know that our service and buffet breakfast was excellent and the area safe and clean during your 3 night stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write the wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We were visiting UC-Berkeley and this was a close place. My main criteria are clean rooms with a shower (also clean). And this was. And it was close to the University (about a 5 minute drive). And I should add it is only 3 blocks from the BART (public transportation). It is a motel, but not that loud. The rooms are on the smaller side, bathroom very small. Breakfast was lacking: a few pastries, frozen waffles and individual cereal. And seating for only 6 people. AND when I left a wake up call, the first morning the phone rang 1 1/2 hour early, and then again 1 1/4hour early, then 1 hour early. I then called the front desk and they said they had the time at 1 hour earlier than I had said. The next morning, the phone rang 1/4 hour early, then almost on time. When I asked why it kept ringing, the response I received was that they just programmed the machine and had no idea why it would keep calling. Next time I way would stay farther away and/or pay more (this cost as much as nicer places farther away)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
We are happy you found your room clean and that you found the Berkeley Rodeway Inn close to the University and BART. We are sorry about the problem with your wake up call and are looking into the issue. Thank you for your honest review and for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed here for about a week for a wedding. Room clean, bed comfortable, adequate lighting, TV excellent quality, breakfast satisfactory and there was fresh fruit and brewed decaf which not every motel has. Would stay here again anytime. Only wish all Rodeway Inns were like this one! As our others have said, the motel isn't directly on University Avenue. Quiet stay and no distractions. Someone had smoked in our no-smoking room so staff sprayed. We didn't want to change rooms since we were in a far corner which was perfect for our extended stay.

Room Tip: If you're staying several days, the end room is very quiet and close to the on-site laundry faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We are pleased to hear your room was clean, the bed was comfortable, and you found the TV of excellent quality during your extended stay at the Berkeley Rodeway Inn. Thank you for your wonderful review and hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed here two nights during a recent trip. The hotel entrance is on University Avenue, but the rooms are back in off of the street in a u-shaped configuration. The result is a nice quiet location with very little street noise. The room was clean and the motel appeared to be well maintained. We had a problem with our window staying open and a slight industrial cleaner odor in the room. The breakfast area had only three tables for two people. However, the hotel had picnic tables near the pool for breakfast seating overflow. We paid $129 a night for a King room which we thought was a bit high. We would stay here again, but would search the internet for a better nightly rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
presidioinn, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We are pleased you found the Berkeley Rodeway Inn to be in a quiet location with very little street noise as well as close to Cal & downtown Berkeley. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 1461 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702 (Formerly Berkeley Travel Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Berkeley
Rodeway Inn Berkeley
Berkeley Rodeway Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.