We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the historic Berkeley City Club!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley City Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Berkeley City Club to your Saves list
Berkeley City Club
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2315 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Victoria, British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We loved the historic Berkeley City Club!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My wife and I spent 5 nights at this architectural delight. The location was perfect for us. We were in Berkeley to attend a fabulous CAL Performances Concert. If you are visiting for one of these concerts, this is an ideal hotel. First Congressional Church is just across the street and the other main venue, Zellerbach Hall is a couple of blocks away.

The hotel, designed by Julia Morgan of Hearst Castle fame, is absolutely beautiful. It was completed in 1930 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. We loved our period room with overlooking the UC Berkeley campus. The bathroom had original tiles and was spotless. We appreciated the walk-in closet and the comfortable bed. Although the heating system made a bit of noise at night it was easy to adjust to. The public spaces on the first and second floors are very impressive. We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast provided in the beautiful dining room each morning. No tv in the rooms but what a great chance to catch up on a good book. Check out the lovely library and amazing swimming pool. The staff was very polite and helpful.There is a computer available for guests in the lobby. It came in handy when we did our flight check-in and boarding passes. Yes there is complimentary w-ifi on the first and second floors. We were lucky and got a signal in our sixth floor room.

There are lots of restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel. If you head out for a walk, don`t miss the beautiful and historic UC Berkeley Campus, Take the university bus to the Botanical Gardens. The bus cost is only $1.

If you are arriving at Oakland International airport as we did, use the BART connector and BART rapid transit to get to the Downtown Berkeley station. The hotel is only 5 blocks away. BART was also our travel choice to downtown San Francisco.

Room Tip: We found the sixth floor facing UC Berkeley quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCCGuestSupport, Admin Support at Berkeley City Club, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Dear Jhnh,

Thank you so very much for your kind and thoughtful review!

I agree, the location is most ideal, especially for the all of the great performances within walking distance. We are so glad you both enjoyed your visit to Berkeley.

Wishing you both all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    56
    27
    15
    9
See reviews for
34
65
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The club is from a beautiful time period and that is reflected in the first and second floors. The guest rooms are sparse and old, but clean. It was noisy due to the construction even though I was told I had a quiet room. The room did not have good airflow and stayed warm through the night with the window open. Fortunately, the weather cooled. On my last night, a door down the hall had been painted and while they sealed it with plastic, the fumes seeped into my room. Overall, I prefer a few more amenities, but would stay again when the construction ends if the price was competitive.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this lovingly preserved historic hotel. Rooms were simple and comfortable, with great beds and porcelain tubs with shower conversion. Wood floors and rugs, original decor. So refreshing to avoid the plastic, anonymous and characterless sort of hotel and just walk back here after a great lunch at Chez Panisse. The windows open and their are some splendid lounges and a garden courtyard. Not at all noisy, just the distant rumble of a swim meet a couple of blocks away. Totally charming.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

If you've read the other reviews you understand the limitations (i.e., no TV, street noise-earplugs are on your nightstand, no desk, weak wi-fi in rooms, one spare electric outlet, etc.). I can add that the heating system can't cope with temperatures at or below freezing (a rare event, admittedly, in the Bay area). Also, no AC for those rare hot days. Now for all the great stuff. First, this is the closest you'll likely get to spending a night in the Hearst Castle. Both the Club and the Castle were designed by the famed Julia Morgen and have similar architecture, although the Club is on a smaller scale. So, this is your chance! The first and second floor common rooms and alcoves are suptuous, classic and at times breathtaking. Sitting in the pool balcony is like being in church.The restaurant, Julia's, (which I could not try) is rated as one of the best in Berekely. The beds are comfy and the bathrooms big enough and with the amenities you have come to expect (although the cheap toilet paper was a surprise). Service is good, but this is your aunt and college-age nephew working there; not the Ritz-Carlton. The place is very clean and well maintained for a century-old building. I admit my most cherished moments were spent in one of the adorable alcoves working and watching TV shows online. It's a ten minute walk to downtown Berekely with many good choices for food, and ten minutes to the University area. The BART station is about a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed at the city club in Nov 2013, and we had a great time. The hotel's atmosphere is unbelievable, it's an architectural gem, with inviting interiors, all period furniture. The rooms are small but quaint, and comfortable, with vintage bathrooms, really cool. The dining room where we had breakfast (included) was also quite amazing. This is right downtown Berkeley, you can't go wrong. Also don't forget your swimsuit, the swimming pool in also very cool.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had a wonderful stay for one night in this historic property, but we were unlucky to be placed in a room on the side of the hotel next to a big construction project. This was not too disruptive as we planned to get up early anyway, but work started about 7:30 am so if you are not an early riser, then best to request a room on the other side. Otherwise, we enjoyed the swimming pool, lounge areas and the continental breakfast was substantial, well presented, and service was friendly. This is a vintage 1930s property with original bathrooms, fixtures and steam heat radiators, so if you are prepared for and enjoy that standard then you will like the Berkeley City Club.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the construction underway on one side of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

If you are a light sleeper, this probably isn't the hotel for you. There is major construction right next door, and the boiler (?) makes really loud noises at night. Also, since it's an historic building, the windows are single-paned, so you also hear all of the normal amount of Berkeley street noise.

Gorgeous swimming pool and decent continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a room not on the side of the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berkeley City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley City Club

Address: 2315 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Berkeley City Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending Romanesque and Moorish architecture, the Berkeley City Club was elaborately crafted by Hearst Castle designer Julia Morgan. Carved archways, vaulted ceilings, an indoor mosaic tiled swimming, and leaded-glass windows overlooking lush courtyards give the building its unique old world charm. The Berkeley City Club boasts six floors of classically designed standard, junior suite and suite size hotel rooms. Experience breathtaking views from each room, whether its the iconic fog rolling in over the San Francisco bay or the beautiful sunrises over the Berkeley Hills. Enjoy complimentary breakfast in the dining room, including fresh fruit, toast, bagels, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, and juice. For entertainment, check out special member events, fitness classes, theater performances, salon services, lounge hours and dining in the restaurant, Julia's or visit local Berkeley attractions just steps away from the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Sabre Hospitality Solutions so you can book your Berkeley City Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley City Club Hotel Berkeley
Berkeley City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley City Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.