We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed experience.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley City Club

Save Saved
You added Berkeley City Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Berkeley City Club
2315 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersBronze level
LONG BEACH
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A mixed experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This was my first visit to the hotel, and was interested to see why it is currently rated at #2 on tripadvisor for Berkeley hotels. Check-in was not a good start as I had booked a Queen room, but was given a double, a very small room, but I did get switched to the room I had booked. The Queen room was also small, but clean, with great views over the bay to San Francisco. I should warn you that there is currently construction taking place in the adjacent lot, and it was very noisy from 6:30am on the Friday morning. Saturday was ok as there was no construction activity. There was no Wifi in my room as the signal was not strong enough to reach it. I was on the 6th floor, well away from the Wifi hotspot located near the elevators. The included breakfast was good, with fresh fruit, cereal, toast and muffins available. The interior of the hotel is great and I would encourage you to explore and take in the history. I paid $145 per night plus tax. This is way over-priced in my opinion. I am not sure why there is not a reduction in rates due to the construction next door, but even so it is not good value for money. There are no tv's in the rooms, and not even a pen and writing pad. Coffee and tea is available near the lobby, but not 24 hours a day unlike mentioned in other reviews. My room was clean and well-maintained and the bed was very comfortable. Check-out was also not a good experience, as my booking through booking.com was for $145 per night for the Thursday and Friday night, but was told upon check-out that this was wrong, and that the rate was $165 for the Friday night. I don't expect an argument when I check-out of a highly rated hotel, or any hotel for that matter. I did subsequently receive a credit though for the $20 over-charge. Overall I was disappointed with my stay, and do not think it should have such a high-rating. This is just my honest opinion based on the variety of hotels I have stayed in the area, and compared to other hotels visited across the country. The first impression of any hotel stay is the check-in, and the last the check-out, and neither were impressive.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the bay unless you like construction noise during weekdays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyCityClub, Manager at Berkeley City Club, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your letting us know about your experience here at our hotel. We are sorry to hear the construction woke you up Friday morning, they usually don't start with any noise this early in the morning. Though I'm happy to hear you were offered a queen bed and were able to enjoy the San Francisco Bay views, what a sight!

Thank you again for your feedback as your overview will be discussed at our next weekly meeting.

- The Berkeley City Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    43
    23
    13
    7
See reviews for
26
56
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I booked a stay through a Bloomspot deal that gave us a great rate on a one night stay with continental breakfast. We had to cancel our first booking just minutes before check-in time because our toddler had a fever. Though the hotel was within their rights to invoke their cancellation policy, they kindly let us cancel the deal without penalty and reschedule.

When we did stay, we were greeted warmly by the front desk clerk, and were impressed with the grand appearance of the lobby area. We had a room on the top floor, right by the elevator, but the noise never bothered us. It was a bit chilly, since the windows were single-pane and not sealed very tightly, but at night we were able to use the radiator and a (provided) space heater to stay warm.

We had cocktails and appetizers at the happy hour, both of which were delicious. We were able to walk to and from a nice restaurant on Shattuck for dinner and later grab some ice cream sandwiches from C.R.E.A.M. just a couple of blocks away. We checked out the beautiful indoor pool and wandered around anywhere we were allowed, just taking in the gorgeous architecture.

The only other slightly negative experiences were:
- Shower was a little hard to get a decent temperature (it was far too easy to be either too hot or too cold)
- The continental breakfast supposedly featured a "warm egg dish" but we found nothing but the usual pastries, hard-boiled eggs, fruit, etc. We did go on the late side, but didn't see any evidence of a warm breakfast.
- The bed was not at all firm.

Even those were very minor and not enough to deter us from wanting to come back next time we have a reason to spend the night in Berkeley.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyCityClub, Marketing Mananger at Berkeley City Club, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your room being on the chilly side. I'm going to personally have a look at the single window pain in your room to see what we can do. Good to know we provided a space heater to keep you warm through the night.

Be sure to ask for me next time you're our guest and I'll make sure you're content with your new room. Hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is a gem! It was built by Julia Morgan in 1930 and retains all of its charm and history.The common areas are stunning and the rooms are small but spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff are all friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet is excellent.

Room Tip: There is construction next door so ask to be on the quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyCityClub, Manager at Berkeley City Club, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi Kasia- Glad you found the Berkeley City Club Hotel perfectly located during your visit from Seattle and enjoyed the historic feel. We look forward in having you back! - Berkeley City Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great location, gorgeous building and pool, with spartan but clean rooms. Rooms have painted cement floors with area rugs, with a clean and basic bathroom. The staff was all friendly and warm, like the building. Hot tea and coffee 24 hours a day too. There was a lot of loud construction going on next door during our stay but the hotel obviously can't help that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyCityClub, Manager at Berkeley City Club, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi TeslaCA!

Thank you for your review. Happy to hear you found our location perfect during your visit from San Diego. Yes the demolition down the street was a bit loud but the good news is that they're done.

Be sure to let us know when you're headed back north and we'll have one of our more quiet rooms waiting for you.

Berkeley City Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed there for two nights and needed two rooms for the five of us. Not the best immediate area but only a short walk to Berkeley U, and not too far to the train station and shops, although a bit of a slog with our suitcases. A quicky hotel, quaint furnishings but fairly nice and very clean. Breakfast was ok but not great. Overall a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing San Fransisco, the views of the city and the bridge are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyCityClub, Manager at Berkeley City Club, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi Ruth-

We're glad to hear that you and your friends enjoyed the Bay views from your hotel room! Glad to hear you made to the Dining Room though we're sorry you didn't find everything you were looking for at the complimentary continental breakfast. What were we missing?

Hope to have you back soon,

Berkeley City Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I booked a Groupon for our two night stay. I expected your run of the mill deal...I just loved it. The property is located a few blocks from the campus on a quiet street. The property is lovingly cared for all day long by a full staff that polishes everything in the club...the staff is wonderful. Everyone working here is delightful,helpful,kind,informative...i could go on and on....breakfast was pretty decent fair with juices,coffee,teas,egg dishes,toasted offerings,floral arrangements. The rooms are smaller but scrupulously cleaned. IF you are lucky enough to book on the West side you get a postcard view of the City of San Francisco....and fresh coastal air...the enclosed gardens are really a sweet place to sit and visit or read a book. The library is so cozy,filled with neat old tomes. Piano's in every large hall...makes you wonder HOW they got inside!
Nice old pool. Lots to see. Really worth the trip.

Room Tip: Book the westerly side with a view of both the Golden Gate,Bay Bridge and the entire city....so love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyCityClub, Manager at Berkeley City Club, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Miss Manner!

Thank you for checking out every corner of our Hotel including our complimentary breakfast and gardens!

BCC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is an extraordinary hotel! I stayed here over thanksgiving weekend, slipping in due to a last minute cancellation. What a magnificent stay! It's somewhat like being in a dream. The hotel was designed by Julia Morgan in the early 1900's. It was designed as a women's club and had 4,000 members. The rooms are warm and inviting with beautiful views of the
Bay, the dining room was lovely with excellent food. The lobbies are exquisite with many formal special event rooms including a grand ballroom. In addition, they have an amazing swimming pool which is huge.

The staff awe warm and caring and very helpful. I cam't wait to visit again. The manager actually carried my suitcases outside the day i left... That's service!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyCityClub, Manager at Berkeley City Club, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We're glad to hear you took in the amazing Julia Morgan architecture!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Berkeley City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley City Club

Also Known As:
Berkeley City Club Hotel Berkeley
Berkeley City Club Hotel
Berkeley City Hotel
Address: 2315 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Berkeley
#4 Romantic Hotel in Berkeley
#4 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending Romanesque and Moorish architecture, the Berkeley City Club was elaborately crafted by Hearst Castle designer Julia Morgan. Carved archways, vaulted ceilings, an indoor mosaic tiled swimming, and leaded-glass windows overlooking lush courtyards give the building its unique old world charm. The Berkeley City Club boasts six floors of classically designed standard, junior suite and suite size hotel rooms. Experience breathtaking views from each room, whether its the iconic fog rolling in over the San Francisco bay or the beautiful sunrises over the Berkeley Hills. Enjoy complimentary breakfast in the dining room, including fresh fruit, toast, bagels, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, and juice. For entertainment, check out special member events, fitness classes, theater performances, salon services, lounge hours and dining in the restaurant, Julia's or visit local Berkeley attractions just steps away from the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Berkeley City Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley City Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.