We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique hotel inthe heart of Berkeley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley City Club

Save Saved
You added Berkeley City Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Berkeley City Club
2315 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Unique hotel inthe heart of Berkeley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is a gem! It was built by Julia Morgan in 1930 and retains all of its charm and history.The common areas are stunning and the rooms are small but spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff are all friendly and helpful and the breakfast buffet is excellent.

Room Tip: There is construction next door so ask to be on the quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyCityClub, Manager at Berkeley City Club, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi Kasia- Glad you found the Berkeley City Club Hotel perfectly located during your visit from Seattle and enjoyed the historic feel. We look forward in having you back! - Berkeley City Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    43
    23
    13
    7
See reviews for
26
56
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great location, gorgeous building and pool, with spartan but clean rooms. Rooms have painted cement floors with area rugs, with a clean and basic bathroom. The staff was all friendly and warm, like the building. Hot tea and coffee 24 hours a day too. There was a lot of loud construction going on next door during our stay but the hotel obviously can't help that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyCityClub, Manager at Berkeley City Club, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi TeslaCA!

Thank you for your review. Happy to hear you found our location perfect during your visit from San Diego. Yes the demolition down the street was a bit loud but the good news is that they're done.

Be sure to let us know when you're headed back north and we'll have one of our more quiet rooms waiting for you.

Berkeley City Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed there for two nights and needed two rooms for the five of us. Not the best immediate area but only a short walk to Berkeley U, and not too far to the train station and shops, although a bit of a slog with our suitcases. A quicky hotel, quaint furnishings but fairly nice and very clean. Breakfast was ok but not great. Overall a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing San Fransisco, the views of the city and the bridge are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyCityClub, Manager at Berkeley City Club, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hi Ruth-

We're glad to hear that you and your friends enjoyed the Bay views from your hotel room! Glad to hear you made to the Dining Room though we're sorry you didn't find everything you were looking for at the complimentary continental breakfast. What were we missing?

Hope to have you back soon,

Berkeley City Club Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I booked a Groupon for our two night stay. I expected your run of the mill deal...I just loved it. The property is located a few blocks from the campus on a quiet street. The property is lovingly cared for all day long by a full staff that polishes everything in the club...the staff is wonderful. Everyone working here is delightful,helpful,kind,informative...i could go on and on....breakfast was pretty decent fair with juices,coffee,teas,egg dishes,toasted offerings,floral arrangements. The rooms are smaller but scrupulously cleaned. IF you are lucky enough to book on the West side you get a postcard view of the City of San Francisco....and fresh coastal air...the enclosed gardens are really a sweet place to sit and visit or read a book. The library is so cozy,filled with neat old tomes. Piano's in every large hall...makes you wonder HOW they got inside!
Nice old pool. Lots to see. Really worth the trip.

Room Tip: Book the westerly side with a view of both the Golden Gate,Bay Bridge and the entire city....so love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyCityClub, Manager at Berkeley City Club, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Miss Manner!

Thank you for checking out every corner of our Hotel including our complimentary breakfast and gardens!

BCC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is an extraordinary hotel! I stayed here over thanksgiving weekend, slipping in due to a last minute cancellation. What a magnificent stay! It's somewhat like being in a dream. The hotel was designed by Julia Morgan in the early 1900's. It was designed as a women's club and had 4,000 members. The rooms are warm and inviting with beautiful views of the
Bay, the dining room was lovely with excellent food. The lobbies are exquisite with many formal special event rooms including a grand ballroom. In addition, they have an amazing swimming pool which is huge.

The staff awe warm and caring and very helpful. I cam't wait to visit again. The manager actually carried my suitcases outside the day i left... That's service!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyCityClub, Manager at Berkeley City Club, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We're glad to hear you took in the amazing Julia Morgan architecture!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had a chance to stay in this Hotel two weeks ago. The building architecture wise is just beautiful (no wonder it has a nickname called "little castle"), however, maybe the building is just plain too old or lack of maintenance, the room that we were staying (Room 601) has bad water damage on the ceiling and it was never taken care of. We were excited to use the beautiful swimming pool... again, on the picture, it looks great, but it too also was just too old and you can see some damage on the bottom of the pool and during winter time, the lighting in the indoor swimming pool was not bright enough, so it's a bit creepy to swim there... The bedroom that we had (601) was also really small, compare to regular hotel room. As another reviewer mentioned, this room is right next to the elevator and the building was so old, so during the night we didn't really have good sleep.

Room 601 is quite unique as I think this is the ONLY room that with a outside balcony which you can open it up but you probably don't want to go outside as it's kinda scary (not good if you have young children.. as I don't feel safe)... The bathtub was original, pretty, but uh...same issue with an open-to-dangerous balcony...

The FREE breakfast was good though, a bit more choices than a typical cheap continental breakfast...(donuts, coffee, etc.). You do get really nice fresh juice, pastry, toast, muffin, etc.. but that's about it. Don't expect a $30 type of buffet breakfast...

One quick note, this is a "private" club that has some long-term residents living in here, mix with hotel guests. It's kind of unique I guess although it didn't bother us.

Parking and roller bed were charged separately. So although we got a good deal from LivingSocial, at the end we paid around $150 for one night (including tax, etc.).

Also, they give you real "keys" of the hotel room and there is no plastic key cards. So you want to be careful not to lose those real room keys...

Overall, we had a rather "unique" experience in this little castle. However we probably won't come back again though...as once is probably enough.. :)

Room Tip: If you are adventurous, try room 601. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyCityClub, Manager at Berkeley City Club, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Next time we'll have you in another elegant room a bit away from the balcony. We have some great photos in our profile showing the views of the Bay from the balcony so if you missed going out all the way you can see what it's like in the gallery. Thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I got a Groupon for this place and went for 2 nights - loved the place, staff were amazingly helpful and friendly - feels like a real people place, I felt they knew me after just a 2 night stay. It was lovely to experience the character of the building too - beautiful architecture. Great breakfast in wonderful dining room, lovely way to start the day. I'm going back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BerkeleyCityClub, Manager at Berkeley City Club, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We look forward to have you back California Traveler Insider!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Berkeley City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley City Club

Also Known As:
Berkeley City Club Hotel Berkeley
Berkeley City Club Hotel
Berkeley City Hotel
Address: 2315 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Berkeley
#4 Green Hotel in Berkeley
#4 Romantic Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending Romanesque and Moorish architecture, the Berkeley City Club was elaborately crafted by Hearst Castle designer Julia Morgan. Carved archways, vaulted ceilings, an indoor mosaic tiled swimming, and leaded-glass windows overlooking lush courtyards give the building its unique old world charm. The Berkeley City Club boasts six floors of classically designed standard, junior suite and suite size hotel rooms. Experience breathtaking views from each room, whether its the iconic fog rolling in over the San Francisco bay or the beautiful sunrises over the Berkeley Hills. Enjoy complimentary breakfast in the dining room, including fresh fruit, toast, bagels, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, and juice. For entertainment, check out special member events, fitness classes, theater performances, salon services, lounge hours and dining in the restaurant, Julia's or visit local Berkeley attractions just steps away from the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Berkeley City Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley City Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.