We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley City Club

Save Saved
You added Berkeley City Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Berkeley City Club
2315 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Citrus Heights, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love this Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The architecture is so pleasing. Great views, especially if you get a room facing the bay. The rooms aren't modern or spacious, but that adds to the charm. Friendly staff. Not far from the campus or to the BART station.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    48
    25
    13
    8
See reviews for
31
58
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great Hotel stay in the bay area. Nice place. Great place to wonder and just check it out. Hotel has had a zillion dollars spent on it to save it, and in shows. You will be happy you stayed here. Great coffee in the AM.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'm always looking for a hotel with pool facilities where you can actually swim laps. Although the depth on one side of the pool is only 3 feet, the other side is plenty deep for flip turns and it is 25 yards long with four lanes for swimming laps! Plus it is a very artistic pool - designed by Julia Morgan with tiles and a view into the garden. Lovely hotel with great rooms - though they can be fairly loud if your neighbors aren't polite (but the staff took care of our partying neighbors after the first compliant!). Great location too! We'll be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is beautiful. They've preserved the historic feel and ambiance of this place. I half expected to see folks walking around in aristocratic 1930s attire. There are lots of different areas to explore (garden courtyard, library/study, coffee/game area, dining room, pool, historic records, etc.) You will be surrounded by historic elegance. It was all so fancy and extravagant. The swimming pool is so impressive. The bottom is all small tiles forming the decorative patterns. Lots of extras - like in the locker room/changing area next to the pool, there is a machine that spins the water out of your swimming suit - and they provide q-tips to get the water out of your ears. We were fortunate that they had a special deal going at the time that we stayed, so we got a great price. Our room was right next to a balcony with a great view. The free breakfast had a decent variety to choose from. Service was good. And it's within walking distance to multiple restaurants, including Herbivore.

Room Tip: Ask for one near a balcony (unless it's important to you to have wifi in your room rather than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed here using a Living Social deal, so making the reservation wasn't easy (they were full for weeks). It is such a neat building, every window and arch are so pretty. We wandered around after hours and saw the library, the dinig room and they looked so serene and beautiful. We found several outside "patios" with views. The rooms are not big, but comfortable. We had a view of bay bridge and a cute neighborhood. The bathtub is great. The swimming pool is just stunning, although it was cold. Parking was not a problem outside, although we had to remember to put $ in meter in the morning. It was quiet in our room but there is definitely lots of activity going on on ohter floors ( a party, a theater rehearsal). It just feels like a special, old place that people have enjoyed for years and it's fun to imagine what it was like.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

As a member of the City Club, I frequently send my guests there and have stayed there myself.
It is the only Julia Morgan designed hotel in Berkeley, and an architectural jewel. (Julia Morgan restored the Fairmont Hotel in SF after the earthquake and designed the Hearst Castle on Highway 1). Nowhere else in Berkeley can you live architectural history. Hope you get a room there!

Room Tip: Get here before construction starts and the rooms with bayview will be obstructed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Got a steal of a deal on Living Social and stayed for an anniversary getaway. Enjoyed our 3-night stay very much! Staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. We spent most of our time exploring San Francisco during the day and I was initially concerned about the travel back and forth from Berkeley, but the amazing public transportation system was a close walk, it was no hassle at all. It was very quiet at night in the hotel and we even had a view of the Golden Gate Bridge from our room! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Berkeley City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley City Club

Address: 2315 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Berkeley
#3 Romantic Hotel in Berkeley
#4 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending Romanesque and Moorish architecture, the Berkeley City Club was elaborately crafted by Hearst Castle designer Julia Morgan. Carved archways, vaulted ceilings, an indoor mosaic tiled swimming, and leaded-glass windows overlooking lush courtyards give the building its unique old world charm. The Berkeley City Club boasts six floors of classically designed standard, junior suite and suite size hotel rooms. Experience breathtaking views from each room, whether its the iconic fog rolling in over the San Francisco bay or the beautiful sunrises over the Berkeley Hills. Enjoy complimentary breakfast in the dining room, including fresh fruit, toast, bagels, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, and juice. For entertainment, check out special member events, fitness classes, theater performances, salon services, lounge hours and dining in the restaurant, Julia's or visit local Berkeley attractions just steps away from the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Berkeley City Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley City Club Hotel Berkeley
Berkeley City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley City Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.