We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Quiet and Cheap” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley City Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Berkeley City Club to your Saves list
Berkeley City Club
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2315 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Super Quiet and Cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Berkley City Club is a bare bones hotel, but clean and super cheap in a City that is pretty expensive. Walking distance to the BART if 1/2 mile seems doable. The service also was good, and the free full breakfast was a pleasant surprise since they call it continental breakfast. Pool too if you want it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Southern Calif
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I very much enjoyed a two-night stay in this charming hotel when in Berkeley for a 40-year Boalt reunion. My room was spacious, and anyone who loves history will be blown away by the accomplishments of Julia Morgan (first licensed woman architect in California and architect for Hearst Castle among dozens of other projects.) Several of my classmates joined me for breakfast one morning; the buffet was good (Peet's coffee), there were lovely flower arrangements on the white tablecloths, and all enjoyed looking around this historic hotel. I agree it is not a hotel for one needing office services on a business trip. There is a computer to print out boarding passes but no room service and no tvs in the room (which I considered a plus, but some might miss.) Free wifi is available. For a visit to Cal, we all agreed we might stay here for our 45th!

Room Tip: Room 302 overlooked Durant and had a partial view of San Francisco on the clear days I was there. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, RI
Level Contributor
214 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 370 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My sub-par rating is entirely based on its business hotel qualities. If you’re there for other reasons, this property may be more suitable. I stayed here for three days and would not return. I think they might be better off calling this place a Hostel or maybe convert it to senior living. Although it’s a historic building with some nice interior architecture, it doesn’t offer much value. Rooms are small, no TV (they say because their guests prefer quiet, I think it is an economic choice), no A/C, old radiator heat, rusty faucets. No screens on the windows so if you open them you risk the admittance of flying creatures. They will give you a fan if requested. Also no ironing boards. Internet is slow in the rooms, mine had a small student desk and plugs were poorly located, lighting was poor. On the plus side the bed was comfortable. They have signs asking you to re-use the bed sheets, re-use towels, even one requesting you take a short shower. Geez, so many dissuasions, how about I just pay you and not show up? There is no help with bags and if you lose your key, they charge you $50 which is outrageous. $20 daily parking. Breakfast is free but somewhat skimpy- scrambled eggs, bacon, fruit. Coffee was excellent. Overall not a good choice, prices are way too steep for what’s offered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank edtoby007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night. It is a historic building, which means it's old but well maintained. I could see how you could call it charming, but it's also kind of creepy, in a "The Shining" kind of way. Weird paintings depict things like a group of children standing together, with one girl a step away holding a hammer and looking at them ominously.

It's also on busy streets and there is no A/C, so you have to open the window and deal with street noise. Any time a hotel provides earplugs by the bed, you know it's not going to be a quiet night.

On the other hand, they provide breakfast, the front desk was very nice, and we got a very cheap rate. They also had a list of classes and meetings you could attend if you were there at the right time. So, overall, I wouldn't recommend it highly, but I didn't hate it either. If you're looking for a charming, historic experience, it might be perfect for you. If you're looking for a quiet, normal place to stay, I'd look elsewhere.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank raph105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed with my sister at this lovely historic property that is beautiful and charming, though a little worn around the edges. I am very forgiving of less than perfection, however, when the architecture, history and atmosphere are as enchanting as this hotel. From the staircase to elevators to gardens to hidden alcoves, this hotel is a step back in time. (I should say, however, that my young nieces said it was a combination of Disneyland's Tower of Terror - set in a hotel from the 1920's - and the Haunted Mansion!)

Though not advertised, there is tiny kitchen/laundry room with a washer/dryer that guests can use, a microwave (which had the odd sign "no popcorn" on it), and (best of all, for leftovers from all the delicious nearby restaurants) a refrigerator. Instructions say to label with your name, date and room number.

There are many activities at the hotel/club from singing lessons to guest speakers to aqua exercise. Weddings are VERY common on weekends. We had one the Sunday night we were there and saw the ceremony on the second floor patio. The reception music was definitely audible but ended promptly at 11 pm when the "quiet time" starts (until 9 am).

Come enjoy this hotel and feel like a debutant descending the staircase, or a 1940's couple on their honeymoon during World War II. Embrace the delights and endearing flaws of this historic landmark.

Room Tip: Higher may be better (quieter) if there's a wedding while you are there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beaglema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a two night stay at this lovely historic hotel for a family wedding. The building dated back to the 1920’s and we loved the architecture and the old fashioned feel to the reception and all the rooms. The atmosphere was more like an old academic institution rather than a hotel and was calm, and quiet. There were signs around for local events which added to that feel. We had a small room, clean and simply furnished but very adequate. It had a little walk in wardrobe, complete with iron and ironing board (essential for wedding preparations) and a tiny but well appointed bathroom. The view was lovely, onto a nursery playground with the sea in the distance. We were close to Berkeley University and my husband went for a run in the grounds the next morning. He also used the hotel’s magnificent swimming pool- quite a surprise in an old building. The shops and main street were within walking distance.
A very good cooked breakfast was served in a delightful dining room and service was really excellent by very pleasant waiters.
Not suitable if you want air conditioning and a television or other mod cons but perfect for a quiet restful stay. And reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5hampshirehogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed with a family member (kid) at the Berkeley City Club not long ago, and it just occurred to me that it's a great option for those organizing a college trip to see Berkeley, Mills, St. Mary's, or San Francisco schools. It's walkable to BART, and affordable.

Room Tip: Ask for a Golden Gate view--
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 874 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 638 reviews
1.3 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.2 mi away
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
Berkeley Rodeway Inn
#8 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#7 of 21 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berkeley City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley City Club

Address: 2315 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Berkeley City Club 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending Romanesque and Moorish architecture, the Berkeley City Club was elaborately crafted by Hearst Castle designer Julia Morgan. Carved archways, vaulted ceilings, an indoor mosaic tiled swimming, and leaded-glass windows overlooking lush courtyards give the building its unique old world charm. The Berkeley City Club boasts six floors of classically designed standard, junior suite and suite size hotel rooms. Experience breathtaking views from each room, whether its the iconic fog rolling in over the San Francisco bay or the beautiful sunrises over the Berkeley Hills. Enjoy complimentary breakfast in the dining room, including fresh fruit, toast, bagels, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, and juice. For entertainment, check out special member events, fitness classes, theater performances, salon services, lounge hours and dining in the restaurant, Julia's or visit local Berkeley attractions just steps away from the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Berkeley City Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley City Club Hotel Berkeley
Berkeley City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing