We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel near the university” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley City Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Berkeley City Club to your Saves list
Berkeley City Club
2315 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southern Calif
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Charming hotel near the university”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I very much enjoyed a two-night stay in this charming hotel when in Berkeley for a 40-year Boalt reunion. My room was spacious, and anyone who loves history will be blown away by the accomplishments of Julia Morgan (first licensed woman architect in California and architect for Hearst Castle among dozens of other projects.) Several of my classmates joined me for breakfast one morning; the buffet was good (Peet's coffee), there were lovely flower arrangements on the white tablecloths, and all enjoyed looking around this historic hotel. I agree it is not a hotel for one needing office services on a business trip. There is a computer to print out boarding passes but no room service and no tvs in the room (which I considered a plus, but some might miss.) Free wifi is available. For a visit to Cal, we all agreed we might stay here for our 45th!

Room Tip: Room 302 overlooked Durant and had a partial view of San Francisco on the clear days I was there. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    52
    26
    15
    9
See reviews for
33
62
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, RI
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
352 helpful votes 352 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

My sub-par rating is entirely based on its business hotel qualities. If you’re there for other reasons, this property may be more suitable. I stayed here for three days and would not return. I think they might be better off calling this place a Hostel or maybe convert it to senior living. Although it’s a historic building with some nice interior architecture, it doesn’t offer much value. Rooms are small, no TV (they say because their guests prefer quiet, I think it is an economic choice), no A/C, old radiator heat, rusty faucets. No screens on the windows so if you open them you risk the admittance of flying creatures. They will give you a fan if requested. Also no ironing boards. Internet is slow in the rooms, mine had a small student desk and plugs were poorly located, lighting was poor. On the plus side the bed was comfortable. They have signs asking you to re-use the bed sheets, re-use towels, even one requesting you take a short shower. Geez, so many dissuasions, how about I just pay you and not show up? There is no help with bags and if you lose your key, they charge you $50 which is outrageous. $20 daily parking. Breakfast is free but somewhat skimpy- scrambled eggs, bacon, fruit. Coffee was excellent. Overall not a good choice, prices are way too steep for what’s offered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night. It is a historic building, which means it's old but well maintained. I could see how you could call it charming, but it's also kind of creepy, in a "The Shining" kind of way. Weird paintings depict things like a group of children standing together, with one girl a step away holding a hammer and looking at them ominously.

It's also on busy streets and there is no A/C, so you have to open the window and deal with street noise. Any time a hotel provides earplugs by the bed, you know it's not going to be a quiet night.

On the other hand, they provide breakfast, the front desk was very nice, and we got a very cheap rate. They also had a list of classes and meetings you could attend if you were there at the right time. So, overall, I wouldn't recommend it highly, but I didn't hate it either. If you're looking for a charming, historic experience, it might be perfect for you. If you're looking for a quiet, normal place to stay, I'd look elsewhere.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed with my sister at this lovely historic property that is beautiful and charming, though a little worn around the edges. I am very forgiving of less than perfection, however, when the architecture, history and atmosphere are as enchanting as this hotel. From the staircase to elevators to gardens to hidden alcoves, this hotel is a step back in time. (I should say, however, that my young nieces said it was a combination of Disneyland's Tower of Terror - set in a hotel from the 1920's - and the Haunted Mansion!)

Though not advertised, there is tiny kitchen/laundry room with a washer/dryer that guests can use, a microwave (which had the odd sign "no popcorn" on it), and (best of all, for leftovers from all the delicious nearby restaurants) a refrigerator. Instructions say to label with your name, date and room number.

There are many activities at the hotel/club from singing lessons to guest speakers to aqua exercise. Weddings are VERY common on weekends. We had one the Sunday night we were there and saw the ceremony on the second floor patio. The reception music was definitely audible but ended promptly at 11 pm when the "quiet time" starts (until 9 am).

Come enjoy this hotel and feel like a debutant descending the staircase, or a 1940's couple on their honeymoon during World War II. Embrace the delights and endearing flaws of this historic landmark.

Room Tip: Higher may be better (quieter) if there's a wedding while you are there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a two night stay at this lovely historic hotel for a family wedding. The building dated back to the 1920’s and we loved the architecture and the old fashioned feel to the reception and all the rooms. The atmosphere was more like an old academic institution rather than a hotel and was calm, and quiet. There were signs around for local events which added to that feel. We had a small room, clean and simply furnished but very adequate. It had a little walk in wardrobe, complete with iron and ironing board (essential for wedding preparations) and a tiny but well appointed bathroom. The view was lovely, onto a nursery playground with the sea in the distance. We were close to Berkeley University and my husband went for a run in the grounds the next morning. He also used the hotel’s magnificent swimming pool- quite a surprise in an old building. The shops and main street were within walking distance.
A very good cooked breakfast was served in a delightful dining room and service was really excellent by very pleasant waiters.
Not suitable if you want air conditioning and a television or other mod cons but perfect for a quiet restful stay. And reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed with a family member (kid) at the Berkeley City Club not long ago, and it just occurred to me that it's a great option for those organizing a college trip to see Berkeley, Mills, St. Mary's, or San Francisco schools. It's walkable to BART, and affordable.

Room Tip: Ask for a Golden Gate view--
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn,CA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

During your stay be sure & find all 3 gardens. In addition each floor has a small outside space where, when it is clear, you have a view of San Francisco & Golden Gate Bridge. Try to time a view at sunset.
Don’t forget to notice the details. The architect, Julia Morgan, also designed most of the light fixtures, as well most of the furniture.
This hotel is a step back to the 1930's; so don’t expect air conditioning (seldom needed in Berkeley), or a TV in your room (there’s a TV room) near the lobby.
There are wifi hot spots in the lobby & the small lobbies on each floor near the elevators. A room near the elevators (not noisy) gave us wifi in our room. There is also one computer for guests to use.
It’s a great location with an easy walk to restaurants, shopping (there’s a Japanese $1.50 store on Telegraph Avenue), & one block from the south entrance to the University.
Parking at the hotel is now $20 with in & out privileges.
There is a lovely indoor pool. Girls bring a bathing cap because it is required. Or you can purchase a cap at the front desk.
Breakfast in the dining room is lovely with white tablecloths & napkins along with lots of choices—eggs & bacon, cold cereal, yogurt, all kinds of breads & pastries. Coffee & tea are also available all day & evening in the lobby.
The staff are very helpful, and eager to answer your questions about the hotel and the area.

Room Tip: Rooms near elevators may have wifi connection. Some rooms on south side have view of San Francisco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Berkeley City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berkeley City Club

Address: 2315 Durant Ave, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending Romanesque and Moorish architecture, the Berkeley City Club was elaborately crafted by Hearst Castle designer Julia Morgan. Carved archways, vaulted ceilings, an indoor mosaic tiled swimming, and leaded-glass windows overlooking lush courtyards give the building its unique old world charm. The Berkeley City Club boasts six floors of classically designed standard, junior suite and suite size hotel rooms. Experience breathtaking views from each room, whether its the iconic fog rolling in over the San Francisco bay or the beautiful sunrises over the Berkeley Hills. Enjoy complimentary breakfast in the dining room, including fresh fruit, toast, bagels, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, and juice. For entertainment, check out special member events, fitness classes, theater performances, salon services, lounge hours and dining in the restaurant, Julia's or visit local Berkeley attractions just steps away from the Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Berkeley City Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley City Club Hotel Berkeley
Berkeley City Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley City Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.