We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in Berkeley” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Berkeley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Berkeley to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1175 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Los Angeles. CA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Hotel in Berkeley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We love the value of Holiday Inn Express and try to book this hotel chain whenever we get a chance. This particular hotel was not as well maintained as the other Holiday Inns we have stayed in. The location to UC Berkeley was not as close as I thought it would be. It is still quite a drive to get to the main campus. The sidewalk outside the hotel had some construction going on so you had to walk on the busy street to get around it. A 99 Cents store is next door where we got some drinks and snacks. Although it is still a good value for your money, I would try other hotels on the main campus before staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    74
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
52
19
16
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We decided to see some friends in Oakland during our month long vacation to America. We booked this hotel a few days before our stay in the middle of August and paid over the odds for a room at a Holiday Inn Express. However I cannot fault the cleanliness of the rooms, the efficient receptionist, free and plentiful parking and an adequate buffet breakfast. The location worked really well for us. If you are visiting Berkeley I would recommend staying here but just book in advance!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

It is indeed clean, and the decor is tasteful. The bed was comfortable. It's nothing special, though. The breakfast food is average to below average, the pre-made "omelettes" inedible. It's primary sales point is its price, which, for what one gets, is a good value. Perhaps also its location, which is in between UC Berkeley and the marina. The neighborhood is not inviting but doesn't feel unsafe. It is not close to a BART station. There was some construction going on next door when we were there.. Overall, for the price, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

It's clean, it's comfortable, and the rooms are updated. Tasteful décor (no awful floral bedspreads!) with granite countertops, large flatscreen TV, good-sized mini fridge and microwave. Breakfast choices are cereal, bagels, toast, muffins, cinnamon buns, pre-made omelettes, sausage, biscuits w/sausage gravy, pancakes, bananas, oatmeal, three kinds of juice, coffee, milk, yogurt and hard-boiled eggs. There's plenty of seating and food was replenished and freshened attentively. All of the staff over our weeklong visit were friendly and helpful in a quiet way.
I'm used to a very soft bed (sleep number 45) so this bed seemed hard to me, but it's of good quality and has good padding. Comes with a down comforter encased in sheets and a blanket, with four pillows of varying firmness (marked soft, medium, firm). There is a moderate amount of footstep noise if you're on one of the two lower floors, I'm a light sleeper and didn't find it bothersome. Saw plenty of kids when we went down to breakfast, but didn't hear them at all when in our room.
The neighborhood is a little gritty and has pan-Asian shops and restaurants (Indian, Thai, Afghan) all within the block but doesn't feel unsafe. If you prefer the disneyfied tourist-sanitized version you'll find it at the far end of the street near the bay, but I'll take a real neighborhood any day.

Room Tip: As at any hotel, book the top floor if you will mind footstep noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room was clean and quiet (but the carpet was stained, including a large stain near the nightstand). A short drive to the marina or CAL. Breakfast was not very good, but it's free. The woman at the desk was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I recently travelled to Berkeley with my 12 year old son to attend a concert at the Greek Theater. Not knowing anything about the area, we picked this hotel based on reviews and price. It was a very nice hotel right in the downtown area. The surrounding area looked a little shady, but that is just the way it goes in any downtown. Check in was prompt and courteous. Lobby is very welcoming. We found the room to be bright, which we liked. That is very different from the other Holiday Inn Express locations that I have stayed at. Most of them look like a dungeon. This was a nice suprise. Room was clean, beds were very comfortable. They had Dish network which offered a great number of channels to choose from. Free Wifi was available as well. The hotel looked like it was full, but we heard no noise at all. Had a very peaceful nights rest. Breakfast the next morning was not the best, but there were certainly many choices to choose from, so neither of us went hungry.

I would definitely recommend this to family & friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

During a business trip, I booked a two-bedroom suite so that we could save some money. However, there are not "two bedrooms" in the suite -- instead, there is a normal hotel room with two full beds, with one additional room closed off with a king-sized bed. This is a little different than what you'd expect normally from a "two-bedroom" description.

The room was nice enough, with a full kitchen. However, there were no pots, pans, or plates that we saw. Also, the room was very awkwardly set up.

The shower was fairly strong, which I've come to expect as a Holiday Inn Express standard. Towels were relatively fresh and adequate.The bed was mediocre and felt like it had crumbs in it. The king sized bed comforter had a "K" drawn on it in sharpie. However, the internet was incredibly fast, and service was a breeze.

Room Tip: I picked a suite on the first floor, was happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Albert L,

We greatly value your comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy you enjoyed the shower and internet service. I have noted that you experienced inconvenience and discomfort with the bed and room layout during your stay and would like to extend my most sincere apologies for this. I have taken note of your comments and your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berkeley

Address: 1175 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berkeley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Berkeley! We are located on University Avenue within walking distance of Downtown Berkeley and 1.7 Miles from Central UC Berkeley Campus. Enjoy performances & concerts at the Berkeley Greek Theater. Visit the Lawrence Hall of Science Center including the Idea Lab, NanoZone, and Real Astronomy Experience. Golden Gate Fields is where the Bay comes to play, offering live thoroughbred horse racing in a spectacular setting, just 2 short miles away. The University of California Botanical Garden features over 12,000 different kinds of plants from around the world on 34 acres. If you love chocolate as much as we do, don t miss touring Scharffen Berger Chocolate Makers, producers of the highest quality chocolate using vintage European equipment right here in Berkeley. For history buffs, don t miss the USS Hornet in Alameda. It s a one-of-a-kind experience you won t want to miss! Catch a Cal Golden Bears Game at Memorial Stadium. We are the most comfortable and convenient hotel headquarters to catch all the action! When it's time to relax, return to your spacious room at the Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel. Stay in touch while away from home with our complimentary high-speed Internet service. We also offer complimentary hot breakfast and free on-site parking. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Holiday Inn Berkeley
Berkeley Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.