We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and Safe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Berkeley

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Berkeley to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1175 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Convenient and Safe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

During a business trip, I booked a two-bedroom suite so that we could save some money. However, there are not "two bedrooms" in the suite -- instead, there is a normal hotel room with two full beds, with one additional room closed off with a king-sized bed. This is a little different than what you'd expect normally from a "two-bedroom" description.

The room was nice enough, with a full kitchen. However, there were no pots, pans, or plates that we saw. Also, the room was very awkwardly set up.

The shower was fairly strong, which I've come to expect as a Holiday Inn Express standard. Towels were relatively fresh and adequate.The bed was mediocre and felt like it had crumbs in it. The king sized bed comforter had a "K" drawn on it in sharpie. However, the internet was incredibly fast, and service was a breeze.

Room Tip: I picked a suite on the first floor, was happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Albert L,

We greatly value your comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy you enjoyed the shower and internet service. I have noted that you experienced inconvenience and discomfort with the bed and room layout during your stay and would like to extend my most sincere apologies for this. I have taken note of your comments and your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    59
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
37
17
16
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
LA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We picked this hotel because it is close to CAL. The hotel is relatively new so the room is extremely clean. Bed is very comfortable with all the necessary amenities. The room rate is not cheap due to its location I guess. We spent 2 nights there and really enjoy our stay. The hot breakfast was very nice with plenty of selections. Definitely we will come back in the future.
On a side note, we had dinner in the Thai restaurant next door, the food was surprisingly good and priced reasonably.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Wow what a Great Location this Hotel has, not far from the College Campus on one side,
But close enough to San Francisco just a Hop onto the Bay Bridge at the end of the street,
and Quick. Tons of fantastic eating places with in walking distance.
Dont Miss the Thai Food Next door, or the BBQ Place around the corner from the Drug Store.

Ritchie H

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Perfect for a quick overnight in Berkeley, where rooms can be expensive. This property is affordable and the room was clean and well appointed. Comfortable bed, smooth AC, quiet night sleep. Within walking distance of both Thai and Kabob restaurants. I did not try the wifi, and I skipped the breakfast the next morning, but it looked pretty standard fare.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Very nice hotel. Location was not too convenient (about 10-15 minute walk from BART train). Breakfast in the morning was great! Friendly staff. Very clean room. No complaints at alI! would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Booked this hotel through a third party for 4 adults (paid for a room to accommodate 4 adults), but was put in a room with one king bed. The guy checking us in saw there was 4 of us upon check in, but gave us a one bed room. We were sent to the 3 floor with all of our luggage and when we saw the room we called down and asked for a room with two beds. We were told leave the room immediately and bring all of our stuff back down to the lobby. We went back down and was then told it would be an additonal $20 a night for a second bed. I showed him the paperwork that we had booked and paid for a room with two beds and was told "we do not have to honor third party bookings." He then said it would be $20 a night for a second bed - hotel policy. Great customer service - NOT!! I already paid for a room with 2 beds and now they want to up charge me for what I ALREADY PAID FOR!! We said fine and he gave us a room back on the third floor and we had to take all the luggage back up again. This went from bad to worse very fast. I called the third party I booked the hotel with and they are sending me a check for the $40 and gave me a $25 credit on my account and blocked this hotel from my account. I travel all the time and I have never been treated like this before. This hotel is subpar to begin with and then on purpose give 4 people a room for 2 so they can up charge, what a joke. Beware!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear POOKINPORT,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Please accept my sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced during your stay. Please understand that bed types are not guaranteed at check-in as it will depend on what is available and occupancy level of the hotel and since you booked your reservation in a third party site the bed type you will received will depend on what is available. It does not happen all the time, I guess the hotel was busy at the time you've check-in that's why the bed type you reserved is no longer available. It a good thing that the third party site refunded and credited money in your account. Our staff members are only following the policy of the hotel. Nevertheless, thank you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I needed to be in Berkeley for a week and didn't want to hassle with traffic so I found this Holiday Inn Express located very conveniently near where I was to be for the week. The rooms were very nice, appears they hotel was recently remodeled. Front desk staff was friendly at check in and check out. Breakfast was included and each morning I found a some good hot coffee and a decent breakfast selection.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the elevators as possible, the drink vending machine is located by the el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berkeley

Address: 1175 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berkeley 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Berkeley! We are located on University Avenue within walking distance of Downtown Berkeley and 1.7 Miles from Central UC Berkeley Campus. Enjoy performances & concerts at the Berkeley Greek Theater. Visit the Lawrence Hall of Science Center including the Idea Lab, NanoZone, and Real Astronomy Experience. Golden Gate Fields is where the Bay comes to play, offering live thoroughbred horse racing in a spectacular setting, just 2 short miles away. The University of California Botanical Garden features over 12,000 different kinds of plants from around the world on 34 acres. If you love chocolate as much as we do, don t miss touring Scharffen Berger Chocolate Makers, producers of the highest quality chocolate using vintage European equipment right here in Berkeley. For history buffs, don t miss the USS Hornet in Alameda. It s a one-of-a-kind experience you won t want to miss! Catch a Cal Golden Bears Game at Memorial Stadium. We are the most comfortable and convenient hotel headquarters to catch all the action! When it's time to relax, return to your spacious room at the Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel. Stay in touch while away from home with our complimentary high-speed Internet service. We also offer complimentary hot breakfast and free on-site parking. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Holiday Inn Berkeley
Berkeley Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.