We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay in Berkeley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Berkeley

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Berkeley to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1175 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay in Berkeley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were extremely pleased with our New Year's Eve stay at this hotel on University Ave. - a place you would think would be very noisy and not as nice. The hotel is very nice and they have a great breakfast in the morning. The rooms were spacious enough for a smaller hotel. The parking was free and plentiful. The hotel is close enough to the university that you can get there by car or bus. I would highly recommend staying here during your next visit to Berkeley. The prices can't be beat either.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    81
    27
    10
    8
See reviews for
58
21
17
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
europe
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting family in Berkeley. They kindly gave me a quiet room as a I prefer, what they did not take into consideration was the construction site outside the window which started at 7am drilling concrete. The hotel is very clean and the typical American style, with slightly odd 80ies design. The room is a decent size with a reasonably comfortable bed. The linens are poly cotton and are ok. There are different pillows to choose from. There is a small kitchenette in the room if you wanted to make food. Bathroom is very standard fair and fine. The worst about the room was its temperature. It was very cold and the polyester duvets are not that warm. Location wise the hotel is about a mile away from the Berkeley city Center. There is a bus stop close to the hotel, 51b takes you into town and back. Bus drivers tend to be helpful and let you know where to get off. On a plus side the hotel has a free breakfast which has a variety of food (burgers, omelette, yogurts, bagels, bread, scones, porridge, fruit...pancake machine does not work. They're waiting for a belt for the machine). And there is free wifi! That's great and more expensive hotels should look at holiday inn and adopt the same policy. Would I stay here again? Probably yes.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Have stayed here a few times, when having UC Berkeley campus meetings. quiet rooms and adequate parking. Nominal HI Express breakfast offering.

Local BART stop is not close.

Trader Joe's a few blocks up the street.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Holiday Inn's are usually nice, no matter where you stay, and this building is no exception. The parking lot is easily accessible, the front desk and lobby are nicely done, and the rooms are nice as well. There is nothing really outstanding about the hotel, but if you're looking for a nice comfortable place to stay than this is great.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, you might ask for a room that does not face University. Rooms that ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Andrews, Canada
Level Contributor
215 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

During a three week training in Berkley California, I had the pleasure of staying at the Holiday Inn Express on University Avenue. Like always I was not disappointed. The rooms were very clean, the staff was always accomodating and the hot breakfast is always nice in the morning. This is why i keep coming back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side if you do not want to hear the noise from University Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

had to go to Oakland last minute for a family event, and most hotels in emeryville (where I usually stay) were booked. This hotel was recommended and so I called and booked. It was nice. rooms looked to be recently renovated, and were clean and modern. morning breakfast was fine. there were bagels, eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, and a variety of cereals. The hotel is located just off the intersection of San Pablo and University, so if you need to get around berkeley, or even down to rockridge section of oakland, it is very convenient. also very convenient to 80. it's not very far at all to the university and there are restaurants in the immediate area. didn't have time to walk around the area during the day so cannot speak to the neighborhood, but it is definitely a place i would stay again if the rates were reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

This place is a long way from everything.
Hotel had no electricity the night of my arrival. No prior warning was given. There was a pre-prepared notice on check-in counter about works being done on electricity in area. They knew in advance but did not tell guests in advance.y request for a reduction in cost of room was met with indifference. So no TV, no gym, no AC, light by little flashlight .
Got the impression they just wanted the money. Of all the Holiday Inn I have used on 3 continents this is least favorite.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear seancollins5o1,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berkeley hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 806 reviews
1.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.9 mi away
Hotel Durant
Hotel Durant
#4 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Claremont Hotel Club & Spa
0.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#7 of 21 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#13 of 21 in Berkeley
3.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berkeley

Address: 1175 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berkeley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Berkeley! We are located on University Avenue within walking distance of Downtown Berkeley and 1.7 Miles from Central UC Berkeley Campus. Enjoy performances & concerts at the Berkeley Greek Theater. Visit the Lawrence Hall of Science Center including the Idea Lab, NanoZone, and Real Astronomy Experience. Golden Gate Fields is where the Bay comes to play, offering live thoroughbred horse racing in a spectacular setting, just 2 short miles away. The University of California Botanical Garden features over 12,000 different kinds of plants from around the world on 34 acres. If you love chocolate as much as we do, don t miss touring Scharffen Berger Chocolate Makers, producers of the highest quality chocolate using vintage European equipment right here in Berkeley. For history buffs, don t miss the USS Hornet in Alameda. It s a one-of-a-kind experience you won t want to miss! Catch a Cal Golden Bears Game at Memorial Stadium. We are the most comfortable and convenient hotel headquarters to catch all the action! When it's time to relax, return to your spacious room at the Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel. Stay in touch while away from home with our complimentary high-speed Internet service. We also offer complimentary hot breakfast and free on-site parking. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Holiday Inn Berkeley
Berkeley Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.