We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy AC/heater with no temperature control” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Berkeley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Berkeley to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1175 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Noisy AC/heater with no temperature control”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

I had to take some time to decide what rating to give this hotel, and here is why...

GOOD: The hotel and the rooms is very clean, it looks like many of the features are newly installed. The staff is helpful and amiable. Especially the day front desk manager who is a very nice lady and takes the time to talk to people and ask them how things are going and make a personal connection. Breakfast is your average fair, although more fruits (usually there were only old bananas) would be welcome, and since it was California that should not be too expensive, but as it is free I suppose it's good. The free wifi is good, but at night VERY slow, so if you have to do any work, keep that in mind. There is free parking and you are within walking distance to BART (20 min), although after 9pm the streets are empty so it would be best if you had a car, drove it to BART and parked there (~$1 per day for parking), if you need to go to San Francisco.

BAD: Here is where I had a problem. The AC/heating system in the rooms is a window/wall unit and you can only control it by settings such as hot-cold-high-low. This means if you set the heater to low-hot it will blow warm/hot air into the room with a slow fan... continuously! So, I turned on the heater and went to sleep and woke up to a stifling room in the middle of the night and had to get up and shut it down and after a few hours woke up from the cold and had to restart the heater! Not a big deal? It is when you have a big meeting in the morning and you need to get enough sleep and no headache! And thus the lower rating for the hotel.

So, I would say this place is great for vacation but not so good for business, unless your threshold of comfort for temperatures is really wide!

Room Tip: My room was near the end of the hallway on the third floor. So no one above me and thus no noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    68
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
47
18
16
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

This HI Express is pretty much the usual deal. I went with my daughter for the CALSO event at Cal, so I booked an "apartment" room so each of us had our own space. The room was unexpectedly large, with a full kitchen with all appliances, a sitting area which shared two queen beds plus a separate bedroom with another king bed. Both rooms had plasma TV's with Direct TV, with many channels including HBO and HD stations. The room is a good value! Breakfast buffet, again...the usual. I read an earlier comment that there was nothing healthy to eat, yet they have fresh fruit, yogurt, juices, and oatmeal, so I don't get that.

The downside is the area around the hotel. Berkeley itself is pretty much retro 60's, but the hotel's surroundings are pretty drab. There are a lot of unsavory types loitering around a burger place next door, and on the surrounding streets, although the hotel is gated and fenced, so the grounds feel secure. What was really unsettling was that we were there on a Friday night, and all the nearby restaurants, which seem to all be ethnic, were empty. Waiters sitting at the bars watching TV or talking with each other. There is more activity the closer you get to the campus which is a few miles from this hotel, but this location is for those who wish to just stay at their hotel, or drive somewhere.

All in all, not a bad deal.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

For this hotel you better have a car, but if you're driving the location is great

Pros
+ you pay less than in any hotel in SF, parking is for free and it's 15 min away from the city
+ it's in a really quite neighborhood, not like most hotels
+ very close to the University
+ they have a laundry on-site
+ spacious rooms (ours even had a kitchen)
+ if you're using your IHG points, it's really a great value

Cons
- breakfast is standard Express breakfast: with no healthy options (even the pancake comes from a machine)
- the common area could use some fresh paint
- the neighborhood can feel a bit sketchy at night

Room Tip: Ask for one that faces the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Good location and value. Fitness center is small but clean. Free breakfast in the morning is a nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed here overnight after a concert at The Greek. Was a very pleasant stay. It seemed like it was the only hotel that has been remodeled in the area. Plenty of parking, check in was quick and easy. I loved that they had air conditioning in the room. Looked at other hotels and this one was by far the nicest. Plenty good for overnight stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I like this hotel because they have free internet, are clean and convenient, good breakfast included, near the BART station for San Francisco. Very quiet, front desk open all hours and fine with late arrival. OUr group plans to stay there consistently for our board meetings.

Stephen D. Miller MD
Treasurer
Seva Foundation
Berkeley

Room Tip: all rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I was in Berkeley recently for business and it served as a perfect "home base" for me. The facility is clean, the breakfasts were really good (I like the pancake machine...how do I get one of those for my house??), and even though I had a ground floor room it was incredibly quiet! The staff was accommodating and friendly. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Berkeley

Address: 1175 University Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Berkeley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Berkeley! We are located on University Avenue within walking distance of Downtown Berkeley and 1.7 Miles from Central UC Berkeley Campus. Enjoy performances & concerts at the Berkeley Greek Theater. Visit the Lawrence Hall of Science Center including the Idea Lab, NanoZone, and Real Astronomy Experience. Golden Gate Fields is where the Bay comes to play, offering live thoroughbred horse racing in a spectacular setting, just 2 short miles away. The University of California Botanical Garden features over 12,000 different kinds of plants from around the world on 34 acres. If you love chocolate as much as we do, don t miss touring Scharffen Berger Chocolate Makers, producers of the highest quality chocolate using vintage European equipment right here in Berkeley. For history buffs, don t miss the USS Hornet in Alameda. It s a one-of-a-kind experience you won t want to miss! Catch a Cal Golden Bears Game at Memorial Stadium. We are the most comfortable and convenient hotel headquarters to catch all the action! When it's time to relax, return to your spacious room at the Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel. Stay in touch while away from home with our complimentary high-speed Internet service. We also offer complimentary hot breakfast and free on-site parking. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley Hotel Berkeley
Holiday Inn Berkeley
Berkeley Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Berkeley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.