We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zut!

Zut!
1820 4th St, Berkeley, CA 94710-1911
510 644 0444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zut! is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 602 Restaurants in Berkeley
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hearst
Description: Established in 2010, Zut! on Fourth renews a historical restaurant location on the fourth street shopping district in Berkeley. Zut! specializes in regional Mediterranean/New American dishes prepared with fresh, locally sourced ingredients by Executive Chef Jim Wimborough. The Zut! Bar offers diverse specialty hand-crafted and classic cocktails, small production European and domestic wine list, and an extensive spirits menu. Zut is an ideal venue for large groups and private parties.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

The food was good..a bit unusual too. Nice offering of salads and drinks. Pretty restaurant with friendly service. We had 7 people in our party and they accommodated us with no problem. Amazing salmon dish- try it, you will love it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our daughter and son-in-law invited us for lunch at Zut today. This was not the first time we have dined there. As on our last visits the dishes were beautifully presented and delicious. As starters we shared Lamb Meatballs and Roasted Asparagus. For the main course we had thin crusted pizza, risotto, and beet salads while we shared a couple of bottles of New Zealand white wine. The server was outstanding. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot For Lunch on 4th St”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I love everything about this restaurant - lots of free parking in a large lot behind the building, cozy atmosphere, a cute outdoor patio facing 4th, excellent service (our waitress Laura was delightful) and delicious food. My wife and I split an incredible blue cheese pizza and caesar salad.

The pizza was one of the best I’ve ever tasted - an airy, light crust, tender grilled onions and just the right amount of blue cheese to get your attention without being overpowering. The salad was beautiful - tossed with the perfect amount of an amazing dressing. Add a couple glasses of a fabulous Rhone red, and finish with a homemade rhubarb crisp covered in vanilla bean ice cream, and you have the perfect place to enjoy a replacing lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great 4th St. Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We've dined at Zut! a few times now for lunch and for dinner. For my money, it's the best restaurant in the neighborhood. We are big fans of Cafe Rouge too, but the menu - and the service - at Zut! has continually gained ground. Last week the highlights were the tempura vegetables with fava beans and thin lemon slices in a perfect batter. I also had the sole that was presented as a filleted whole fish. It was great. Service can be a little slow at times, but is always professional and friendly. This place has really grown on me.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Ate here over the weekend on a great day in Berkeley. The food was all delicious, starting with limeade, which must have been freshly squeezed, and a mozzarella pizza topped with cut up sausage. It was full of flavors and the mozzarella was really good. The beignets are a must if you are here for breakfast or want dessert. If I knew what a mix of heaven and clouds tasted like, this would be it. The only thing I will say is that when we were ordering our pizza (I shared it with my sister), we asked for the whole thing with sausage and then one side with pepperoni (easy enough right?) The waiter understood us, but he came back with only one half sausage and the other half pepperoni, not sausage on the whole pizza. Apparently the chef didn't understand the order.
Nevertheless, I would definitely eat here again and it's probably my favorite lunch/dinner place ahead of Café Rouge.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zut! also viewed

 

Been to Zut!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zut!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.