We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent prices, great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1620 San Pablo Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent prices, great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We love staying at this little hotel. The first room we were given...107...was old with bad shower. We asked to be moved and were given #112 which was updated and very pleasant. The hotel is always clean and so convenient to exploring Berkeley and Oakland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an renovated shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    17
    4
    14
See reviews for
15
26
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yuba City, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The staff checking me in and out of the motel were very nice. The room was on the end by a main street but it was big with two rooms and 4 beds so it was pretty quiet. The furniture is dated and old, the beds just okay, wifi not so good and the room I was in smelled of plumbing with hair and grime in it. (the bathroom was very dated) I sprayed room freshener and perfume in the room but the smell kept coming back. I told the staff as I left so may take care of the smell and other rooms might not have the smell.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckoertge, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about our property. I have shared your comments with my staff and will be working with them to help correct the issue. Attention to detail is something we aim to master and we will follow up with this to make sure it is rectified. Thanks again for the feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Chris Koertge
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

People here are very friendly and helpful. Especially, they are very trustful. I left my watch in the room when I checked out. Later I realized that I left it there. I contacted this motel and they were very honest and helpful in getting my watch back. Actually, it was my wedding watch so is very precious for me. In addition, the room is cozy and clean given the room is very cheap.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Chris was friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful at check in. Night staff also helpful. The exterior reminded me of the traditional motor courts with well-kept buildings and lovely decorative flowers and vines painted on the window frames. The room was simple but neat and clean. Refrig, microwave, decent bed, good sized shower. Clean, well-maintained. One-story, park in front of room.

The area is one of those mixed/in transition sections of the city. At first glance it's not too encouraging, but as we walked around getting from train station and looking for food (after dark), we noticed people walking dogs, cyclists, decently lit streets, well-kept homes and businesses. Found local restaurants and chains, good variety.

I forgot my stuff in refrigerator but when I called Chris he immediately said he would send my lunch bag and water bottle to me. He also helped us get from airport to inn by printing map & instructions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This motel appears to have been built in the 1920's by the tile in our bathroom. Our room was very very clean, brightly painted colorful walls, comfy bed, some nice decorations on the walls. But it was the towels that I loved. Softest ever! The room was small by today standards but clean. The courtyard is right out of the 1940-1950's. What was wrong? The thin walls. The person in the room had their TV on most of the time and we could hear it. He was watching Fox News! Then he snored all night. If you just need an inexpensive place to stay for a night or two this would be a good choice. However it is not within easy walking distance of just about anything.

Room Tip: There is what appears to be a new two story section that might be a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed 1 night after flying into san Francisco before traveling on motel wasn't too bad but area looked and felt unsafe was glad only there to sleep before moving on.check in was easy and room had fridge microwave and coffee machine bed was comfy just a shame about the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a good value for Berkeley. We arrived very late -- almost 11:00 p.m. There was a sign on the office that said "closed." Dang, we hadn't made arrangements for this. But a smiling guy came to the door and greeted us warmly. We felt instantly welcome. We dragged our tired behinds into the room. We stocked the empty and clean mini-fridge and sought refuge on the bed. Says it's queen-sized but looks more like a double, which was okay. But the the mattress is a trhowback. It crinkles and squeaks and sounds like it's stuffed with newspaper. It even feels like that a little bit. But we lost consciousness anyway and found that the bed consistently offered a good night's sleep.

Now, temperature control is an issue. We were in Berzerkeley at the end of August. It was not terribly hot but it was warm - uppers 70s. The room was HOT. There is no AC. We noticed a fan on the wall in the corner of room. We turned it on low. It moved the warm air around and didn't help. We realized we needed to open the windows. The next day, when we returned to the room after walking around UC, the room was brutally hot. We put the fan on high and opened the windows and door. My wife estimates the noise level at 75 dbA. This procedure helped marginally. We were able to sleep soundly with the jet engine white noise.

The alarm clock was 48 minutes off - something we didn't notice in our arrival stupor. Easily remedied but weird. There is no stopper in the sink.

So, why do we give this place a three instead of a "run away!"? Well, it's clean. It was cheap on a Cal football weekend. And it's in this funky neighborhood with all these odd businesses. It's not an upscale neighborhood but we felt safe.

The room is of adequate size has lots of surfaces on which to place luggage and paraphernalia of travel and work out of it without putting anything on the floor. The microwave works - we used it to warm up the very good sweet potato pie from Everett & Jones. There is a "Murphy" ironing board. We didn't use it but enjoyed marveling at it. There are two directional lamps above the bed so you can read without blinding your sweetie.

Doncha hate it when you stand in the middle of a hotel with a dirty kleenex and think, where the heck is the wastebasket? Not here. There are two wastebaskets and they are not hidden.

The decor is dated and a little odd but pleasant. If you don't need to brag about the place you stayed and don't need to sleep in a cold room in the summer, this will work for your. Hey, it's adequate.

Room Tip: You might try a room that does not border on San Pablo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1620 San Pablo Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel was built around 1946 with classic Spanish architecture in mind. The Golden Bear Inn remains a part of the Berkeley landscape and is a well renowned place for travelers from all over the globe. With its unique style and comfortable facilities the Golden Bear Inn has kept guests returning year after year. Check in starts at 2 PM and ends at Midnight. For special arrangements please call the Front Desk. Check out is at 12 Noon on the day of departure. All cancellations must be made 24 hours prior to the check-in date to avoid penalties. We appreciate your understanding and we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Berkeley
Golden Bear Hotel
Golden Bear Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.