We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are awesome~!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1620 San Pablo Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
College Park, Maryland
1 review
“They are awesome~!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

People here are very friendly and helpful. Especially, they are very trustful. I left my watch in the room when I checked out. Later I realized that I left it there. I contacted this motel and they were very honest and helpful in getting my watch back. Actually, it was my wedding watch so is very precious for me. In addition, the room is cozy and clean given the room is very cheap.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    31
    17
    4
    14
See reviews for
16
26
14
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Chris was friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful at check in. Night staff also helpful. The exterior reminded me of the traditional motor courts with well-kept buildings and lovely decorative flowers and vines painted on the window frames. The room was simple but neat and clean. Refrig, microwave, decent bed, good sized shower. Clean, well-maintained. One-story, park in front of room.

The area is one of those mixed/in transition sections of the city. At first glance it's not too encouraging, but as we walked around getting from train station and looking for food (after dark), we noticed people walking dogs, cyclists, decently lit streets, well-kept homes and businesses. Found local restaurants and chains, good variety.

I forgot my stuff in refrigerator but when I called Chris he immediately said he would send my lunch bag and water bottle to me. He also helped us get from airport to inn by printing map & instructions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This motel appears to have been built in the 1920's by the tile in our bathroom. Our room was very very clean, brightly painted colorful walls, comfy bed, some nice decorations on the walls. But it was the towels that I loved. Softest ever! The room was small by today standards but clean. The courtyard is right out of the 1940-1950's. What was wrong? The thin walls. The person in the room had their TV on most of the time and we could hear it. He was watching Fox News! Then he snored all night. If you just need an inexpensive place to stay for a night or two this would be a good choice. However it is not within easy walking distance of just about anything.

Room Tip: There is what appears to be a new two story section that might be a better choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed 1 night after flying into san Francisco before traveling on motel wasn't too bad but area looked and felt unsafe was glad only there to sleep before moving on.check in was easy and room had fridge microwave and coffee machine bed was comfy just a shame about the area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is a good value for Berkeley. We arrived very late -- almost 11:00 p.m. There was a sign on the office that said "closed." Dang, we hadn't made arrangements for this. But a smiling guy came to the door and greeted us warmly. We felt instantly welcome. We dragged our tired behinds into the room. We stocked the empty and clean mini-fridge and sought refuge on the bed. Says it's queen-sized but looks more like a double, which was okay. But the the mattress is a trhowback. It crinkles and squeaks and sounds like it's stuffed with newspaper. It even feels like that a little bit. But we lost consciousness anyway and found that the bed consistently offered a good night's sleep.

Now, temperature control is an issue. We were in Berzerkeley at the end of August. It was not terribly hot but it was warm - uppers 70s. The room was HOT. There is no AC. We noticed a fan on the wall in the corner of room. We turned it on low. It moved the warm air around and didn't help. We realized we needed to open the windows. The next day, when we returned to the room after walking around UC, the room was brutally hot. We put the fan on high and opened the windows and door. My wife estimates the noise level at 75 dbA. This procedure helped marginally. We were able to sleep soundly with the jet engine white noise.

The alarm clock was 48 minutes off - something we didn't notice in our arrival stupor. Easily remedied but weird. There is no stopper in the sink.

So, why do we give this place a three instead of a "run away!"? Well, it's clean. It was cheap on a Cal football weekend. And it's in this funky neighborhood with all these odd businesses. It's not an upscale neighborhood but we felt safe.

The room is of adequate size has lots of surfaces on which to place luggage and paraphernalia of travel and work out of it without putting anything on the floor. The microwave works - we used it to warm up the very good sweet potato pie from Everett & Jones. There is a "Murphy" ironing board. We didn't use it but enjoyed marveling at it. There are two directional lamps above the bed so you can read without blinding your sweetie.

Doncha hate it when you stand in the middle of a hotel with a dirty kleenex and think, where the heck is the wastebasket? Not here. There are two wastebaskets and they are not hidden.

The decor is dated and a little odd but pleasant. If you don't need to brag about the place you stayed and don't need to sleep in a cold room in the summer, this will work for your. Hey, it's adequate.

Room Tip: You might try a room that does not border on San Pablo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you are looking for a good place to crash for the night, this will work for you. We stayed here for 3 days while visiting SFO late aug and found it ok.
The room is spacious for SFO standards, but bathroom just has a shower cubicle no tub. The only real complaint we had was that the walls are very thin and the noise from outside work us up a couple of times each night. Also a dog in the next room kept barking every 10 mins in the afternoon and i just had a headache at the end of the day.

tip : No breakfast provided but you can head to La Misson for some awesome burritos and tacos.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed in this motel with my family. We were on a two week vacation in Californina, and had stayed in several other hotels/motels during the trip.
Initial impressions of the motel were that the room was shabby and needed renovating urgently. The smell of urine outside the room did not create a good impression. However, the position was handy for Berkeley city centre.
The big problem came the next morning. The toilet was blocked and when I reported this to the reception, I was offered a plunger to clear the blockage. I was amazed. The attitude of the staff member was dismissive and rude. He said that the blockage could be cleared at 1.30 in the afternoon, but there were four of us needing to get ready for the day! He flippantly said well I can offer you the keys to my apartment!
We checked out immediately and will not return to this motel. It was not cheap ($120 for room/night), and the guy on the reception was just plain rude. I thought customer service was supposed to be good in the US...

Room Tip: Don't chose this motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1620 San Pablo Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel was built around 1946 with classic Spanish architecture in mind. The Golden Bear Inn remains a part of the Berkeley landscape and is a well renowned place for travelers from all over the globe. With its unique style and comfortable facilities the Golden Bear Inn has kept guests returning year after year. Check in starts at 2 PM and ends at Midnight. For special arrangements please call the Front Desk. Check out is at 12 Noon on the day of departure. All cancellations must be made 24 hours prior to the check-in date to avoid penalties. We appreciate your understanding and we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Berkeley
Golden Bear Hotel
Golden Bear Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.