We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Americas Best Value Inn OK for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1620 San Pablo Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
Florence, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Americas Best Value Inn OK for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

It's a little trip back in time as the bathroom had all the original tile dating from the 1960s or 1970s..I can't remember, but quaint. Was clean and pretty quiet. Right across the street from a fabulous bakery so I was happy.

Room Tip: It's a good home base when you have calls to make in the East Bay area and your main interest is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    28
    17
    4
    13
See reviews for
14
26
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids MI
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed three nights recently, just so we could be near our friends, that live around the corner. The hotel is styled in classic old California motel, which actually is pretty cool. The rooms are nothing special, but have all the basics. I know some have complained of rock hard beds, but ours was rather soft and we slept just fine. The main draw back for us was that it's a pet friendly hotel (which normally I don't mind), but there were two dogs in the rooms on either side of us. For the most part they were quiet during the night, but an afternoon nap was out of the question. The hotel didn't look busy, so why didn't they put the people traveling without pets, away from the rooms who have them (especially putting us in the middle of four dogs...seriously?)!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed approx 15 days there in Aug 2010. 3 stars for the comfort level - just about OK . A quiet place with comfy rooms but no breakfast arrangement . 5 stars for the extremely helpful staff there . Overall a 4 star experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I thought I could rely on the reviews, but alas, no, Checking in was easy, but it bothered me that the desk person kept on that my reservation was upgraded to a 2-Q room from a 2-single. I would not have made the reservation if it was 2-singles. So we went to our room and could not find it, apparently, the door was tucked underneath the stairs - don't get room 130. Upon opening the door, there was this blast of odor, a mix of smoky and the typical motel carpet odor. And this was a non-smoking room. The shower leaked and fixtures were old. The fan did not work nor the thermostat control set to recirculate the air. The beds were slightly soft and not too saggy. I can hear people dragging their feet up the stairs and their conversations. The room looked clean and made. The area around ABVI was not the nicest area in Berkeley and there is a statement in the keyholder about making sure your valuables are protected. Wifi was spotty, but once logged in, it was good.
I will not return here and will book at other hotels, even if for a few $$ more.

Room Tip: Not Rm 130
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBearGM, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thanks for writing in regards to your stay. We never like hearing about an unsatisfied guest experience. We are a non-smoking property so any rooms smelling of smoke is as unwanted for you as it is us. The room you commented on, Rm 130, is tucked around on the side of the stairs. We have many regular guests who actually request this room for its location but if it was not your preference, we could have easily moved you to another location. The property has been a part of the Berkeley landscape since 1946 so there is a lot of history associated with our property and we do whatever we can to make sure everything is as up to date and functional as possible. If you found that this was not the case, we apologize and maintenance will correct immediately. We’re not sure what was to dislike about the surrounding area as many businesses occupy the near vicinity and we feel the area has a lot to offer. Across the street is the legendary Acme Bread, Café Fanny and Kermit Lynch Wine Merchant. Diagonal from Genki Japanese Restaurant that is located in our parking lot is the locally owned Animal Farm pet store. Off the main drag of San Pablo Avenue, we are surrounded by residential neighborhoods. Sorry again to hear you were not satisfied with your stay and hopefully you'll give us another chance to show you what a wonderful town Berkeley is and all it has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011 via mobile

By far the absolute strangest place I've ever stayed!! After driving 7 hours yesterday as you'd imagine we were hoping to get a good night sleep, not the case! The beds for starters are rOck hard! I literally feel like I'm sleeping on concrete! My backs killing me and I am not exaggerating. Guests here are insanely disrespectful. I see why the office closes at midnight and the staff leaves, it's because they'd be awake all night dealing with inconsiderate noisy guests. It's 1:10am and people next door are laughing slamming into the walls opening and closing there front door every 5 minutes literally partying and there's nothing I can do but lay here trying to sleep to be rudely awaken by laughter blaring music or people just being rude! Then let's not forget how outdated these rooms are. Definitely not your standard motel/hotel room. The walls are paper thin you can completely hear word for word conversations between people in the adjacent rooms to ours as im sure they can hear ours too. Old furnishings, no a/c which right now doesn't matter but to some I know it's a big deal anytime. Small outdated tv, fridge and microwave may be the newest things in here. All in all I don't recommend if a peaceful sleep is what you r after.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBearGM, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback in regards to your unpleasant stay. Unfortunately, one unruly guest can ruin it for everyone, which appears to be the case here. We certainly do not condone this type of behavior, but we are also aware that it can happen at times in a college town such as this. Having this been your second night, simply come to the front desk and make us aware of the situation and we will do everything in our power to correct it. Our staff prides itself on catering to the needs of our guest, so we would have been more than happy to change your room to help accommodate you more sufficiently with this regard as well as the concrete bed. Again, thanks for your feedback and we hope to have the chance to prove to you that our property is not “AWFUL”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Cute and quaint motel with nice, spacious rooms and comfortable beds. The person at the front desk was very helpful and gave us a map of the area. They were also very helpful in sorting out a problem with Expedia regarding billing. The rooms are nicely decorated, the beds are large, and everything is spotlessly clean. Plenty of towels and shampoo and soap, coffee supplies and a little fridge and microwave. Ironing board and closet space and lots of drawers.

The only bad thing I have to say about it is that the shower pressure was minimal, and took a long time to get hot.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Park, PA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Staff could not have been nicer and more helpful, unless they could have persuaded management to get in a carpet cleaner sooner. We were there over a week, prepaid on Orbitz so couldn't afford move to another motel. The mattress in the first room was old and saggy, so I asked for a room with a better mattress. The clerk said the mattresses were in the process of being replaced and looked on the room chart for an available room with a new mattress. So we moved and had a good night's sleep. In the morning we discovered the bottoms of our socks were black from the filthy carpet. Staff was apologetic, said the carpets were cleaned every two weeks and we were moved into another room. The carpet was cleaner but still dirty and I asked that it be cleaned. So the next day it did get cleaned but that night when we got back we found it was only marginally better. The next morning we were told that their regular cleaner had been unavailable and the maid had cleaned it, but the professional would be there the next day. And so he was. This time there was improvement, but not really clean. Otherwise the rooms are clean and fine. Location is great--across the street is Acme Bakery with real baguettes, croissants, and a slew of other delicious breads. Also Kermit Lynch, a great wine shop; and Cafe Fanny for breakfast, if you like to stand in line to order at the counter and eat outside. A few blocks south on San Pablo is Cafe Leila, with really good food and a nice outdoor patio. I'd stay at Golden Bear again for the pluses, if I could be assured that the carpets would be clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 1620 San Pablo Ave, Berkeley, CA 94702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel was built around 1946 with classic Spanish architecture in mind. The Golden Bear Inn remains a part of the Berkeley landscape and is a well renowned place for travelers from all over the globe. With its unique style and comfortable facilities the Golden Bear Inn has kept guests returning year after year. Check in starts at 2 PM and ends at Midnight. For special arrangements please call the Front Desk. Check out is at 12 Noon on the day of departure. All cancellations must be made 24 hours prior to the check-in date to avoid penalties. We appreciate your understanding and we look forward to your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Berkeley
Golden Bear Hotel
Golden Bear Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.