We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hearty German food with plenty of veggie options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaumenkitzel

Gaumenkitzel
2121 San Pablo Avenue, Berkeley, CA
+1 510-647-5016
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 598 restaurants in Berkeley
Price range: $9 - $16
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Description: Restaurant, Bier & Wine Bar. Fresh, healthy, local German cuisine
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Hearty German food with plenty of veggie options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This is one of the better restaurants in the It is Berkeley of course so at Gaumenkitzel the classic German sausage and potatoes options are complimented with a nice variety of vegetarian friendly options. They have a lot of different beers options, somehow beer for breakfast just feels right at a German restaurant and they have some very tasty brews on tap.

The space itself is well lit and pleasant and the staff have always been attentive and pleasant when we have gone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    9
    8
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“German food in California!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I was in Berkley on a business trip and stopped for lunch on Friday. It was really weird eating in a German restaurant but the food was great. I ordered a very authentic pumpkin soup and plate of cheese, sausage and bread. Excellent.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Service was great, brews were great, food was FANTASTIC! We had a reservation, and were seated immediately. Enough menu selections that we'll be back to try items our group of five didn't.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great German”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband, of European heritage, is always on the lookout for German food when we travel. So of course on a recent trip we ended up here. I had the pretzel and sausage plate. I had no idea a pretzel could be that flavorful! The sausage (brats) were smaller than most brats I've had but so tasty that I was perfectly satisfied. He also had brats and, well, he wanted to come back every night of the trip! The rye bread was quite good as well, dense but not too dense.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Don't have to move to Germany!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I'm of German parents & this restaurant reminds me of their cooking & my visits to Germany. I love this restaurant! The food is always good & the wait staff friendly & responsive. There's good German beer on tap. The restaurant is roomy & It's easy to carry on a conversation without raising your voice...a rarity! I keep going back!! I'm lucky that I'm local!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaumenkitzel also viewed

 

Been to Gaumenkitzel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaumenkitzel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.