We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm still smiling...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gather

Gather
2200 Oxford Street, Berkeley, CA 94704
510-809-0400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Gather is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 602 Restaurants in Berkeley
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Vegan, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Allston Way
Transit: Downtown Berkeley BART (1 block away!) AC Transit to Downtown Berkeley Ample bicycle parking
Description: Gather is a restaurant, café and organic bar with an outdoor patio in Downtown Berkeley.We serve seasonal farm food, sourced carefully and prepared thoughtfully, with a fairly priced menu for vegetarians and omnivores.Located in the David Brower Center, the greenest building in the East Bay, Gather is designed to inspire community and educate people about food.
Detroit
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I'm still smiling...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We went there on a recommendation from our hotel. I've never before had the pleasure of a Vegan appetizer (Charcuterie), Hibiscus soda (house made) and Hen of the Woods pizza. What a delightful meal with excellent service. The dessert (Peanuts, Lime nougat with chocolate) was one that will be in my "best of the best" restaurant memories. I'm usually not one to try different things (really...lime w/peanuts?) but am so glad that I did. The dessert complimented the meal perfectly. The entire meal was a symphony of textures, tastes and pleasure from beginning to end. If we're ever in Berkeley again, we'll definitely go there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    46
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Really fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I ate dinner at Gather a few hours ago and loved it. The restaurant is bright and rustic, and the staff was very friendly. I ordered the kale salad, which was flavorful and unique, sort of a deconstructed salad. My companion ordered the homemade ginger soda which was spectacular; not too spicy. We shared the Hen of the Woods pizza, which had caramelized onions, mushrooms, smoked mozzarella, nettle, and potato. The crust was super delicious, buttery and crispy. I will go again. Truly a place for families, friends, or a date.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Utah
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Everything we tried on the menu was excellent. Beginning with the iced tea, to the soup, to the pizza. Our server was friendly and helpful. Prices were perfect for the quality. Appreciated the locally grown menu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Vegan and chicken partnership”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Been to Gather several times and really loved it on each occasion. First went there with a vegan friend but was surprised to see real , not fake, meat dishes on the menu too. The vegan and vegetarian dishes are wonderful, inventive, and very tasty. I never realized squash could taste so good! Reasonably priced but definitely book as always crowded.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Berkeley Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I love this place! I have gone a few times now. My last visit, I enjoyed the Kale salad and the burger. My friend had some pizza and commented that it was one of the best she had in along time. I thought the service was good and atmosphere pleasant. It was busy in there, being a Friday but we did not have any problems with timeliness. I will go back back any time!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gather also viewed

 

Been to Gather? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gather, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.