We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, location andrelaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Brown Shingle Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Brown Shingle Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added The Brown Shingle Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
1514 La Loma At Cedar, Berkeley, CA 94708   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Berkeley B&B and Inns
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great view, location andrelaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the Brown Shingle B&B. Like staying at your favorite relative's house. Helen is a great host, providing lots of advice for local to-dos. Don't miss the Botanical Gardens. Comfortable bed. Super views. Convenient location in Berkeley.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    0
    0
    5
See reviews for
7
9
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We rented two rooms, for ourselves and our son, and both were clean, comfortable, spacious, and had a great view. The location is excellent: far enough up in the hills to have the view, yet close to the Cal campus and downtown Berkeley. We were very satisfied and would visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at Helen's house for two weeks, the place got good location, excellent rooms with the view of the bay, and the cherry on top of the cream was Helen the owner. She was very welcoming and help us when we need, even give us rides down to the BART station.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We've stayed at the Brown Shingle every time we go to Berkeley and absolutely love it. We have our favorite room with an incredible view. Helen is a wonderful hostess and I now can consider her a friend. We're going back there later this month and can't wait!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Sadly we couldn't recommend this establishment. We arrived to find a nice house which was not being cared for enough. On inspecting our bed there were dirty sheets with many insect parts. The pillows smelt badly. The general impression inside and out was of neglect. The place did not smell good. We had been asked to pay in advance and now I know why - people don't wish to stay here so they get out - that's what we did fortunately before parting with the cash requested.

Room Tip: Don't pay up front. Inspect for cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

This is a comfortable, welcoming home rather than a motel, in a pleasant area that is full of good restaurants. The location of the house is wonderful, giving great views over the Bay. It is a good base for exploring San Francisco as the Bart station is only a mile away with good parking and rapid access into the city. The service that you get from Helen is extraordinary. For example she searched for maps and guides for what I wanted. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The dog was kept out of site. The fact that two of her other guests had stayed with her before is testimony that this is a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

If you want air conditioning, flat screen TV and thermostatically controlled showers, this is not for you. If you want a real home, a great view and superb service, then pay a visit to Helen. She could not have been more helpful. For example I want to do some sightseeing so I followed her down in the car to the BART station and she showed me where to park. There was plenty of advice on what to see and where to eat. The house is from the 1920s set high on the hill overlooking the Bay. You can see the Golden Gate Bridge and watch the sun go down from the terrace. Though not en suite, the bathroom was next door and all mine. All in all, a great first few days in California. Don't be put off by some of the other reviews; they seem to have wanted something entirely impersonal and sterile.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Brown Shingle Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brown Shingle Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1514 La Loma At Cedar, Berkeley, CA 94708
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Brown Shingle Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.