We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UC Botanical Garden” 5 of 5 stars
Review of UC Botanical Garden at Berkeley

UC Botanical Garden at Berkeley
200 Centennial Dr, Berkeley, CA 94720-5045
510-643-2755
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 40 Attractions in Berkeley
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Activities: Walking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Past Strawberry Canyon is the 34-acre Botanical Garden, which holds about 13,000 species of plants. The species are organized according to regions of the world, and the garden has a great collection of native Californian plants. Bring a picnic basket and some money for the bookstore and admission (closed the first Tuesday of each month and free on the first Thursday of each month). Be sure to check out the conservatory (for tropical plants) and the Chinese medicinal herb garden.The garden is open from 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. every day of the year except the first Tuesday of each month, Thanksgiving Day, December 24 and 25, December 31, January 1, and Martin Luther King Jr. Day. Tours are also available on Thursday, Saturday and Sunday.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“UC Botanical Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Wonderful walk with unusual plants from around the world! felt like we were transported to gardens from around the world! this place makes you aware of the "micro climates" in California. temperatures are great all year round and the staff is very helpful. Locals enjoy it as well as out of towners. What a great way to take a break form the city.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    35
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I could spend days here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

If you love plants, this is a place to get lost. They have taken a hillside with diverse micro climates and drawn out all kinds of different habitats. There are ample walkways up and down, and benches to spend five minutes or a few hours. Very tiny little store, I wish they had more seeds for sale. Don't miss the redwood grove across the parking lot where I did not see another soul for the 1.5 hours I spent there. Also, they are fine with you bringing in food, but there is no food there (note even coffee!!!) and nothing near by (ie within walking distance).

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpers Ferry, WV, USA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A hidden oasis in bustling Berkeley!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

So, I was in Berkeley with an afternoon to kill so I headed up into the hills to check out the botanical garden. There was a lot of construction en route, making it a bit challenging to get to for the unfamiliar driver. Parking was $2.50 for a couple of hours, and entry to the garden was $9. The maps/walking tour brochure were helpful. You definitely need a hat; the sun is pretty intense. Also a bottle of water came in handy. I think there's about 30 acres of garden to explore. The park is divided up by regions of the world so you can get a sense of the plants of Africa and Australia and so forth. My favorite area was the herb gardens. There was a Chinese medicinal area, culinary herbs, even a small area dedicated to tea herbs. There is also a redwood area, but I didn't have enough time. The walkways are generally easy to negotiate, but it is a lot of walking up and downhill. I believe that it would be wheelchair accessible, though. They offer some guided tours, but the schedule looked very limited. I think a tour with an expert would be a terrific experience, though.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Not to be missed if staying in Berkeley-but drive there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This is a beautiful spot with many california plants, which are well marked . Good ideas for water conserving plants and adding color at the same time.
there are cacti from all over the world and a special greenhouse with rare species.
There are flowering plants as well. Nice little oasis in Berkeley. don't miss Strawberry creek that runs through the garden.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A variety of flora abound in this uncrowded gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

We toured the gardens in the middle of May and found them to be a pleasant surprise. Being from Minnesota and having survived a very long winter this place was a breath of fresh air. There are more species of cacti in this one place than I have seen anywhere else. Few people were walking around so we felt as if we had all of the beautiful flora to ourselves. We covered most of the gardens in about 1 and 1/2 hours taking our time to view everything and also sitting on the many benches available through out the area. The plants are labeled with the common names along with their Latin names.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed UC Botanical Garden at Berkeley also viewed

 

Been to UC Botanical Garden at Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage UC Botanical Garden at Berkeley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.