We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun to explore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lawrence Hall of Science

Lawrence Hall of Science
1 Centennial Drive, Berkeley, CA 94720-5200
5106425132
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 40 Attractions in Berkeley
Type: Science Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Full of "hands on" activities and displays that explore scientific principles.
San Ramon, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun to explore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The kids had a fieldtrip here & they raved about all the exhibits & how much fun they truly had...of course, all the while, they're LEARNING (novel concept!). The whale is a fun place for pictures & a great area for the kids to get some of their excess energy out, as they climb & run about.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    32
    6
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hercules, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun and Educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

When my child was in primary school, this was a favorite place to visit and where lots of birthday parties took place at. It's fun and educational for the kids.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“fun for toddlers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

4 year old daughter really loved this museum. It was the perfect size for her and a lot of fun... Do NOT eat here though, the food was really bad... I had teryaki chicken and rice and really, was barely edible... I mostly ate daughter's grilled cheese sandwich and fruit kids meal instead!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant well worth the entrance fee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Great visual aids of how the pacific plate moves, the force of water in the bay area over the millions of years and its shaping on the rocks of the bay. Superb for young teenagers and mature students alike, great fun with the bridge construction sets and other simple scientific experiments.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“My three year old didn't want to leave most of the exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were very impressed! Our three year old loved the motorized car track, the rollercoaster ball exhibit, the water exhibits outside, the animals, the pre-kinder area, the gecko wall, in fact most of the exhibits were really entertaining for him. We spent five hours and he was thrilled everywhere we turned. We felt so good about it we decided to get a membership and keep returning. With the plan that we were offered we get additional passes and reciprocal visits to other facilities that we plan to visit soon. The last time that I had gone was thirty years ago and I was wondering if it was going to have changed much... all of the exhibits are very fresh and up to date. The whale outside is the same one that was there when I was a kid and it was great to show the grandparents and have them remember lifting up their own little one onto the whale...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lawrence Hall of Science? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lawrence Hall of Science, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.