We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating building!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive

Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive
2626 Bancroft Way, Berkeley, CA 94720
510-642-0808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 42 attractions in Berkeley
Type: Art Museums, Movie Theaters, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Located on the edge of the UC Berkeley campus, this museum presents diverse, stimulating and challenging works of art and expression.
chicago, illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fascinating building!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Think concrete is not interesting??? Think Again!!! This museum is an architectural fascination. When I was there, the art was not very interesting (and I am a trained artist), but the building interior blew me away! The play of angles, light, shadow and texture is almost endless, and since there are skylights, the light is always changing. Interestingly, I was not allowed to photo any art, but I could shoot the building. And I did. The staff was very helpful and the grounds were not crowded.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gem of a museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Museum was a perfect setting for the current Barry McGee exhibit. I loved the minimalism, poured concrete backdrop. Really was a great experience.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A great place for art and film lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I always visit the museum when in Berkeley as there is always something interesting going on. What makes the lace special for me though is PFA. The show hard-to-find films gems (old and new) hardly screened anywhere else. Even London's BFI does not put up such rare retrospectives. My favourite thing though are the Friday night events ( music, performance art, etc), which have a great community atmosphere and are mostly excellent.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“UC Berkeley Art Musem and film archive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

An intriguing building architecturally, though reported to be inadequately constructed for earthquake stability, with noteworthy modern art and films.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"After the Fire" by Richard Misrach - very powerful photo show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I recall the fire in the Oakland Hills in 1991 that destroyed 4000 homes. A few days after the fire Richard Misrach took his large format camera to the site and shot photos of the aftermath. Most of the photos are very large and powerful - a mixture of tragedy and beauty. The show goes only through Feb 5. The same photos are also being shown at the Oakland Art Museum, and the presentation may even be a bit better (darker room with spotlights). BAM is open Wed - Sun 11 - 5.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive also viewed

 

Been to Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive to your Saves list