We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our brief visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of University of California, Berkeley

University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94720
510 642 6000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 40 Attractions in Berkeley
Type: Educational Sites, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: California's most prestigious public university is the home of liberalism and revolution.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our brief visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

If you enjoy visiting college campuses this is a must see. Lovely, impressive campus with mostly older, historic buildings. Check out the old bell tower in the center of the campus. For a couple of dollars you can ride an elevator to the top and be treated to expansive views of the town and the bay beyond - really special when the bells start to chime. We tried to visit the art museum but it was closed that day. Did get to see its brutalist concrete architecture - not my favorite modern style, but this building is a good example of the type. UC Berkeley is a must see if you are in the East Bay.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    86
    19
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel, Jerusalem
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
218 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“so much history yet modern life...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Berkeley university is a well respectful academic establishment that has a lot of history hidden between it's walls. the self guided tour that is advised by the visitor center is very informative and gives you about two hour stroll along the main buildings and important places in campus. get inside the valley life science building - they have 2 dinosaurs skeletons cast in the building's hall. also, go up the clock tower. it's worth it for 2$ getting amazing view of the bay area and all the way to san francisco. touring the campus was nice, seeing all the students who look like really young kids... the campus has nice atmosphere and if it's a sunny day it's the perfect way to spend some time in Berkeley.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“70 year olds love the university too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I walk from the Strawberry Canyon pool up around the ridge to the Hall of Science with a friend. My husband attends Osher Lifelong Learning classes almost every day. We attend concerts at Zellerbach. This is a real community gem as well as a first rate university.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Glad its over......our wallets are much fatter now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is where my daughter graduated in May of 2012.

the campus has many historical sights of interest. You could easily spend a whole day touring the Camponile (bell tower). Museums, even catch a decent play or performance if your timing is right.

My favorite part? Graduation Day. So wonderful to see them go off into the world, no longer dependent on mommy & daddy's purse strings.

Still -- Berkeley is the "Costco Of The West Coast Ivy Leagues"-- meaning you get a Stanford Education at a bargain price.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't forget the arts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

UC Berkeley is renowned for many things. It is a great university, probably the greatest public university in the world. It was the home of the free speech movement with continuing impacts on the community and world at large. It's campus is a wonderful with its lawns and noble trees is an urban retreat. AND it may be home to one if the best arts presenters in the US. Cal Performances. I depend on Cal Performances to present something notable every week. As I write this, the Joffrey Ballet just finished a run, the was an Eco Ensemble concert of new music, Hubbard Street Dance is in town tonight, flamenco next week...on the negative side is that if you don't know about it and are visiting Berkeley you might miss it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University of California, Berkeley also viewed

 

Been to University of California, Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University of California, Berkeley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.