We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and musty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bancroft Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Berkeley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Bancroft Hotel
Save Saved
You added Bancroft Hotel to your Saves list
2680 Bancroft Way, Berkeley, CA 94704   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Old and musty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a family wedding and all activities were organized to center around this hotel so we decided to book here. The personnel were very helpful and friendly but the hotel is not up to standard. It is very old with no elevator or air conditioning. The room we had was very small with an even tinier bathroom. The musty smell with no ventilation may have been the worst part. Our room got very warm and it was also noisy. It made for 2 nights of no sleep. The classic details are charming and they offer a free continental breakfast every morning which was nice. It doesn't look like there are a lot of options if you need to stay near the Berkely campus but I would look for alternatives.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    19
    9
    9
See reviews for
14
22
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kefar Sava, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The room is very small - not suitable for two people. The bathroom is tiny. So tiny that it is difficult to even shave. The bath is so small that it is essentially only a shower. To take a shower, the bath needs to be filled as well. The location is very good, if you are visiting the university. A parking place is offered, at a price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed here last Saturday evening following a show at the Greek. We loved both the historic details of the hotel and the low-key but helpful and friendly staff. The ballroom was hosting a wedding that same night and it looked beautiful. The lighting fixtures, the understated but gorgeous stained glass windows, the big windows in our corner room, and the lovely art deco bathroom were all terrific. We felt like we were staying in a lovely European hotel! We're used to small hotel rooms everywhere, so we didn't feel that the room was small (our smallest hotel room by far was in Singapore, but we managed...guess we like each other A LOT!). The location can't be beat and the price is a bargain...an easy walk from the Greek and being right next to the art museum was wonderful especially since we wanted to catch the Barry McGee exhibit (which was a jaw-dropper). We'd definitely stay at the Bancroft again.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room. We had the last room, facing the museum. It was very quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia outside of DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had this for our wedding hotel for the extended family. It was very nice. Staff was especially helpful, accommodating. Continental breakfasts were especially good with great granola. It is very convenient to the UC Berkeley campus and for strolling any time of day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANN ARBOR, MI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

First, a warning: The rooms are small, as in European small. It would be fine for one person, but it's a bit tight for two. With that out of the way, I loved this place. I decided to stay here because of their dedication to greeness: Carpet tiles and curtains made from recycled products, recycling bin, all natural soap/shampoo products and most important all natural cleaning products. I hate going to a hotel that smells like Lysol or Lestoil or (worse yet) Fabreeze. I don't know why hotels use these when good, clean fresh air is all they need. Anyway, there were no bothersome odors. The sheets smelled like - nothing. No smelly Bounce odor. They even have a hypo-allergenic room or two that has wood blinds instead of curtains. Our third-floor room was clean, quaint and quiet. Our room had a balcony, so that made it feel a bit larger. The breakfast room was adorable - also very European. And there's a nice coffee shop next door for early risers. I will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed here for one night with my daughter to look at UC Berkeley. The hotel is across the street from the University, set near excellent low priced restaurants, and shops. We were able to check in early - and given a pass for a coffee beverage at the coffee place next door. We were given a corner room on the third floor with two large windows and a balcony. One window looked out at the Bay and we could see the GG bridge. Though it was hot out, the fan and windows kept the room cool. The hotel was charmingly furnished. There's a beautiful front room with what appears to be period furniture. The lobby has a unique green tile floor. My daughter told me she wanted to live at the Bancroft! When we finished our day, we took our books and cold lemonades to the roof top terrace to read. Again, from the roof, a view of the Bay and the GG bridge. In the morning, we had a delicious breakfast - I believe the Bancroft owners also own the next door coffee shop - fresh large pastries, bagels, fruit, coffee. Everything was first rate at the Bancroft.

For the price, the Bancroft is a steal. I love places like this.

Room Tip: Third floor corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here during the US Open when hotels in San Francisco were priced too high and were pleasantly surprised at how close we actually were to the event. It took only a few minutes to cross the toll bridge into SF and to our destination. This hotel is a National Historic Landmark. Our room was small, but didn't feel that way because of the large french doors that opened up onto a small veranda - no need for AC. This is a 'green' hotel with organic bedding and wonderful locally provided toiletries. This is a great place for a single or couple - too small for 3+. No elevators here - we took steps up to 3rd floor. Personally, I loved the hotel and its location - easy to take a nice walk.

Room Tip: For added ambiance request room w/french doors - very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bancroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bancroft Hotel

Address: 2680 Bancroft Way, Berkeley, CA 94704
Location: United States > California > Berkeley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Berkeley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Bancroft Hotel Berkeley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bancroft Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.